We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of K+K Hotel George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
K+K Hotel George
Ranked #192 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet residential street. Our room was quiet, clean and with views of the city. The beds were comfortable and cozy. The garden was a pleasant surprise, loved being out there. Hotel staff was friendly and professional at all times. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 3,382 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We traveled to London with our two adult sons and needed two nice rooms that wouldn't break the bank. The K+K didn't disappoint. The hotel itself though not in central London is a three minute walk from the tube where several lines intersect. Very convenient and just a 20 min ride to the Tower of London, much closer to everything else. The staff was extremely helpful, one manager even used her own credit card to book tickets for us to a Parliament tour as ours wouldn't work on the UK website. The rooms were clean and comfortable, air-conditioned, and although less than "spacious", were more than adequate. Our breakfast buffet included eggs, bacon, and many other pastry and cereal items. The private garden out back was lovely as well.

Room Tip: Next trip would ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyS265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We needed a hotel in London for 4 days that would accommodate my husband and I and our adult nephew in one room. Our travel agent found this hotel and it was very good. First, we were there during the heat wave (and happened to be there when Baby George was born). So the air-conditioning was a pleasant surprise. The room was actually fairly large, even by American standards. It had two comfortable twins that combined for a king size bed, and a pull out sofa bed they brought in for my nephew. The only bad thing was that he is 6'5" and it was too short. He slept cross wise and ended up with a schedule change so was only with us for one night so it wasn't too terrible. Even with all this furniture, there was plenty of room. Bathroom was decent sized, and they had towels and toiletries for all of us. Good safe and refrigerator and lots of storage. The hotel is beautiful. The location is excellent; it's on a quiet street basically around the corner from a major tube stop, Earl's Court, and lots of restaurants, pharmacy, and stores to stock up on water, snacks, etc. Also close to Kensington and other very high end neighborhoods. The breakfast room was beautiful as was the garden and the breakfast buffet was amazing in its breadth and choices. Worth the extra euros. They also have a nice tea, and the bar stays open late with opportunity for snacks. All the amenities worked, i.e., the wifi, computer and printer.
Negatives are few: The staff was generally helpful, although a bit reserved. A few of them I felt like we were annoying with our questions, but generally they were fine. It did seem, however, like they had a lot of trainees - in the bar one evening, the waiter was brand new and was generally confused about our order (not a big deal as he was trying) but the other server seemed fairly new herself, and a couple of the front desk people also seemed new. The final thing is that... our room was in the basement. They called it a garden level, but it was more of a basement level. The windows and window wells were large enough that it was in fact fairly bright in the room. The room was actually just fine; however, we've never had a basement room before, and maybe it was just the idea of it. We weren't even sure if there were any other people in the other 3 or 4 rooms for a couple of days, although the desk assured us there were and they were full. It may be that was the only room large enough, given other comments I have read. Overall, we would stay again, but probably ask for a room upstairs!!!

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the basement if that's an issue although it is a very large room if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HdWker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in August,2013. First time in London. The hotel is around the corner from the Tube,which made travel so easy. Easy check-in,breakfast every morn. was more than adequate.Hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendly,especially Alville at the reception desk. She welcomed our questions and handled everything in a friendly and professional way. The only downside to the hotel is the size of the rooms. VERY SMALL. They wanted 30.00euro daily for an upgrade and that wasn't for three days later. Once you get past the small room the hotel is perfect.Would recommend for location and staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sksk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First the pros.
Love the location of this hotel a mere 2 min walk to the tube station. The building itself is beautiful and the large hidden garden behind will take your breath away. Buffet breakfast was huge plus for our family. The rooms and public areas are clean and well appointed.
The cons
Rooms are small ( we booked a quadruple family room and got given a triple and space was still tight) the bathroom is crazy small, but this is London so sadly its about the norm for a hotel room. There is a hair drier in the room but no iron. There is also a mini bar at mini bar sky high prices, avoid this by taking the 2 min walk to the store to stock up on snacks and drinks as their is a disproportionately large amount of storage space in the room. The two biggest cons of this hotel for us were the safe and the water. On our first day we out our valuables in the room safe( large enough for a lap top by the way) and followed the written instructions for its use. These included 2 options, use a 6 digit code or use the magnetic strip of a credit card/store card. We chose the latter and the safely locked but would not unlock. After 3 attempts to open it, it time locks you out and since we had an appointment we had to head of for the day minus some things we should have taken with us. When we returned we called reception and the person that answered insisted it was not possible to be locked out of the safe, it did not work using a credit card and that there no instructions telling us to use a credit card. Someone finally came to open it and we had to show them the hotels written instructions inside the safe to prove that we were indeed advised to use a credit card and that we were very unhappy that they provided a safe that could be locked but not unlocked, that we were left without access to our cash all day and that we met with an argument when we asked for help. The only answer we got was that the written instructions would be brought to the managers attention.
We also had water pressure problems, the water pressure became so weak that the shower could not even make a stream of water, it just trickled down the head of the shower, additionally it went from shocking cold to dangerously hot in an instant. I mean really really hot, enough to scald a child or older adult. It was one of those situations where I was already wet and undressed so had to make the most of it and get dressed before calling to have it fixed.
Although both of these issues were eventually fixed I felt that there was no empathy for the paying customer. I don't worry too much when things like water issues occur, I don't look for fault in hotels, lets face it life happens. However two major issues in the same hotel both met with stark coldness and no concern for the inconvenience caused is an issue for me. I doubt that I could recommend this hotel because when life happens they just don't seem to care. Their customer care is lacking and they failed to take responsibility for our lack of access to our cash and electronics for a whole day based on faulty equipment and incorrect directions provided by them printed on headed hotel paper ( not from the safe company) This is unacceptable to me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soupee_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We loved spending time in the garden behind the hotel. Absolutely beautiful with so many things in bloom! The hotel is a short walk from the tube station. Great location and quiet.
Breakfast buffet was fabulous with numerous choices. Our room was very small, spartan, and the bathroom was even smaller, which made me question the 4 star rating for the property. Perhaps we should have asked for another room. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Igiveuponthisdumbname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the third time at this hotel in 5 years, and it is still great. The rooms are on the smallish size, but they are very comfortable and well appointed. We got fruit baskets and bottle of champagne for each of our rooms on our arrival (not sure why- we booked for 5 nights and I am an Expedia Elite Plus member- maybe the reason why since we booked through Expedia). The breakfast is excellent, and the backyard garden is an oasis after a long day visiting the sights. We arrived just before the late August Bank Holiday weekend, so there were many people in the hotel- even then we were well treated by the staff and did not have to wait long for a table for breakfast.
The best feature is the location of this hotel. 3 minute walk to the Earl's Court tube station. From here you can easily get a day pass for zones 1&2 that will take you to most tourist areas of London. If it starts to rain, the hotel will lend you an umbrella.

Room Tip: Although the elevators are smallish, they are very quick so rooms on the higher floors (there are 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,077 in London
3,839 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel George

Address: 1 - 15 Templeton Place | Earls Court, Kensington, London SW5 9NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in London
#102 Romantic Hotel in London
#111 Family Hotel in London
#116 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $126 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel George 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London addresses don’t get smarter than the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea - an area awash with luxe shopping streets, unmissable museums, and some of the city’s most beautiful green spaces. Tucked away on a magnificent Victorian row near Exhibition Road, the K+K Hotel George is a charming hidden gem that combines traditional townhouse elegance with all the stylish, modern flair of a boutique hotel. Kick-start your days here with generous continental buffet breakfast overlooking the tranquil award-winning landscaped private garden, a rare luxury and tranquil oasis in the heart of London. Its restaurant offers a variety of contemporary dishes. In the evening, you can relax with bubbles and canapés at the chic Bistro Bar. Between dawn and dusk, feel free to enjoy a high end gym located in our Fitness Center or just indulge yourself with your electronic devices using our free high speed Wi-Fi and LAN internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your K+K Hotel George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel George
k Hotel London
K+K Hotel George London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing