We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #439 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excelent Hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed at Lancaster Gate again for short London break again not dissapointed.
Ideal location walking into central London. Staff friendly from manager to decorators refubing the corridors.Good enlish breakfast.
Would reccomend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinsmith05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to hear that you decided to return to the Hotel and found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard. Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and it is always encouraging to receive such a positive review.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future trips to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    1,032
    495
    134
    54
See reviews for
463
836
94
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Located near Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park (closer to Marble Arch), Lancaster Gate is in an older building with some character. Close to three subway stations (Lancaster Gate, Bayswater and Queensway) and a short walk from Marble Arch, one of the starting points for many of the City Tours, the hotel offers a quiet, pleasant, medium-priced alternative to the big 500+-room warehouse-type tourist hotels. Rooms are average size by European standards (a little bit on the small size for any family larger than 1-2 people), clean, and well appointed.
Pros: character, location, breakfast, WiFi
Cons: charge for WiFi, a small and always busy lobby.
Conclusion: recommended for couples visiting the city.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a quiet street and A/C is not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you benefit from the enviable location of the Hotel, and found it perfect for travelling around London.

All feedback is invaluable to us, so once again we thank you for your time. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future trips to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is very well located near main attractions and well kept ....the room is very basic but clean and with good wi fi connection , the breakfast was just ok . I suggest this hotel for everyones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malika080273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and, in particular, that you benefited from the enviable location of the Hotel.

The Lancaster Gate Hotel sincerely hopes to be able to welcome you back on any future trips to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is not a hotel for business travelers. I was just over 20 minutes past the cancellation period due to a meeting and change of plans and they wouldn't cancel the reservation. It is at 12:00p the day of, which is unusual as well, and I called at 12:22p and they would not cut me a break. In addition, I found out the room rate off the street was 70 pounds less than the rate I had been given over the internet. The manager could not care if I ever booked another room - which I won't. The irony of it all was that they were just about fully booked that night as well i was told. If that is how they treat prospective guests, my sympathies for those who have an issue who are already there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cooper550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

We were disappointed to hear about the lack of customer service you received in regards to your cancellation. We are constantly striving to improve our customer care and all feedback is greatly appreciated.

We understand that you spoke to the Reservations Manager and, as a gesture of good will, you were offered alternative options.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings that you may have regarding your cancellation and we sincerely hope that you will consider the Lancaster Gate Hotel for any future visits to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance of Paddington Station. The prices are reasonable for the centre of London.
Reception was pleasant and the room was unremarkable but very clean and freshly decorated. The sound-proofing between rooms isn't the best but fine for normal neighbours, not so fine one night when the visitors next door talked, moved around and took phone calls until 3am. There is no serious road traffic outside.
We went out for breakfast most mornings but took it in the hotel on our last morning,. It is quite a good breakfast if a bit busy for comfort. We also ate dinner in their dining room, really the bar menu, on our first night. We only wanted something light and did well with a couple of big salads. Most people seemed to be ordering what looked like huge hamburgers. It was handy and well done but nothing exciting.

Room Tip: we were at the front which was bright and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiemac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are constantly striving to improve our customer care and all feedback is greatly appreciated.

Once again, we thank you for your time as your feedback is invaluable to us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I was taken here for a surprise break to London for my birthday and had a great time. We got into London early on the Sunday so called by the hotel around 11:00 to drop our bag off to save carrying it round all day, a lady served us (unfortunately I didn't take names) who was really helpful and let us fill out the paperwork for our room so that we could just collect the key later on.

When we returned a gentleman served who sadly did not have great customer service skills greeted us by asking our names before getting our bag and keys and when handing us the keys all he said was 'rooms on the 5th floor, breakfast is not included' I put this down to having a particularly difficult customer before us but still some pleasantries would have been nice.

The room itself was perfect, not overly big but not too small. It was clean and the bed very comfy! Best nights sleep I've had in ages! Bathroom was a good size and fairly clean, just the grout over the bath could do with a better clean and some tlc.

Check out was quick and easy. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from the tube station which was ideal. Would definitely stay here again if the price was right, if you pay the rack rate I don't think it's worth it but if you can get a deal go for it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We were thrilled to hear that you had a great time in London to celebrate your birthday. All customer feedback is of utmost importance to us as this is an indicator to highlight any areas that we may need to focus on.

Please be assured that all your comments have been duly noted and corrective action has been taken where necessary.

We hope to be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in a triple room, the room was quite small for 3 people but, we were not in the room for long anyway. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great and had plenty to choose from. I would certainly stay here again. I liked the fact that it was on a very quiet street, yet so close to the tube to all the sights and shopping. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you benefited from the enviable location of the hotel. It is always encouraging to receive a positive review like yours.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#237 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#362 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
The Columbia
#521 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#537 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing