We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked Away Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington House Hotel
Ranked #494 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We discovered Kensington House Hotel after a couple of disastrous London stays. Tucked away just across the road from Kensington Palace and gardens and within walking distance of the Albert Hall. KHH is on the bus route straight into the city centre, stopping off at Knightsbridge (Harvey Nicks and Harrods) before hitting Oxford Street. Rooms have everything you could need , tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits TV, wi fi. Beds, shower etc beautifully clean and even breakfast is included. And if you're a senior use your buss pass and get into the city for free! We're going again in a couple of weeks time.

Room Tip: There wasn't a poor or fitness centre but we didn't want those. Our room was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    150
    68
    19
    11
See reviews for
50
140
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice with very friendly staff. The building site immediately across the road ensured an early start due to the shouted greetings, songs and general sounds of scaffolding poles.
Ordered a full English breakfast- cold sausages, bacon, beans and plate. Hotel needs to employ someone who can operate a grill and microwave. It was obvious that the sausages were microwavable but weren't.
We should be informed at time of booking about the building site.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leacherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

having not been away from Australia since 1975 and by myself this was a great place to stay
loved every minute of it. so much character and boutique in style. handy to everwhere and
hyde park, kensington palace over the road. The staff from management down were very
warm, welcoming and friendly as travelling so far from home this was so important. I had 12
nights in this delightful place and would have no hesitation of returning or advertising to all
my friends. A very ideal place to stay as it is so close to all amenities thank you all at KHH you
were great.

Room Tip: ask staff for a quiet room I stayed on 2nd floor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff here are fantastic. We were part of a wedding party, the food was marvellous. Just a perfect place to stay whilst in London, close to all amenities and the tube, makes shopping and eating out so easy

Room Tip: The suites are superb however so are the rooms in general, I saw 5 different rooms they were all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

After not having been to London for over twenty years, I was so excited to be back and what a perfect spot to be based. Such a place of character with lots of quirks that only served to endear it to us more.

We were on the third floor Ina small room that had a lovely view and a tub in the bathroom. We ordered breakfast in our room most mornings (for a nominal tray charge) and really relaxed before our busy sightseeing schedule (made even more frenetic by my recently broken ankle).

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They would always greet us with a cheery wave when we returned to the hotel after our days out. On our last morning we felt like they were genuinely sorry to see us leave which was nice.

Very reasonable, awesome location and happy friendly staff; what is not to love!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank yasimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I came up to London for a seminar and needed somewhere close by to the venue. I wanted a small hotel, off the main road, quiet, with polite, helpful and engaging staff. It was a magical weekend....a true 'gem' of a hotel which, as I was travelling alone, I really appreciated. The building has character and my single room, though small, had a balcony which opened up to the rear of the hotel, overlooking trees and old rooftops. It really was magical! (This was in Summer). Although there is no restaurant, as such. (only a bar)....they allow you to bring food in and give you cutlery, plate etc....to enable you to eat in the bar area, should you so wish. As a lone traveller ,that suited me, perfectly, because, having been at a seminar all day, I didn't feel like walking down Ken' HIgh Street, looking for a place to eat, on my own!

When you find a hotel. like this....at a comparatively, reasonable price....and one that feels so cosy and relaxed....you really don't want to look anywhere else.....well, I don't! So Kensington House Hotel, it is! Thank you, staff and management. Your efforts are appreciated! I will be back! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I started with this charming property during my months long tour of the UK. I loved the period charm and the intimate setting. The rooms were on the smallish side, but very well equiped with everything you could possible want. Staff were exceptionally friendly, but I did find a couple of them did not speak great English which made things a little difficult sometimes, especially when ordering breakfast. I loved the fact that it had all the luxuries of a hotel, but had the intimacy of a private period home, which of course it once was in it's day. Location is very convenient to everywhere in central London. Would definitley use again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#282 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#232 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#41 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Hotel

Property: Kensington House Hotel
Address: 15-16 Prince of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with classic designs, tasteful decor, restaurant; situated near Kensington Gardens & Albert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kensington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
Kensington House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing