We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #178 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Millington, nj
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stay here everyone time we come to Lindon because it's just a great location. Directly in the south bank next to London Eye and Big ben, it's a wonderful locale especially If there for only a few days. The service is very good and the rooms are quotes large. Try for a river view cause it cannot be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Phylis M

Thank you for choosing The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall for your most recent visit to London.

It is always a pleasure to receive reviews and those of our regular guests are even more special.

We're delighted that you had another enjoyable experience whilst at the Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to County Hall in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hewson
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    707
    273
    116
    73
See reviews for
837
784
82
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First off ... Location, location, location! If you care about location foremost and also want a nice hotel, then I think this is going to be high on the list.

Rather near two tube stations with Westminster Station just across the Thames a 5 minute walk.

The room was a very good size with the London Eye literally outside the window. I didn't want to walk around the room naked with the curtains open ... that is unless I was going to give the people on the Eye a show! Yes, that close!

The windows are definitely from a couple of hundred years ago and add a nice charm while I'm sitting there gazing on the Thames and Big Ben.

A lot of charm. It's the old County Hall, and it feels like it was once a government building that ought to be off limits but somehow we were lucky enough to have a nice hotel there to stay in. At night we went peeking around and through a keyhole could see what looked like the old chambers of the local government itself.

The concierge was knowledgable and eager to please. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Surprisingly enough, the property is a "regular" Marriott as opposed to the the JW variety.

For the location and price, I expected a bit more from the restaurant and brunch service. Then again, I'm told food in the UK is hit and miss as it is. :-)

It's got a gym that seemed pretty nice if you're into that.

I'd stay again, but I'd also shop around to see if I could get a better price in the area at a slightly lesser hotel.

Marriott was very helpful to get us into this property at a not-too-eye-popping rate not long after the Olympics, and for that I am grateful.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Thames!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwellmyfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Travelwellmyfriends

Thank you for choosing The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall for your visit to London.

We're delighted that you had a memorable experience whilst our guest and your review is greatly appreciated.

It is excellent that you enjoyed your River View bedroom and we thank you for your comments in regards to the service we provided.

Your review of our restaurant is also invaluable and rest assured your comments have been shared with the team.

We're glad that you got to experience The Club and Spa at County Hall and perhaps on a future visit, you will find the time the opportunity to have Afternoon Tea in our exquisite Library Lounge, overlooking the Houses of Parliament.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Hewson
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

There are few better placed hotels in London. Great view of the Thames, Westminster Palace, Big Ben and the London Eye. Great place to explore and if you are lucky enough maybe your office is nearby too!

Don't eat in the restaurant though. There is so much choice in London that unless the weather is bad it is worth going somewhere else. They do try hard but everything just misses. Lumpy jus. Lovely steak which had been a little too long waiting to be served. Great cheese! Weak coffee. You will find better places.

Te bar is pleasant. With draft ale it would be the perfect place to go after a show. Good cocktail mix, nice wines but only bottled beer (ok the London Pride was still good ;-) )

Give it a go

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sagsma

Thank you for choosing The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall for your recent visit to London.

Your review is greatly appreciated and it is excellent news that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your experience in Gillray's Steakhouse is regrettable and we're sorry that we did not meet your expectations during dinner. Rest assured the team have reviewed your comments.

We're glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere in Gillray's Gin Bar, which is renowned for it's extensive list of English Gins; over 39 in total!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we may create yet another memorable experience.

Kind regards,
Michael Hewson
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Used Marriott Reward Points for a lovely overnight in London. Hotel has a great location and the ambience is fabulous. Booked a standard room and were upgraded to a side river view, which was a treat. All staff were warm and welcoming. There were a few minor problems in the room (tap that was loose, flaking paint in bathroom, worn/chipped enamel around bath drain and a drawer that wouldn't stay closed), so the actual room must be due for some refurbishment, but it did not detract from the stay. We mentioned these things to the front desk, so that hopefully they could be rectified before the next guest was put in this room. The views from the bar and restaurant are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ena_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear ena_21

Thank you for choosing The London Marriott Hotel, County Hall for your recent visit to London.

Your review is greatly appreciated and we're delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the maintenance defects in your accommodation and please rest assured that our Housekeeping and Engineering teams addressed the items. Thank you for highlighting these points to our Front Desk team on departure so we had the opportunity rectify these matters quickly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future, and we're delighted that you enjoying our stunning River Thames views!

Kind regards,
Michael Hewson
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am a Marriott loyalist, so my rating may be a bit skewed. This hotel is located in the prime area of London (actually Westminster) and has a bus stop in front of the building for the tours and regular bus routes. We had very good experience with the concierge service who helped us with good places to eat, and to visit. We were able to secure a few of our tours right from the hotel, which was convenient and great. The room we had looked out of over the Thames and the London Eye was right, and I mean right out our window. The room was above average (for London), and quite expensive (when compared to others). Overall the location made it prime, and the high quality Marriott service, almost always delivered, made it special. One more great point.. The spa was nice, though the Jacuzzi was look warm. They had US outlets for our equipment. To us, with our cameras, PC's, Surfaces, Ipads, it was a very nice hidden feature.

Room Tip: Stay away from the hotel restaurant for dinner.. breakfast ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Chuck M

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and your review of the Hotel is greatly appreciated.

We're delighted that your room was well appointed and that your experience at the Hotel was a memorable one.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the temperature of our Jacuzzi and please rest assured our Health Club team will review this matter. It was disappointing to learn of your comments in regards to Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar, for dinner and breakfast; it is regrettable that your visit was not in keeping with the rest of your stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to County Hall on a future trip to London and trust we'll be able to provide an even more enjoyable stay with us, next time.

Kind regards, Michael Hewson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent the week between Christmas and New Years here and loved every minute. The hotel steakhouse was fantastic....definitely recommend eating there and we did twice during our stay. Location is right at the Eye and the views of Westminster and the Thames are just amazing. We were able to easily walk to many sites in the city and enjoyed walking across the bridges. The big bus picks up rights outside the front door, which is also very convenient. The concierge was extremely helpful, finding us tickets and booking tours easily. If you can upgrade to the executive floor the views and snacks/drinks at the executive center were good (although no "American" coffee). Can't say enough about the friendly staff...every single person from the doorman to the maids were super friendly. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get on the 4th floor executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location and building itself are key attractions for this hotel. It is a higher end Marriott although it isn't quite the category 7 it claims to be from a luxury perspective. The high prices are for the location, which is unbeatable.

The lobby is very impressive and the staff very attentive and helpful. We were there over Christmas itself when they had far fewer staff due to the public holidays. But even with a full hotel it wasn't particularly noticeable that they were understaffed.

The room we had was much larger than most London hotels with enough space easily for the roll-away bed we had for our daughter. Large bathroom as well.

The only negative for us was the exec lounge which for an upmarket hotel was small, basic and very underwhelming. An exec lounge should be aspirational - something to make you want to get premier status with the hotel etc. This wasn't. Basically a converted windowless room with a few small tables and very few drinks. Most of which went rapidly due to the large number of guests who had access to the lounge compared to its size and how it was stocked.

Oh - and strangely enough the scrambled eggs in both the lounge and the dining room were really really bad. Army mess hall bad. As though they'd been made with powdered eggs or something. Very odd. Not just a one off, but consistent throughout our 5 day stay.

An enjoyable stay. We'd go back, gladly.

Room Tip: The layout of the hotel is such that the lobby and lifts are at one end of the hotel and the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,068 in London
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall offers proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from the front doors of our hotel in London, England. Stay with us and hold your events here, as we feature distinctive venues that can accommodate every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing