We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Ranked #288 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. Being on the far side of Hyde Park/Kennsington gardens, it is away from some of the noise you get being near constitution hill. It is a great location where you can go out your door and right into the park as you go to the nearby Palace, or make your way within a few minutes walk to the Mall.

I give them full marks for having a nice, clean, comfortable room and great staff.

My only real complaint: wifi is a username and pw that must be entered every time your phone disconnects even briefly. This is very annoying. If they could bring in a technician to fix this, there is nothing I would say against this place. GREAT hotel overall

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trektech20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

A Hilton at Hyde Park sounds far more impressive than this hotel delivers. OK the hotel is being refurbished so you have make allowances for the less than attractive public areas and the completed bedrooms are acceptable, though very small. However the refurbishment cannot be used for an excuse for the shambolic service served up by scruffy staff. Breakfast is a buffet, which regularly runs out of some items, which you eat on furniture that's seen better days and poorly cleaned tables.

If all you want is a bed then the hotel is OK, but if you want breakfast, use the bar or generally relax in the public areas then look elsewhere. In fact a Travelodge would be a better choice!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLon_HydePark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback i am pleased to announce that the lobby has now completed along with all the bedrooms to a fantastic standard. The old restaurant is now being refurbished and in the meantime we have a stunning restaurant and bar on our first floor. This will be in place throughout the summer with a fantastic balcony to enjoy the London views.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay. Everyone was very nice and helpful. I recomment this hotel if you are traveling to London. I do suggest if you are a tall person, request a larger bed. The twin we had was a little small for my 6'1" son.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Poor value. this hotel was a recent purchase from Ramada and under renovations. Rooms are small, breakfast was ok, nothing special here. Very noisy. Staff worked hard, but Hilton did a poor job in managing the renovations project. Hotel was partly completed, dirty with rock dust, and old parts of hotel were dirty and smelly. Did not meet the expected Hilton quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this Hotel booked through Superbreak.com and yes there is a lot of building work going on but we slept well in a very very comfortable bed in a spotless clean modern well furnished room although quite small (we too had difficulty controlling the air con) did not hear any building work going on from our room at all, only the faint smell of fresh paint when we arrived, we were on 3rd floor above the reception entrance on the side street, When we arrived the reception was old fashioned and cramped, when leaving the new reception was open and it is beautiful, breakfast good plenty hot food with the best hash browns. This will be a really nice Hotel when all the refurbishment is complete, the bar at night lacked atmosphere (and guests) we stayed in this Hotel some years back when it was The Ramada Jarvis and then the bar in the evening was great, plenty people using it after hours, this time it was dead, I'm sure when the bar area and restaurant is finished it will be fab as it over looks the Bayswater road and it also has a patio/terrace area. Bayswater is a great Area to stay, we had a lovely pub grub in the Leinster Arms, Leinster Terrace just off Bayswater Road. We used the Gatwick express to Victoria, then circle line to Bayswater, 5 minute walk to Hotel. Love this area of London, would not stay anywhere else its a good suburb with plenty going on, easy to get around using Queensway tube on the central line or Bayswater on the circle line. The coffee shop at Queensway tube on Bayswater road (beside ice cream shop ) is great, nice food, coffee and good breakfasts if you are doing room only. I will stay in this Hotel again next time we visit London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Est D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The last time I stayed at this hotel was December 2012. The hotel was still under renovation and I had an room that was not rennovated. Thus, my review at that time was mediocre. The latest experience at this hotel has substantially changed. Although the hotel is still undergoing renovations, I was given a new room which I believe met the standards of Doubletree hotels that HHonor members have relied on throughout the years. I was upgraded to a double room. The room is very spacious and comfortable. The large television was immediate apparent when entering the room as well as Nepresso coffee maker.
The room was quiet so I had a great night sleep. Everything worked as expected from a Doubletree hotel. However, this hotel does not have a gym.
I love the location of this hotel because it’s within walking distance to tube stations. From the airport, I simply take the Piccadily Line to Earl’s Court and change at the district line. The tube exit I prefer is Bayswater because it had elevator access at Earl’s Court – Bayswater there is a flight of stairs, so be wary if you have a lot of luggage. It’s a short 5 minute walk from Bayswater to the hotel. There are plenty of supermarkets, restaurants and Starbucks in the immediate surroundings of the tube. From the airport it took me approximately 45 minutes to arrive at the hotel.
Hyde Park is also a very pleasant area to visit. You can also rent public bicycles in the park and take yourself anywhere within the city. For shopping, Oxford Street is 40 minute walk from the hotel. I know how that sounds, but the walk through the park is very relaxing on the way to Oxford Street. There is also a bus stop across the street from the hotel you can take to Oxford Street.
By the time I revisit London later this year this hotel should be completely renovated. I’m definitely looking forward toward another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It is a shame that the owners of this hotel kept this property open while it is being transformed for the Hilton and Doubletree brands. Upon arrival, entry was via a side entrance surrounded by builders. There were no clear signs and when I asked a builder if this was the entrance he just grunted at me. The front desk was a scene of frenzy, with circular saws and drilling abound, amidst a fog of dust - which actually made it a bit hard to breath - anyone with Asthma or COPD beware! The check-in process was not Doubletree style and this is because whilst you can buy rooms on the Hilton and Doubletree sites, this is NOT a part of that group yet - it is due around the beginning of July.

The check-in staff were very friendly and happy to help despite the chaos around them, The concierge is particularly helpful too - it was just a shame that everyone seemed to be complaining about things - mainly related to the building work and things that were not working in rooms.

There was no room service, although the restaurant lady went out of her way to make me a club sandwich and I was not charged a tray charge.

I cannot fault the staff of this hotel one bit, and the new rooms (I had a King Deluxe) are very good - but they have not Quality Assured them properly - for example a lot of people were moaning about air conditioning controls - and the plug hole in my shower was not draining properly - which could have led to a flood.

If I could give the owners of this hotel a tip, it would be to shut the place up, get it fully ready for re-branding, check everything and then have a grand opening. Don't subject your loyal guests to this sort of situation!

Room Tip: Top floor for views, front best. Away from building work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartUK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#372 of 1,077 in London
448 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#353 of 1,077 in London
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#313 of 1,077 in London
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park

Address: 150 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $146 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton London - Hyde Park. Superbly located opposite Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and just 400 meters from either Queensway or Bayswater Underground stations, our warm and welcoming hotel offers close proximity to popular London attractions including the West End theatre district and Madame Tussauds. Enjoy fantastic shopping opportunities at nearby Oxford Street or hire a pedalo at the Serpentine boating lake in Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada London Hyde Park Hotel London
Ramada Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Ramada
London Ramada
DoubleTree By Hilton - London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing