We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten-free afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Ranked #248 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We needed somewhere for lunch whilst visiting the nearby John Soane museum. We pre-booked afternoon tea (available most of the day), including one gluten-free. Both the regular and the GF options were really good, with variety of sandwiches, warm scones, and various pastry fancies. Tea (and coffee) was tasty. Service fast and friendly. Decor is not intimate but is very calm and pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Peter W

Thank you for discovering and clearly enjoying the afternoon tea at Kingsway Hall hotel.

My pastry chef will be very happy to read your kind words as well as the restaurant team who looked after you. The whole experience is designed to be relaxing as you experienced first hand.

Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,299)
There are newer reviews for Kingsway Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,951 - 1,957 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here on a Hotel Direct deal - and i'm glad we didn't pay the full price. Don't get me wrong - there was nothing wrong with the hotel - but it wasn't amazing either. Our room was clean, but small, stuffy and hot and the decor was dated. the room looked out onto brick walls and we were woken twice in the middle of the night by bottles being emptied into a recycling bin!
The location however can't be faulted. It was less than 3 minutes walk to the Thames or Covent Garden - so perfectly placed to explore the centre of London. Also, the service from the concierge team was excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them. They were friendly and helpful.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all, chosing instead to sample the local cafe scene. We found an excellent, value for money breakfast in Bill's - just a couple of minutes walk away.
In summary - an ok place to stay, but make sure you get a deal!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaveDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear WaveDog

Thank you for your review and I have noted all your comments which are much appreciated.

Your complimentary comments about Concierge Team who are much appreciated to read your feedback and I am sorry that you were not able to sleep comfortably and this is most regrettable news for me. I have commenced an investigation with the maintenance and housekeeping managers today to see how how we can make improvements in the future.

I do hope that you would consider staying with us again and I would be delighted to assist you with a reservation.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here after getting a late deal from the hotel itself far better than any of the booking web sites. The staff where helpful and polite nothing being to much trouble. The decor was a bit dated bytes it was clean and tidy. But the best thing was the location just a short walk from Covent garden, loads of pubs and restaurants within a short walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleningleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Helening,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay with us at Kingsway Hall and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its services.

My team have read all of the recent reviews and are always motivated when they know the guests who stay here are happy.

Hopefully you will visit us again when you are looking to stay in London.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel this weekend with our friends a German/Dutch couple to show them the sites and take in a show. The hotel did not let us down. The location was ideal and the rooms, service, cleanliness, facilities, and staff were very very good. We did not eat in the hotel but the bar had very good service and the staff were very polite and helpful. Very good experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be noisy but then you are in Central London!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear JulieDew

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
You review was a pleasure to read and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

God a good late deal. Big hotel but well equipped. Friendly efficient staff. Comfortable room, very good restful time and peaceful night's sleep. Didn't do breakfast but found an excellent little cafe close by near Holborn tube.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear HillyCirencester

Thank you for your excellent review of Kingsway Hall and all it has to offer in the way of location, excellent service and well appointed rooms.

I am pleased to learn you had such a wonderful experience and I hope that you will consider a return visit ion the future

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just had a great weekend in London on a theater break, made all the more enjoyable with my stay at the Kingsway Hall Hotel. All staff were very pleasant and helpful, room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great location within walking distance of theater, Covent Gardens restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Peter s

Thank you very much for staying and enjoying your time at Kingsway Hall and I shall pass on your compliments to the team here.

Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We enjoyed a three night break at the Kingsway Hall Hotel over Easter and were very impressed with the facilities and the staff. The hotel is located in the heart of "theatre land" so ideal if you want to see a show. Covent Garden is just round the corner and many of the most famous landmarks are a quick tube ride or walk away. When we arrived at the hotel we were initially very disappointed with the size of our room. As our 11 year old son was with us, we had booked a Delux room, believing that it would be give us sufficient space and we would not be tripping over each other, but the room we were offered was far too small for our needs. The hotel were very quick to resolve the problem however, on seeing our disappointment they offered us a much larger room instead - I think it was a suite - at an nominal extra charge. The hotel is immaculate and spotlessly clean. All of the staff were very friendly and made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble. I shall definitely be returning and would recommend the Kingsway Hall Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I recommend a suite
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RickyBorthwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak F, Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear RickyBorthwick

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Kingsway Hall Hotel.
It gives me great pleasure to know that you were warmly welcomed to the hotel by Hotel staff. The Kingsway Hall is ideally located in the Covent Garden with all of the major London sites within walking distance of the hotel.

I am glad that you took advantage of being upgraded to next category and thank you for sharing the service you experienced by our caring and professional staff, I will be sure to pass on your kind words with all of my team here.

Kind regards,

Burak Furtun
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#80 of 1,072 in London
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#67 of 1,072 in London
1,606 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#223 of 1,072 in London
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hall Hotel

Address: Covent Garden 66 Great Queen Street, London WC2B 5BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
#185 Luxury Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $194 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway Hall Hotel is a centrally located 170 bedroom 4 star deluxe hotel in Covent Garden and Holborn. Spacious bedrooms and luxury suites are equipped with everything you need to relax. All bathrooms have a bath tub and shower, with fluffy towels and luxury toiletries. There are 10 air conditioned meeting rooms with a professional support team and private dining facilities with excellent food and service, perfect for dinners, wedding receptions and corporate events. The glass walled Harlequin restaurant starts your day with a superb breakfast selection and the dinner menu features high quality seasonal British dishes in addition to an elegant afternoon tea every day of the week. The lounge bar serves drinks, cocktails and Italian coffee's and is ideal for business meetings, lunch or a pre/post theatre night cap. The hotel has a powerful FREE WiFi service throughout, a business centre and a fitness studio with spa, gym and steam rooms. Our professional and friendly staff are here to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay in one of the best locations in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsway Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hall London
Hotel Kingsway Hall
Kingsway Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing