We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisited and Fresh Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsway Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Ranked #245 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Revisited and Fresh Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed again last month and the location is still excellent (of course!). Overall standards are good but I felt reception had deteriorated in terms of service. However doorman and concierge still fantastic.

The restaurant is OK, but better choices nearby. Breakfast good for London hotel.

The best thing about this hotel is the rooms, huge by London standards (average anywhere else).

Wi-Fi is a complete rip-off - this is money gouging worse than mini-bar scams. There is no reason to charge for Wi-Fi in 2013.

Room Tip: Go high - less noise and avoid main street rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb_174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear tonyb_174,

Thank you very much for your review on Kingsway Hall.
I am glad to hear that you have returned to our hotel and that you like our rooms, breakfast and concierge. In regards to the Reception team, I am interested to hear of any issues in your check in so please feel free to email me on rkn@kingswayhall.co.uk.
I have passed your comments regarding WiFi charges to our General Manager.

Kind regards,
Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,113
    333
    123
    86
See reviews for
501
1,331
91
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I choose this hotel based on reviews, price and location, and wasn't disappointed. It has a central location, only 2 short blocks from the Holborn underground stop on the Piccadilly Line which brings you in from Heathrow, 10 minutes from the British Museum, and 10 minutes from Covent Garden and Leicester Square. The Holborn stop also connects to the Central Line which is very convenient to get around London. The hotel is very well maintained (no shabby furnishings or dirty carpets in sight), very clean, the staff is nice, and the surrounding neighborhood has many cafes, etc. My only complaint was the high daily charge for wifi, which we ignored by going to the local cafes only a block away (Starbucks and Cafe Nero) for breakfast daily which offer free wifi with purchase.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear GailH313,

Thank you very much for your review on Kingsway Hall hotel. I am very glad you loved the location and the hotel.
In regards to the WiFi, I have passed your comments on to our General Manager.

We hope to see you soon back in London and at Kingsway Hall.

Kind regards,

Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Very good experience. Hotel had everything that was needed for a comfortable week in the Covent Garden area. Easy walk to the Covent Garden and Leicester Square areas. Convenient to Holborn Tube station. The hotel room standard was fine. Helpful staff in all departments. Will certainly stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony_ON67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Tony_ON67,

Thank you very much for you review on Kingsway Hall.

I am very pleased that you liked the location and even more happy to hear your great feedback on our helpful staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Last weekend I stayed with my daughter for a surprise 18th birthday surprise, for one night at an amazing hotel.Our cases were carried by staff from the taxi, and even held at the hotel after we had checked out. The staff were extremely happy to help with any issue, even when the gifts I had asked to be placed in the room hadn't arrived, the staff sorted out the problem and even paid for the mistake. The room was very clean and homely.with plenty of room to move about.
The location couldn't have been better for all the sites, even if we did get lost three times!plus the breakfast in the morning was lovely, with a good selection of goodies to start the day.
I have told many friends to try this hotel, and without a doubt I will return .
Thank you for a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: Take an upper floor, as it gets a little lively saturday evenings due to a pub next door,fand all ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear foxy1_13,

Thank you for your very kind review.
It is great to hear feedback regarding the helpfulness of our team and I have passed your comments on.

I hope you and your daughter had a wonderful weekend. Also a happy belated birthday to your daughter from us here at Kingsway Hall.

Kind regards,

Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the KHH while on a working holiday. The hotel offered good value with an adequately sized and well equipped room at a reasonable rate by London standards. The service provided by staff was attentive and efficient. We arrived early after a long flight and, while early check in was not possible due to full occupancy, we were were offered access to the spa facilities to freshen up. The hotel is centrally situated in Covent Garden near Holborn station with many pubs, shopping lanes and theatres within walking distance. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors as the street below has a few pubs and restaurants and can be bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Matrelli,

Thank you for your review on Kingsway Hall.
I am very pleased that you liked our hotel and enjoyed the Covent Garden area.

Thanks for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass them on.

I hope to see you again in Kingsway Hall.

Kind regards,

Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After searching the internet to find suitable venues for afternoon tea in London this hotel was notable in that it came top in a 'great price' category. Having pre ordered the gluten free option on line I was still rather nervous but my fears were quashed as soon as we arrived at the hotel ; it was running like a well oiled machine.

This was my first experience of the great British Tea Tradition and I wasn't disappointed. The sandwiches were moist, I opted for the smoked salmon and egg mayonaise and the scones large and fluffy (larger than the normal ones) with plenty of jam and an abundance of clotted cream. The top layer consisted of a strawberry meringue, chocolate and ornage cup and some ginger cake slices. Unfortunately I wasn't keen on any of these but that's just personal preference and would have loved instead to have tucked into the chocolate mousse slice that my partner devoured.

The price was almost 50% less than other establishments and we even benefited from a special offer at the time. I would recommend as the service was impeccable and the food tasty and also a must if you are on a budget. One slight critical note is that the gluten free option was served up with a choice of 3 pastries or cakes and the normal had 5. But then most people following this diet will know that is often the case!

Sorry review a bit late mislaid the photos I took at the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gezza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Operations Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Gezza67,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea and I hope you will return soon.

I have also passed your comments regarding the dessert choice for the Gluten free selection to our Head Chef.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Rory Kelly-Naughton
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife daughter and myself recently had a 2 night stay at this comfortable and very conveniently located hotel. Ideal for theatres and shopping. Rooms clean tidy and well equipped. Staff were exceptionally pleasant polite and helpful. On return home the following day I was contacted to phone back regarding some lost property. I had left a fairly substantial amount of cash in the room safe! James from the Hotel was very helpful and took the trouble to arrange payment into my account at their local branch. Such honesty and helpfulness is a credit to the hotel. I can recommend the hotel and will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at Kingsway Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Nicholas B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, and for choosing to stay at the Kingsway Hall.
You review was a pleasure to read, in particular about your valuables left behind and safely returned, and I shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto my team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager

Kingsway Hall Hotel
Perfectly located between Covent Garden and Holborn, with easy access to central London and the City, the Kingsway Hall is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. 170 bedrooms offer all the comfort and high class facilities you would expect from a 4 star deluxe hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#255 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#387 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,873 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hall Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hall Hotel
Address: 66 Great Queen Street, Covent Garden, London WC2B 5BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway Hall Hotel is a centrally located 170 bedroom 4 star deluxe hotel in Covent Garden and Holborn. Spacious bedrooms and luxury suites are equipped with everything you need to relax. All bathrooms have a bath tub and shower, with fluffy towels and luxury toiletries. There are 10 air conditioned meeting rooms with a professional support team and private dining facilities with excellent food and service, perfect for dinners, wedding receptions and corporate events. The glass walled Harlequin restaurant starts your day with a superb breakfast selection and the dinner menu features high quality seasonal British dishes in addition to an elegant afternoon tea every day of the week. The lounge bar serves drinks, cocktails and Italian coffee's and is ideal for business meetings, lunch or a pre/post theatre night cap. The hotel has a powerful FREE WiFi service throughout, a business centre and a fitness studio with spa, gym and steam rooms. Our professional and friendly staff are here to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay in one of the best locations in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Kingsway Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hall London
Hotel Kingsway Hall
Kingsway Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing