We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington House Hotel
Ranked #531 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed two nights as I had some birthday treats in London. Good location near shops, transport and especially the Royal Albert Hall. Stayed on second floor, very quiet. Yes the rooms are small but perfectly suited our needs. TV is fine, got a WiFi code (after 10pm) very easily. Breakfast was good as it encouraged me not to have the full English! Staff very pleasant and attentive.

Room Tip: Room 209 was fine, very private, not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 378 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location no doubts on that front. Booked for 1 night for a business meet. Most reviews say clean well perhaps I had a bad room. Plenty of hairs in the shower but not mine. The ironing board was broken, reception never answered the phone despite numerous calls (just after 10pm) to get the Wifi password.

So first impression? Not for me sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdavies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location and a staff who bends over backwards to make one feel at home.
Mr. Antonio Sola, the manager, provides personal attention to each and every guest. He is a PRINCE! My rooms have always been immaculately clean, both single and double (have stayed here 3-4 times, and can't wait to return!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmk105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed overnight bank holiday weekend. Great location 5 minutes walk into Kensington High Street, 10 minutes walk to the Albert Hall.
Hotel is small but is comfortable, serves a good breakfast. It's in a quiet side street away from traffic so you do get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

If you HAVE to stay here, make sure you don't stay in room 109. It is right next to a fire door that slams shut. Not just noisy, the vibration from the slamming door shook our bed. All this from around 6:30am when I think the staff started arriving and going to and fro. Management response to my complaint was unsatisfactory, and I doubt I was the first to complain. Room size was ok, but it was a bit plain, lacking in the luxuriousness and attention to detail one would expect.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportbluehorse0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel itself is well positioned on the Kensington area, a very well known to be a superb location for shopping... The Hyde park itself is a previliage to be near, which this hotel gives this an no extra cost as I was very near the queens gate .

Well the giant word, the rooms are not small, they are tiny. Shower requires someone motto be more than 5.5f and not more than 75 kg maximum.

Beds are small but comfy, sheet and towels worn out, completely , rug in our room (105) has a big coffee splash in the middle of the room...no effort has been made to clean it

I guess there might be cleaner hotels near by which are suppose to be much cleaner

Food is lousy, with plenty of free newspapers, what for as long as I am not going to get decent breakfast ( an omelette will cost you £6.5)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khalididris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights over the Easter bank holiday as it was within striking distance of the Royal Albert Hall which we wanted to visit.

There was a warm welcome, and check-in was quick and painless. The free welcome drink was overlooked as Cava and "cocktails" are not our thing.

The room was clean and airy with all the usual items required such as Toiletries, iron, ironing board, tea and coffee, hair drier etc.

The bed was very comfortable!!

Welcoming letter said the hair dryer was in the desk drawer, but it was in the wardrobe, and the turn down service, which one could cancel by phoning reception, did not happen, als the tea cups and saucers were all washed except for one saucer which was placed under the other one, unwashed.....No idea why.

All the electrical items in the room were marked as "next requiring test" in January 2011, and whilst this test (PAT) is not mandatory it gives a warm feeling that the equipment HAS been tested recently. Customers do not tend to look after hotel property......

The safe was in the bottom of a drawer unit in the wardrobe and thus it was difficult to see the code setting instructions without lying on the floor with a torch!!!! The drawer unit was not bolted into the wardrobe!!

The kettle had no wall socket within the enclosure so it was necessary to use a wall socket near the door and rest the kettle on the floor or use one of the sockets the other side of the enclosure by unplugging either the TV or the radio/CD player......not ideal.

The literature described bath robes(plural) as being supplied but we could only find one.

Breakfast was included in the price (continental) and was very adequate, with a plethora of cereals and muesli, fruit juice, croissants, cakes, cold meat and cheese, with tea and coffee, toast and fresh fruit all freely available. Newspapers were also provided to take away.

Cooked breakfast was chargeable and very reasonable but there was a discrepancy between the prices on the individual table menus and the staff master menu, in their favour, but the prices were changed readily when I pointed out the problem.

Internet access was provide free (we had two devices) with codes from reception, but the access disappeared 45 minutes before checkout time which was a little disappointing as I was in the middle of a review on Trip Advisor for the hotel.......

So apart from the small niggles, a very pleasant stay which could have been improved by attention to detail, which has to emanate from senior management.......Staff were friendly and courteous throughout the stay.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are slightly different, so view in advance if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo49315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#364 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
893 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#94 of 1,077 in London
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#463 of 1,077 in London
816 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#515 of 1,077 in London
646 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#371 of 1,077 in London
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Hotel

Address: 15-16 Prince of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $151 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with classic designs, tasteful decor, restaurant; situated near Kensington Gardens & Albert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kensington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
Kensington House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing