We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Suite West - Hyde Park
Ranked #450 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely place with lovely people”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had very pleasant days at this hotel
It's chic and stylish but also with a warm atmosphere
My room was nice and well equipped and everyone in the staff was kind to me
Enjoy breakfast at the Raw restaurant, I will miss it tomorrow!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crizfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear crizfel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.co.uk.
You review was a pleasure to read and we shall personally ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the meantime, if we may assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

La Suite West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    273
    123
    52
    38
See reviews for
78
339
43
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

To put it short: Beautiful design design hotel, not too big, comfy rooms, friendly and service minded staff, dark lightning (almost everywhere), superb breakfasts (even the English Breakfast choice), and focused on the same visual and political values as the previous Hotel Hempel. No alcoholic beverages in the minibar, or served anywhere else (as far as I could tell). Had great stay with colleagues during a business visit to London. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Øystein F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Øystein F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.co.uk.
Your review was a pleasure to read and we are glad that you found our breakfast offering "superb".

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

La Suite West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

An Un-pleasant stay considering the following :

- I booked a suite with four posted bed and upon arrival i was told i was upgraded to a better room resulting in :

+ bathroom with a strong smell of sewage
+ marble sink without gradient ,
+ random and slow connection to wifi making impossible to work even in public areas
+ chaotic , super slow and inconsistent service at breakfast ( on the first day my order was served after 1.10' !!! ) manager thought un-necessary to walk to the table and to apologize nor to credit the cost from the final bill .
+ suite layout makes opening the closet almost impossible leaving no possibility to pass from bedroom to the entrance living room
+ suite 14 feels claustrophobic with 2 small high windows no view
+ advertised as raw food Hotel offering chips + toasted nuts + healthy bars ( none of which Raw ) as room snack choices and 1 or 2 choices at breakfast …
+ Raw Hotel - in the reception is offered complimentary carbonated water ( Carbonated water is considered un-healthy for the Raw food diet followers )
+ staff , the overall feeling about the staff , some of which are very kind , is messy , un-revealing un -professional organization and managing
+ there is nothing comforting about the hotel considering the fact that its missing a place where to properly seat , lounge , read , chat with friends etc . at the reception you can barely seat in the stone bank covered with a thin pillow that slides away as you seat. if you manage to seat with few people than you are lined up as on a bus stop making it impossible to have a conversation . there si no bar if not a small restaurant where wifi connection is almost not existing . we tried to seat in the smalll lounge area of my suite to search for restaurant where to dine but also in the room was impossible to a have a proper wifi connection.

Overall , considering the uncomfortable , inefficient room and public areas design i found Hempel work poor and disappointing

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giancarlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Giancarlo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.co.uk.

We are disappointed to learn that the design of the hotel and some of aspects of the service did not meet your approval. The design itself is very unique and that is what makes La Suite West special and different. With regard to the service issues, please accept my apologies and we would like to reassure you that the necessary measures will be taken to avoid repetition.
We very much hope we shall be afforded the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future, and in the meantime, if we may assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Sincerely,

La Suite West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have stayed here twice in the past couple of weeks, and on both occasions I had a nice clam and peaceful nights sleep, rooms are a good size (for London)staff are friendly and very helpful, its my new favourite stop over in town

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear orp73,

Thank you for the lovely comments.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

La Suite West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I got married in July, and booked this hotel for our wedding night. I looked at several rooms in advance as most of them have tiny bathrooms with the bath being tucked under the sink, but one of them had a lovely bathroom with a full size bath, and I reserved this a couple of month ahead of time. We initially dealt with a gentleman called Johannes who was very efficient, however this is not a trait we saw reflected in the other staff we dealt with. The first warning sign was when I called to confirm everything was in place a couple of days before the ceremony, and was told that they couldn’t guarantee us having the actual room we’d chosen, which seemed strange (and in the event we got the one we’d asked for).

And so we arrive at our steamy wedding night. Unfortunately it was for all the wrong reasons. The bathroom had under-floor heating which we didn’t feel was necessary on one of the warmest nights of the year. In fact it was so warm that you couldn’t actually stand on it in bare feet for more than a few seconds. The temperature was centrally controlled and reception weren’t able to turn it off, so we spent the night with the air conditioning blowing a gale and failing to keep up with the heat being generated by the floor. My repeated calls to the night reception made no difference, and were eventually left unanswered. Despite going to bed in the wee hours we ended up getting up at seven after a fitful night of sleep and leaving the room for more temperate climes.

We had arrange to meet a dozen or so friends on the terrace for breakfast, which was included in our package, but the staff were distinctly unfriendly and initially wanted to turn them away as they had a party arriving (several hours) later. We assured them we would be gone in good time, and then had to negotiate what they would allow us to eat from the menu. All in all a surprisingly hostile attitude to service.

My wife had left her card details at reception when she checked in the afternoon before, and rather than getting in to an argument in front of the guests who had joined us I asked her to take our guests ahead while I discussed the shortcomings of our room with the management. After making little headway with the reception staff who offered me a 10% reduction, and with no manager available to talk to me on a Sunday, and also conscious of the fact that I was becoming increasingly irritable (mostly as a result of a lack of sleep) I decided to leave my contact details and the express instructions that payment should not be taken on our card without my prior approval.

At 11:55 on the same day, about 25 minutes after I left the hotel, the total of the bill minus a 10% deduction for our inconvenience as taken on my wife’s debit card. In the five months since I have had increasing intermittent replies form the hotel about this matter, and am now being mostly being ignored completely. I don't think 10% really cuts it for a spoiled wedding night, but the handling of my complaint has been nothing short of insulting, and the use of our card details after I had specifically told them not to is I believe fraudulent.

So my verdict is to avoid this hotel at all costs, because if things go wrong you’re on your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank strongp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Strongp,

I am sorry that your expectations were not met. This is quite disappointing as our best efforts to resolve the matter directly with you have been genuine and open.
With regard to the credit card charges, we explain in detail what payment is needed and how this is taken as part of the check in process; in this particular case, the owner of the credit card accepted the charges and confirmed this by using their chip and pin. A far as we are concerned, the transaction was done correctly and in line with standard banking practices.

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were there for a weekend and we had a very nice time. The hotel is located in a very nice area with excellent proximity to 2 underground stations. It's minimal with well furnished rooms and all the amenities. Excellent service, very good quality breakfast and a small vegetarian restaurant, just in case...
Not suitable for families. The only disadvantage is that it doesn't have a lobby or a bar to sit and have a drink.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zittaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear zittaros,

Thank you for reviewing us and I am delighted to learn that most of your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Modern, crisp, minimalistic but warm in the same time, friendly and cooperative personnel. Only good comments I could give for this boutique hotel. Menu card was great! Raw food and really healthy breakfasts, lovely breakfast room. Management was very polite and upgraded our stay, our room was spacious with a double bed, 100% marble bathroom large and modern, ample lighting. Just perfect! Highly recommended. Yes, we will visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, General Manager at La Suite West - Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Eugenia,

Your review sums it all up!

Thank you for choosing to stay at La Suite West and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Francesco Palminteri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#361 of 1,068 in London
1,472 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#370 of 1,068 in London
350 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#308 of 1,068 in London
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suite West - Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West - Hyde Park

Property: La Suite West - Hyde Park
Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West - Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the simplicity and tranquillity of La Suite West Hotel. Here you'll find some of the most soothing and welcoming accommodation in the city. Perfectly positioned on a quiet tree lined street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, this boutique hotel is the minimalist and state of focus creation by famed British designer Anouska Hempel. Settle into a comfortable room that fosters a sense of serenity from the moment you step inside. Minimalist décor and the latest technology combine to create a vibe that's enticingly modern yet decidedly Zen. Free wireless Internet access and a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet which includes freshly made smoothies are just a few of the perks when you book direct. Grab an energizing workout at the well-equipped fitness centre and then unwind in our tranquil terrace. Outside crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel RAW restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for mock tails or afternoon tea. Discover the perfect balance of comfort, technology and style at la Suite West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Suite West - Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite West - Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing