We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful classy hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #218 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful classy hotel!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each stay. The hotel is beautiful and the location is fabulous. Splurge and treat yourselves to afternoon tea in the library - wonderful experience! Love the luxury of Marriott County Hall!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    689
    269
    115
    69
See reviews for
802
742
78
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
columbia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From check in to checkout the service an staff were less than accomodating or welcoming. Inspend over 100 nights per year at Marriott properties and this was the most dissappointing Marriott experience ever. We checked in at 1:30 AM and i asked where we could get a bottle of water - the clerk indicated that we had to order room service. When we finally get to our room as there was 'an issue'(she said we could not have three people in the room, reservation was for three!) there was a fridge in the room with water. 15 pounds for room service for water, they were supposed to credit, and i was still billed upn checkout. Hotel was not very clean. GREAT LOCATION!!! concierge staff - two of three staff we dealt with were great! Would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgrice4psu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCountyHall, Manager at London Marriott Hotel County Hall, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is disconcerting to learn of your displeasure at the service we provide and hope we may be able to restore your faith at some point in the future.

Your billing issues are also a worry and trust that we will have the opportunity to correct this.

Kind regards, Michael Hewson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very pleasant. The location (right off of Westminster Bridge) is great for sightseeing as well as access to the Tube (although I do concur with Bohrson's previous comments regarding the crowds that you must fight to get on and off the tube here - we found walking down to the Jubilee Foot Bridge and across and taking the Embankment Tube stop a little easier). Our room looked out on the river with great views of the London Eye and Big Ben, so I had wonderful photos from nighttime as well as early morning. The staff accommodated our request for two double beds and made it a featherless room so that my sister with allergies had minimal problems (which was great!). The only downside is there is no place within the hotel to purchase just a bottle of water or soda, but these are available on Belvedere street right outside the hotel, or down on the Embankment (there is also a mini bar in the room). Also, for those of you in the Gold or Platinum status for Marriott there is an Executive Suite that is always fully stocked (water, small cans of soda, coffee/tea/hot chocolate), and also serves a good breakfast and happy hour. Overall, I definitely enjoyed the stay and would recommend to anyone going to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calivin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can honestly say this is the best Hotel I have ever stayed in.
Oozes class. Discrete highly professional staff offer first class service here. Our room was colossal and looked out not the Thames. Directly in front of our window was the London Eye so found a few tourists on occasion 'waving' at us ! The bed was fantastic with beautiful linen and had the best sleep ever !
It has lots of history this Hotel which is very interesting and fantastic to see and experience.
We had quite a few famous people when we were staying here including members if parliment, Dame Kelly Holmes, Louis Walsh and Ulrica Johnson. All very down to earth but then again nobody bothered them !
Restaurant delightful with great views.
If we could afford to splurge out on an annual basis to London this would be the Hotel I would choose.
British at its best.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Thames near the London Eye - also if possible pay for a suite you will not be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chillax999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked 3 nights here. The hotel upgraded us (probably due to my Platimum Status) and our Room was fantastic. We were overlooking the river, London eye and Big Ben. Awesome views! The only 'complaint' I have was: I booked a car from the hotel it was late and booked through a 3rd party. Getting it coordinated took time, the hotel did call me back to make sure it was worked out, but it took 45 mins. We had dinner in the restaurant it was fantastic, and service was great. The bar was quiet sometiems and more people others and drinks were well made. Room was clean and even had USA outlets, very thoughtful!
I proposed the 2nd night, so excellent memories about the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade to the rooms with a view...worth it if you are sightseeing in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely hotel. Great location. However, if you like to take the underground like we do, and you get off at Westminster, be prepared to fight throngs of tourists taking photos of Big Ben and/or the London Eye as you try to cross the bridge. The weekend we were there we could not get off at Waterloo because the Central Line was down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2012 after traveling in France for the week. We chose this location as it was close to great restaurants, theater, and a couple of last minute attractions that we wanted to fit in before heading back home. A huge draw of this hotel was it's proximity to the tube making it an easy trip on the District Line switching at Earl's Court to the Piccadilly heading towards Heathrow.

This hotel has an outstanding location to the Houses of Parliament, Westminster, London Eye, and Big Ben. Although we were not in a room that had a fabulous view, knowing that these sites were so close was all I needed. After dinner, we walked along the Thames and sat watching Big Ben for an hour and it was so nice knowing the hotel was across the street.

When we stayed in April 2012, the hotel was going through a renovation of their restaurant which has probably opened already. The breakfast was temporally moved into the Reading Room. This reading room had the best views of Big Ben. It was a pleasant last meal before heading back to the USA. Although the breakfast has moved back since, if you need to get in a bit of work or simply want to read the newspaper, this is the place to do it. Get your tea and biscuits and enjoy the view.

The concierge at this hotel was the most helpful. He provided maps and recommendations of great things in the area. He was a wealth of knowledge and he understood that we were return travelers to London and gave recommendations based on our interests skipping the London "go tos" which we have seen a million times on previous trips.

Our room was clean and very large. Bathrooms were large as well. This is a rarity in Europe so it was really nice to be able to spread out and not feel as though we were on top of each other.

Having been to many hotels in London over the past years, this hotel is one of my favorites. Worth the money/points to stay here. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the view! It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,088 in London
4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott Hotel County Hall England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing