We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to try harder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Ranked #246 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Needs to try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I quite often stay in Doubletree hotels as I find them normally quite boutique like, often good value for money and generally offer free wifi. They have obviously refurbished this hotel and the rooms are pleasant enough although fairly small. My issue at this hotel was the staff. Reception were friendly enough however the staff in the restaurant left little to be desired. We returned around 11pm and fancied a night cap, the bar was quiet and the staff were very unenthusiastic, also we asked for some nuts or salty snacks and they didn't have any - at Doubletree Westminster they bring a plate of nuts when you order a drink. There was a visible sigh when we ordered a second drink.

Breakfast was even worse. We arrived and a waiter eventually came over to us at the entrance and we told him our room number and he just waved us in, no hello or good morning, nothing. However, when a paying guest arrived (the restaurant is on the road and so gets walk in custom, he was all over them like a rash, perhaps because he was going to get a tip. There were two other girls working in there and not once were our plates taken away (the tables are really small) and we had to ask for coffee every time we wanted some. They all wandered around, audibly dragging their feet and it really grated on me.

Overall I probably would stay again if the deals are there but they really need to buck their ideas up. Notable exception was the concierge. The manager should go and visit the Hilton Doubletree Westminster to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Hillpudlian

Thank you for your review. Naturally, I am disappointed to read that your experience, which included friendly reception team and pleasant rooms, has been spoilt by food and beverage experience. Please let me assure you that all points have been fully followed up with Urban Meadow team and training is underway to ensure we offer the same great service throughout.

Please accept my belated apologies; I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    853
    208
    56
    22
See reviews for
346
821
127
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, close to Hyde Park, and to tube station. The hotel is recently refurbished and is clean and neat. The room was very nice and quite. A nice welcome with a savory cooky, and a very kind and helpful staff. Weak points, the telephone was not working so we had to go down and ask them to check the air conditioning which was cooling the room and the instructions were in German. Strong point is the restaurant-coffee shop- bar which is open until 11 pm with very good service and very good food. This is a hotel strongly recommended

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theodorak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear theodorak27

Thank you for your review of DoubleTree Hyde Park, it is really great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff kind and helpful.

Please accept my apologies for the issues experienced, please let me assure you this has been followed up with the maintenance team.

I do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights in London and the DoubleTree by Hilton in London Hyde Park proved to be a very good choice.

It's in an excellent location in Bayswater Road across the road from Kensington Park.

The hotel occupies a corner plot and its entrance is in St Petersburgh Place. The restaurant fronts the Bayswater Road and I think at various times of the day it is open to the general public.

The hotel is also within walking distance (about 400 metres) from Queensway and Bayswater underground stations.

All staff that we came across were extremely helpful and courteous. When we arrived at Reception to check-in we were greeted with two warm cookies! Because rooms are not available on check-in day until 2.00 pm and we arrived at about 1.00pm we were able to leave our suitcases with the concierge and go for a walk in the park and eat our cookies.

Our hotel room had a good double bed, hanging space, desk with a coffee making machine on it as well as a kettle and separate tea & coffee facilities. A smart LCD TV was mounted on the wall by one side of the bed. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board were also available. There was also an efficient air conditioning unit and a safe.

The bathroom had modern fixtures & fittings and a splendid shower cubicle with good water pressure.

Breakfast lasted until 10.00 am and was plentiful. A good selection of fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, juices.... There were also hot dishes full of good quality sausages, back bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms. I noticed that one of the chefs would bring out a full dish of hot food immediately one became empty. Tea & coffee was served at the tables by waiting staff.

On our second night we returned to the hotel at about 1.45 am. My partner fancied a cup of tea but we unfortunately had used up all our teabags in our room. We mentioned this fact to the Reception staff and within 5 mins there was a knock on our door and a gentleman gave us a plate full of teabags, milk pots.... Excellent service!

On check-out days rooms need to be vacated by midday which I thought was very helpful.

All in all, a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that looks out towards Kensington Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Topcat19

It is great to see your review and your comments about helpful and courteous staff and excellent service provided; we all strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in every possible way.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the fellow travellers and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for a 5 night break in January 2014, and can honestly say it's the best hotel we have stayed in, in London ! Very smart, modern and comfortable, from the moment we checked into reception until we returned to check out, everything was outstanding. The room, overlooking Hyde Park was luxurious, spotlessly clean and had everything you could wish for at hand. Breakfast service was very efficient and friendly, the quality of the food fantastic. again, everything you could wish for. The location of the hotel is another bonus, just a very short walk from Queensway tube station. Mr Mackie, the hotel manager should be commended, for the hotel is just perfect, and lived up to all expectations. We hope to be returning very soon !

Room Tip: A room with a view, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalumB978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear CalumB978

It is great to read about your stay with us, we really are so happy to have exceeded your expectations and provided you everything you wished for!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Hyde Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I love this location, straight opposite Hyde park, great for a morning walk or fun or if you are travelling with Children, Helpfull and friendly staff. i pod chargers and nespresso machines in the room. cookie on arrival and fab food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Eileen S

Thank you for your review of DoubleTree Hyde Park, it is great to read you loved our location, our helpful and friendly staff and little mod cons in rooms.

Thank you also for nothing our signature cookie as well as fab food in our Urban Meadow restaurant, we do hope you will come back stay with us again very soon!

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We got a great price for two nights with breakfast and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Good size for a London hotel with an excellent bathroom.The hotel was very clean and all staff were courteous. Car parking was a bonus at only £25.00 for 24 hours, this was a secure underground car park owned by the hotel.
Very good position for Kensington and Notting Hill and only a two minute walk from Queensway tube.
Breakfast was OK, the tea was probably the worst I have ever tasted but the smile from the lady serving the nasty brown water somehow compensated!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Missfoodlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Missfoodlove1

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of DoubleTree Hyde Park. I am really pleased to read your expectations were exceeded and you thought our rooms were good size and with excellent bathrooms. Thank you also for noting team courtesy.

I do hope we will welcome you very soon, and with some excellent tea at breakfast too!

With kindest regards
Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beware there is a Hilton and a Doubletree by Hilton very close to each other in this area and taxi drivers can't tell them apart. Both my partner and I were dropped at the wrong hotel by different cabbies when going to the Doubletree. I enjoy staying at the Doubletree chain, but this has been my least favourite one in London so far. I'm not sure I would agree with the "superbly located" description posted on the hotel's website - it's actually quite a long way down the Bayswater Road at the extreme western end of Hyde Park - more Notting Hill Gate than west end! The staff however were delightful and the room perfectly pleasant. Unfortunately the hotel was undergoing some interior and exterior work when we stayed so reception was a little chaotic, but if you want to be in this part of London stay here - but be aware of the location before booking. This hotel always appears cheaper than its sister hotels in London on the Doubletree website, I think the location might be the explanation. We paid more in taxis than we saved in booking here when doing business in Mayfair.

Room Tip: check the location before booking - my fault that I didn't and as a consequence we were much fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear quin-i-bog

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I note from your review you have stayed last year, please let me assure you that apart from the final touches in the gym, all refurbishment was completed before Christmas 2013 and there is no work whatsoever going on that would not just be a regular upkeep any hotel carries out.

With regards to location, we are superbly located for Central, District and Circle lines, within minutes of three different tube stations, offering access to very many locations in West End or other way and equally, over half a dozen buses stop right outside the hotel. The hotel indeed is only few minutes’ walk from Notting Hill Gate tube station and Portobello Road, one of the main attractions in this part of London.

It is great to hear you have enjoyed the stay with us and we hope to welcome you back.

With kindest regards

Tanja Furby
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#416 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#298 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#352 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#288 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#194 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada
DoubleTree By Hilton - London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing