We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb hotel - stumbled upon luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Suite West - Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Suite West - Hyde Park
Ranked #438 of 1,077 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb hotel - stumbled upon luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel through Living Social and were expecting a nice little hotel. I dropped off my bag the day before, and the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. When we checked in we were upgraded free of charge, and had an absolutely wonderful room with lots of fun mod-cons. The underfloor heating in the bathroom was lovely, the fluffy dressing gowns were fab, the disappearing TV was perfect (my pet peev is a TV dominating the room) and the whole room was so comfortable.

We dined in the restaurant both evenings, despite knowing many restaurants in London that I like - that's how good the food was. Presentation was immaculate, the dishes were very tasty and interesting (not just touristy English food) and the staff were so helpful and pleasant.

Breakfast the next day was ample; my husband had a superb full English, and I had Eggs Benedict, and you get all the trimmings as included (pastries, toast and jams, juices etc). Particularly with deals, you can find that you're charged for everything, but that certainly was not the case here. They couldn't have done more.

I honestly wanted to find one little thing wrong with this hotel to ensure that I'd leave, but genuinely couldn't. We had such a wonderful time, and would definitely return here and pay full price for such a lovely stay with such wonderful staff. Really great experience.

Room Tip: We had a room which faced Inverness Terrace, which was definitely quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    226
    94
    40
    32
See reviews for
61
264
37
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my first TP review. I have signed up just to leave a review because I was so impressed.


My customer experience at La Suite West was fantastic.

I was staying in the Inverness Suite and I was more than happy with what the room had to offer. The bathroom was entirely marble and had underfloor heating and a powerful rain head shower. There were also samples of Molton Brown products. The bed was very comfy. The suite was very clean. I had room service on various occasions and I was impressed with the friendly and speedy service. The hotel itself is located in Bayswater which is a walk away from Hyde Park and the main tube station - it is very well located. Knightsbridge is a 15-20 minute walk.

There is a mini bar in the room which is a £50 deposit a night which was not mentioned until I checked into the hotel - but if you don't have anything from the mini bar then it is refunded, unless you do have something, in which case they deduct from the deposit and give you the difference.

The staff are helpful, friendly and always happy to help. Nothing is too much.


My only fault with this hotel is that it is located in the Bayswater area. It attracts a lot of students and foreign nationals. It is surrounding in cheap / budget hotels. However once you are in L.S.W you forget about that and you can soon start relaxing in the luxurious bedrooms. I did on 2-3 occasions (in the 3 days I stayed) hear the tube vibrate the room and I was on the 1st floor. However this is a Victorian building and is expected.

La Suite West is on par with The Dorchester.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been very suprised by the very nice and new hotel. At the time of our stay if was opened for half a year, so almost new. It was clean and bathroom was very nice, cleaning was spotless. The only negative was the quality of food during night, which couldnt compare to really great room service food during the day. The location is also very close to the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barborka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October for a birthday trip to London. The location of the hotel is superb , two tube stops within 2 mins walk and close to Notting Hill . The welcome at the hotel was excellent , we had a good sized room on the ground floor overlooking a quiet back street , but we weren't there for the views. The style of the hotel is minimal and dark , an outstanding design by Anouska Hempel but may not suit everyone. The room had a large four poster bed , desk and sofa , a small but stylish bathroom with under floor heating , although compact the bathroom worked very well and was pleasant to use . Lots of hanging space and storage , but far too few clothes hangers. On the second night we returned to get ready to go out for a meal and 10 mins later a birthday cake was delivered to the room with the compliments of the hotel , that single gesture signified the amazing service the staff gave . They noticed us coming back in , arranged the cake immediately , all the staff new it was my birthday and the room we were in , outstanding personal service , they all wished me a happy birthday on our way out knowing the cake had been delivered.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was superb , highly recommend it , breakfast was excellent too , but a little slow maybe.Some candles in the restaurant at night would just give it a more appealing atmosphere and encourage more people in .There is also a beautiful terrace to dine on in better weather, a real oasis away from the street.
Some reviews have mentioned the flooring which is sisal so a little" rough" maybe but slippers are provided , but the rooms are a real pleasure to stay in .
We had one or two niggles , lack of hangers , no turn down the second night , lack of a light on the desk , and a sofa which was comfortable but no light near it and the tv would not swing out from the wall to view it from there .The minimal design needs perfection as every blemish shows, there was still paint all over the window and splatters on the dark wood screens , and a bit of the bathroom shelving that had no paint on it at all, think they still need to do a snag list as it is a new hotel.
Overall an amazing stay in a stylish hotel with outstanding service , in a great location. I would not hesitate to return and be happy to highly recommend it and the restaurant ! Looking forward to a another visit !

Room Tip: Room 13 was roomy and very comfortable , but you do hear the gentle rumble of the underground as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay in La Suite West, from the moment (early) we arrived until the moment we left the staff could not be more attentive. Everyone from Anand at the front desk to Simone in the dining room.
There is an excellent choice for breakfast and the food is very good.
At dinner we were treated to chicken "lollipops" and prawns on a "high wire", the menu is very innovative and very tasty.
Our bedroom, while a bit on the small side was comfortable with a very comfy bed.
The location is great, minutes from Bayswater and Queensway tube stations.
We would definitely recommend La Suite West, great staff, great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst on a weekend break in London.
First impressions were very good - reception staff very friendly, as was the porter! He worked long hours Saturday and Sunday but remained upbeat and professional - he is a real asset to the hotel!
Our room was pretty small - just the standard room - but for what we paid was well above anything else you would get that close to the centre. Bathroom and shower in particular were amazing - nice underfloor heating. Had an iron sent up to the room which proved difficult due to lack of space but we managed. Bed was very comfy and nice fixtures and fittings throughout.

We would definitely stay here again if we went to London - keep it up.

Room Tip: Room 316 was great for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamble
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a quick weekend break on first impression very good nice welcoming staff room was neat a bit small but sufficient lovely bathroom with good old Molton Brown goodies adequate selection of teas and coffees .... No dunk able biscuits though although a complimentary wee packet of macaroons arrived along with water .... But omg the noise from the huge great air conditioning unit outside was dreadful. We complained and they upgraded us to the ground floor this was a bigger room but yep still noisy by now it was around 2am so we said sod it and stayed put. Don't think I'd go back font like being in a room where there aren't windows feels bit like a posh prison. Sorry guys .

Helpful?
2 Thank redheadhamble
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suite West - Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West - Hyde Park

Property: La Suite West - Hyde Park
Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West - Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's newest luxury boutique hotel.Located on a quiet street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, is the minimalist and latest creation of famed British designer Anouska Hempel.Ranked one of the world’s top 100 interior designers and architects, Anouska Hempel has also made a name for herself in landscape design and high fashion and has owned, designed, and managed several award-winning, luxury boutique hotels.Here at La Suite West, the aesthetic takes the shape of a stark temple of black and white, where clean lines meet sharp angles and sculptural forms. A corridor of inky-black marble floors leads guests up to an unusually long white marble reception desk.In the garden, crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for cocktails or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your La Suite West - Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite West - Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing