We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style over Substance................” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Suite West - Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Suite West - Hyde Park
Ranked #426 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Style over Substance................”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst using London for a weekend away.

The hotel is conveniently located a two minute walk away from Bayswater Tube Station.

The hotel is asthetically very attractive and situated on a quiet street. The feel of the hotel is extremely modern and minimalist.

We felt that the staff that whom we encountered during our stay were extremely friendly and checkin and checkout were very efficient.

Our room was situated on the first floor with a nice view over the street. The corridors are extremely dark due to the dark carpet and black doors and walls. This theme continues into the room.

There is very little natural light as there are black shutters and blinds in the room and again the furniture is black.

The TV pops out of the end of the bed which is a nice touch and space saving. The under floor heating in the bathroom is also lovely as were both the big bath tub and powerful shower, which were perfect after a busy day sight seeing.

So there are some lovely touches, nice tea and coffee facilities, Molton Brown products, magazines, milk and bottled water in your rooms. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

We did feel however that it was a little to minimal and therefore made the hotel feel souless. We also felt that the hotel would look tired in a few years time. It did feel like we were staying in a prison cell.

We would stay again if we got a good deal and if we could of rated this hotel 3.5 then we would of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne-Cantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    244
    106
    45
    34
See reviews for
66
300
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very new, chic hotel, excellently located just minutes from Bayswater and Queensway tube stops. Rooms very comfortable and well appointed. Staff are very friendly, but not particularly efficient - if they just invested in a bit more staff training, this could be a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger-2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean and nice interior.

Room actually very small but they have done quite well with the space. Shower good. Although water took awhile to warm up. Bed comfortable. I liked the tea and real coffee available. Also the molten brown goodies were nice.

We didn't have dinner or breakfast. Restaurant looked quiet to me as we left for the evening.
Very close to the tube which was convenient. Overall good.

However, what I didn't like was the fact that on arrival the staff took a £50 deposit from us for the room even though we had already given our card details in order to pay. The women on reception very quickly stated that this was so that if we wanted breakfast (which wasn't included in our room) it would simply be taken from this deposit. However I had already told them that we would be leaving really early to catch a train (early as in before breakfast is served!!). Also from the site I gleaned that breakfast was £12 per person so I have no idea why they needed fifty pounds which they said they would refund in five working days.. which seemed too long to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Els N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was a totally random booking a sort of close your eyes and place your finger down, the location is great, the staff are very nice (maybe one or two could tone it down a bit)

I stayed in a standard room, bathroom was very well done with a big bath which did slightly go under the marble top which also held the sink, but the taps are in the middle of the bath so not really an issue with lying down! Although I did have to wait with the shower on for a good five minutes (as told to do so by reception after complaining) for the hot water to become warm!

The room was very nice with a sofa, table and chairs and a good size modern take on a 4 poster bed which was firm and ridiculously comfortable! The tv comes up and out of the desk at the foot of the bed and turns so its visible from the good size sofa (sofa bed)

Bad parts of the room: there was just one small window which overlooked a small courtyard where I could actually see into someone else's bathroom!
The carpets looked terrible, I am sure they are of a high quality but the fitting is most defiantly not! Oh and only 4 coat hangers??

I could also hear the underground, this is not a complaint as it wasn't loud and I quite enjoyed the rumble with the thought of me relaxing along side some of there exceptional room service while the rest of the city are whizzing around.

Hotel needs a bar! If it did I wouldn't have left!


Over all a nice stay, wouldn't put this hotel up there as I have stayed in a lot better although this time I didn't get a suit.

Stayed in room 17, ground floor, so if you don't want the tube rumble (it's really not loud) then get off the ground floor

La suit west be warned, over friendly staff is not pleasant (personally) also when I request a recommendation for a restaurant, I would expect them to know of somewhere and not have to 'google' it.

I asked for a recommendation for a sushi restaurant close by, I received recommendations for Indian, Chinese, Thai and Japanese (none doing sushi).

And please explain to all your staff what the statement about your exchange rate being higher than the bank of England's means when/if you get the option to pay euros or pounds as she just kept repeating the same script.

And check all the items in the mini bar!!!!! There was a half drunk OJ in mine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HELSINKI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is perfect if you wabt to stay close to Hydepark. The lobby is nice and breakfast good. But the rooms are very small and the starway is very narrow. We we there for a conference and did not spend the days there only the nights. It is not too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATHARINA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is quite compact but very stylish and modern. The staff was quite helpful and professional. The manager, Anand, was very accommodating and courteous. The rooms are quite modern and the bathrooms are compact but the marble is quite luxurious. Overall, an excellent stay. Highly recommended. I will definitely be returning. However, one thing to note--this isn't a hotel with a big hangout 'scene'. Its quite low key if you're ok with that sort of ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I like the idea of what this place is trying to achieve, but it doesn't quite work out. The rooms have a kind of minimalist style which helps to disguise the fact that they are pretty small, but even a minor imperfection can spoil the look. The bathrooms are beautifully laid out but neglect simple functions like have a sink that actually drains fully. My room was overlooking the air-con outlets and so was noisy all night, fortunately I had ear plugs.

Bizarrely, my room had a kitchen sink in it with the most enormous kettle I have every seen. They did supply a nice range of teas and coffees which was appreciated.

On the plus side, it's well located, the service is excellent, and the food is good quality. It's certainly an interesting and convenient place to stay but for the price you'd expect a little more space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Suite West - Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Suite West - Hyde Park

Property: La Suite West - Hyde Park
Address: 41-51 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Suite West - Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the simplicity and tranquillity of La Suite West Hotel. Here you'll find some of the most soothing and welcoming accommodation in the city. Perfectly positioned on a quiet tree lined street on the edge of London's magnificent Hyde Park and close to the West End and Paddington, this boutique hotel is the minimalist and state of focus creation by famed British designer Anouska Hempel. Settle into a comfortable room that fosters a sense of serenity from the moment you step inside. Minimalist décor and the latest technology combine to create a vibe that's enticingly modern yet decidedly Zen. Free wireless Internet access and a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet which includes freshly made smoothies are just a few of the perks when you book direct. Grab an energizing workout at the well-equipped fitness centre and then unwind in our tranquil terrace. Outside crisp lines and sculptural forms that characterise the hotels interior are echoed in meticulously pruned plants, trees and hedges. Leading from the hotel RAW restaurant, food and beverage service is available, making it the perfect location for mock tails or afternoon tea. Discover the perfect balance of comfort, technology and style at la Suite West Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your La Suite West - Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Suite West - Hyde Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing