We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice & clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Ranked #499 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a great stay at the Mercure London Paddington Hotel. The location is perfect (the Paddington train/tube station is across the street). Everything was clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for writing your recent review on our hotel and that you found everything to our liking and you had a great stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is located about a block away from Paddington Railway station, half a block away from the tube station and several bus lines run in front of it. The staff were extremely helpful. They don't really have a dining room, but there are a lot a resturants and fast food places in the area. The post office is about 3 blocks away and Mark & Spencer is about 4 blocks on Edgeware Road. The main downside was a very small room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and that our staff were very helpful during your stay. I can only agree with you that our location is great for getting around and seeing London.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a total of 5 nights at this hotel. First, we stayed 3 nights, and were given a room on the top floor (5th). The room was nice and spacious in European standard. Everything works well too. After the 3 nights, we checked out since we had to stay outside London for 2 nights. After that, we returned to this hotel, and stayed another 2 nights. Upon returning, we were given a room on the first floor, because the hotel was fully booked. The room is a bit bigger than the previous one, but due to the proximity to the street, we could hear noise from the street at night. Other than the noise, we found the hotel location very convenient. Paddington train station is literally right next door, where you can take many national rails, tube and Heathrow Express. There are quite a few restaurants too within walking distance. Burger King, McDonald and KFC are seconds away. A 24 hour Tesco (supermarket) is around 200 meters away. Hyde Park is also within walking distance (10 minutes).

If you are a light sleeper or prone to noise, ask for a room on upper floor. Otherwise, there is nothing wrong with the hotel. Please note, when we were there, we noticed the reception was busy almost all the time, with people checking in and out. So, make sure you book early.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and we were pleased you found our location exactly what you required.
We hope to see you again soon and we will ensure you get a high floor room.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is a gem, just a 5 minute walk from Paddington station, which makes it very convenient for people flying into and out of Heathrow. We travelled during the Olympics and this property proved very convenient for getting to Olympic Park and London in general, including Hyde Park. The hotel itself is very clean, nice sized rooms, has a safe and small mini bar,ironing board, hairdryer and basic toiletries. We found the staff to be very helpful. Mary, Carolina, Veronika and Inna were amazing in customer service. They gave us upgrade to Executive room, offered a Pimm's drink, and voucher to use in nearby London Street Brasserie. These girls really make Mercure hotel a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mc_Fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Wow what more could we ask for than your amazing comments and that you think our staff were stars. Please accept our thanks and do hope to see you again soon, before London hosts the Olympics again.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed solo for four nights while in London on business. Hotel was picked because very close to Paddington station - this was great, the Heathrow Express was fast, efficient and less than 1/3 the price of a taxi. The train noise from my hotel room was only a distant rumble. I had one of the larger rooms, there appear to be only two on each floor, it had a couch which could have folded out to a double bed although there would be very little space to walk around after this. The room was beautifully furnished, and the bathroom was excellent, everything you needed was provided - if you used all the drawers there was sufficient hanging and storage space to unpack. However, Room 106 is a bad room to have - I rang reception at 1 am on the first night to enquire why it sounded like people were moving furniture around. The next morning,the very helpful staff member advised me that the cause of the noise was because my room was directly above the large hotel Refridgerator room, which was also used by the McDonalds restaurant. He offerred to move me to another room and I subsequently shifted into 206. Regrettably this room was directly above 106, and i could still hear the fridge noise - i tried turning on the air-con (to mask the noise) and found it didnt work. The next day I advised reception and they sent men to fix the air-con. That night the air-con actually went on, however after half an hour i realised it was only blowing hot air. The only way to cool the room was to open the window, which of course let even more noise in from the back lane! The next day, i was advised that the air con on the whole 2nd floor wasnt working and because it was now Sunday, it wouldnt be fixed till mon. This was frustrating because of the difficulty i was still having sleeping due to the noise in my room - if you stay here, take a smaller room rather than 106 or 206 unless you are a heavy sleeper!! Other things also went wrong during my stay, however the reception staff, in particular Carolina, were exceptionally lovely and tried very hard to fix things. The very worst thing about this hotel however is the terrible restaurant Garfunkels. I realised after my second mediocre breakfast there that this was a chain hotel and the staff did not give a stuff about customer service. I had a very mediocre dinner there one night, and the next day had appalling service when I had some business meetings over coffee. By the third morning, i skipped breakfast, and on the fourth morning i took advantage of the fact that the hotel breakfast voucher could also be used at the Indigo hotel down the road - where they served an excellent breakfast. When Ieft, I listed all the things that had gone wrong, and noted that, despite this,the only real deal-breaker for me was the shocking restaurant - the staff were very apologetic, they were aware that this was not the usual Mercure standard (only been Mercure for 18 months) and took note of my comments, and very nicely organised a complimentary dinner for me at the indigo where I moved for Monday night (as Mercure couldnt accommodate me) .

Room Tip: Do not choose room 106 or 206!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GladJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and the fact that you found Carolina and our staff helpful and lovely.
Please accept our apologies again over the breakfast and service offered in the restaurant adjoining to the hotel and be assured I have passed on your comments to them.
I do hope this has not deterred you from using our hotel again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My parter spent literally days agonizing over all of the different hotel, apartment, BnB, etc. options for our stay in London and eventually came across a discount for this hotel on the Mercure site. I wanted to stay somewhere a bit more posh, but I liked that it was a) relatively (for London) inexpensive and b) close to Paddington and thus Heathrow.

Our executive room had a king-sized bed and king-sized sofa bed, and came with free pop and juice in the bar - a nice touch after being out walking all day. The room itself certainly wasn't enormous, but that's pretty much what we expected. It was especially tight when the king-sized pullout was open, but with the luggage stored against the wall it didn't feel overly cramped, even with three people.

The location really is ideal. Heathrow is only twenty minutes away by train, and the tube network from Paddington gets you pretty much anywhere in zone one in short order. We loved walking through Little Venice, which was about about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SemiHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our Mercure Hotel Paddington. We can only agree that Paddington is an amazing area to stay in when visiting London with easy links to every part. We were also please to hear you enjoyed our hotel and service and do hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I booked a one night's stay at the Mercure Paddington because of it's proximity to Paddington Station, so we could catch the Heathrow Express the next day. When we checked in, the front desk staff said they had to move us to their sister hotel The Indigo. They did not really say why, but at the Indigo they told us Mercure had overbooked. We had booked about 3 months in advance, and were checking in early, so not sure why we were bumped? The receptionist we were working with was very nice about it, but I was dreading what she had just said. I had read reviews from others not necessarily about this hotel, but other hotels in general where the hotel was overbooked, and they were moved somewhere else entirely (i.e. 5 miles away) or the room wasn't as good, etc. I asked these questions, and the woman told me that we were actually being upgraded, and that the Indigo hotel was just down the street, so not far at all. I was very skeptical, but it actually worked out all right- The Mercure worked it all out with The Indigo, we didn't have to do a thing, and the bellhop from Mercure walked us and carried our bags to the Indigo so we knew where to go, and to make the trip easier for us. The Indigo was a beautiful place to stay, we were treated very well by their staff, and given free breakfast by Indigo staff for our inconvenience. We still got everything we would have at the Mercure (nice room, king sized bed, free bottled water/soft drinks in the fridge, free wi-fi, bathrobe & slippers, easy distance to Paddington). So I can't comment on the Mercure itself at all, outside of the service was pretty good, but once we got to the Indigo, their staff was stellar in the Customer Service department. We should have just booked with The Indigo in the first place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank zippyincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guests,
Please accept our apologies due to being transferred to an alternative hotel due to unexpected issues at the Mercure Paddington. We were so pleased to read that you really enjoyed the alternative hotel we chose for you. Please be assured it is always the last option to move any guests to an alternative hotel. But on occasions we have no alternative due to unexpected situations.
We do hope you consider our hotel again in the future should you be visiting London.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#410 of 1,077 in London
4,039 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#252 of 1,077 in London
2,513 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#177 of 1,077 in London
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Paddington Hotel

Address: 144 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $147 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Paddington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Paddington is perfectly situated for anyone visiting London for business or pleasure. Only being a few strides from the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station and 3 London Underground lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Crown Hotel Paddington
Quality Crown London
Mercure London Paddington Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing