We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See London at it's best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #194 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“See London at it's best!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have just returned from a six day break at the Marriott County Hall and just wanted to say what a great experience it was. From the moment I arrived at the hotel I was welcomed by kind, thoughtful bellman and concierge staff and this level of professionalism and care continued in all departments of the hotel. I had two rooms booked and we were given two great rooms together overlooking the thames, london eye and big ben ( thank you so much ana and nick on the front desk- you were stars and did the Marriott proud !) . This hotel must have some of the most impressive views to be found in london. The location cannot be faulted for ease of getting around- seven minutes from Waterloo to Leicester square. We did theatres, restaurants, museums and everything else London has to offer with the minimum of fuss and great ease. I love London and have been here many times. The days sightseeing can be tiring though, so I loved coming back to the County hall at the end of the day- it was like entering an area of tranquility and relaxation. You could have a spa treatment, unwind in the amazing indoor pool ( I have never seen a pool so big in a central london hotel) or just sit in the bar with a drink and admire london by night. I cannot imagine anyone would be dissappointed by this hotel and I cannot wait to return. Look forward to seeiing all the great staff soon at the County Hall- you all do a great job!

Room Tip: The Thames side rooms are well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    694
    270
    115
    69
See reviews for
808
767
79
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is in the best possible location. From my room window I could see Parliament, the river, and the London Eye. The rooms were smaller than most Marriott rooms, but clean and comfortable. There was the added bonus of both American and European plugs in the room - an unexpected and welcomed surprise. The lobby of the hotel opened to the river and the main entrance making access to whatever you wanted to do easy. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Marriott County Hall is a great location to sightsee London from. It is especially good if you are a first timer like myself and my family were to London. The hotel is almost directly across the street from Parliament, Big Ben and sits at the foot of the Westminster Bridge. It is about a 45 minute walk or less to the National Museum and other locations you will want to visit. You can also walk to Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Circus but recommend a cab for your return.

The front desk is top notch and very properly British, which is nice considering this was our first trip abroad. The check in went very smoothly, even after a 10 hour flight. The staff is very good including housekeeping. We were upgraded from a garden room to a room overlooking the London Eye and the Thames without asking.

The room was large by Europe standards. Bed was fine although we needed a roll away for our daughter and it was the old fashion coil spring with wire variety that we all knew as kids. The bathroom was large, lots of marble and definitely top of the line with thick towels and good toilet articles.

There is a Starbucks around the corner from the hotel which you will want as the coffee in most European rooms, if there is any is a version of instant with hot water. There is a restaurant in the hotel that is a bit over priced but has a fantastic view of the Thames as you are sitting only around 100 feet from it.

The other incredible thing about this hotel is the structure it is located in: it is the old County Hall of London building built close to 100 years ago. This structure holds in addition to the Marriott a discount hotel, restaurants, an amusement arcade, plus the London Eye. The hotel is literally built in side this building and don't worry, you are not in an old hotel but a newer hotel built into a historic building.

My only request would be to include an alternative to breakfast from the higher priced restaurant, such as a Starbucks. Otherwise, will not hesitate to stay here again in the future. A great property and staff.

Room Tip: My only complaint is, the front desk tried to sell us a deluxe room with a view of the Thames for 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic hotel,helpfull staff, this was a present for my wifes 40th and was fantastic,great food,what a view from our bedroom window, very Central so everywhere easy to get to ..My only gripe was may be the breakfast food could have been a bit warmer as it is 5 star....

Room Tip: Ask for a Big Ben View when staying its worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madasafish71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

With building history and wonderful views, the Marriott County hall is a gem of a place to stay. We had breath taking views from our suite overlooking the River Thames and Big Ben. The staff was always very friendly while the location made it very easy to get to most local attractions. Whether you prefer walking London, taxi ride or taking the tube trains, the Marriott county Hall is close to all attractions. We landed into Gatwick airport then took the Gatwick express straight to Victoria train station. From there it’s a 1.2 mile walk or a 10 pound taxi ride to the County Hall. The Hotel is within or less than a mile to most of the major Royal sites and major shopping areas. If walking is not your choice than most taxi fares are within 10 pounds to get to the sites. It was a wonderful place to stay just be aware that since the hotel is old in history the windows have a tendency to wine due to wind noise. But that just added to the hotel motif.

Room Tip: I believe most rooms overlook the River Thames but you might want to ask to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowspd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend in Dublin, and wanted to hit London on the way home. We chose this hotel primarily for its proximity to Westminster. When we arrived, our room choice (king bed) was not available. Instead of asking us to wait for that room to become available, we were upgraded to a balcony room (6th floor), overlooking the Thames and the London Eye was just to our right (not obstructing our view of Big Ben). The bar on the main floor is a wonder place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTWreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Superb location. Walking distance from all main tourist areas. The rooms were great size.

Although we encountered a few issues we received superb customer service from Jo, who was the duty manager at the time. He understood the seriousness of the issues and was quickly to react.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing