We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #438 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good position”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster Gate Hotel for a week in October. The vicinity was great close to Hyde Park, the hop on hop off bus stops, the railway stations. It was also a pick up point for Evans Tours.

Room was very small but it was only to sleep in. It was extremely stuffy and we were not able to open the window.

The bar staff were very hospitable. The reception staff were not to bad but always busy. Breakfast was great.

I was disappointed that after staying a week we had to pay a pound per item for storage on the day we left. Our plain didn't leave until the evening.

Overall it was a reasonable hotel.

Room Tip: We were on level one may be the rooms higher up are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

All of our rooms have individual climate control in order to allow our guests to regulate their own temperature. We are always more than happy to assist guests in the operation of their heating/air conditioning when problems are brought to our attention.

We were thrilled to hear you that you enjoyed your stay and found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard. Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and it is always encouraging to receive such a positive review.

Luggage storage in the hotel is very limited and priority has to be given to guests arriving at the hotel. Therefore it is necessary for the hotel to levy a very small charge for left luggage which is far below the cost at major airports and train stations.

Once gain, thank you for your time and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future visits to London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    1,031
    494
    134
    54
See reviews for
463
835
94
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a well situated, ordinary but pleasant hotel. Very functional, a decent price for London.
We stayed for one night, came to see Arsenal FC.
The room was a Twin with a single and a double bed. Rather small, but the bed was comfortable. Although the cushions were not the best - a bit thin for me.
The bathroom is fine, toiletteries and big enough. But the shower is a nightmare - no pressure and changing temperature.
The staff was friendly, but lots of trainees.
Breakfast was very tasty with a good selection. But packed with guests at 9:30.
The area is really nice, with a five minute walk to the tube station Lancaster Gate, 15 mins walk to Marble arch and Oxford street and one block away from Hyde park. Lots of restaurants in the area and the pub the Swan make a lovely burger.

So all in all, a decent Hotel, but nothing fancy or anything to write home about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to hear you that you enjoyed your stay. Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and it is always necessary for us to persistently carry out training for new members of the team.

The comments regarding the room have been relayed to the appropriate departments and corrective actions have been taken.

Once again, we thank you for your time as your feedback is invaluable to us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice clean hotel, quiet but quite small rooms though, cosy bar to have a rest and get a coffee or a drink, breakfast with both hot and cold meals, good location close to buses, underground and Hyde Park. Excellent and quick service at the reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to hear you that you enjoyed your stay and found both the facilities and the staff to be of an excellent standard. Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and it is always encouraging to receive such a positive review.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future visits to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

When coming for business I presume it's kind of all right. What is really good - its hotel location. Carpets in hallways are under reconstruction, but seriously rooms would need it as well. Our room was small, on the first floor with no view. Bathroom was even smaller and would need a serious refurbishment. Breakfast was decent and staff all right.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evifka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

As the hotel is not purpose built room sizes do vary due to the historical design of the building. We are always happy to offer guests alternative rooms when availability permits.

The hotel has just completed a ground floor refurbishment along with a soft redecoration and replacement of fixtures in all our guest bedrooms.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
379 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable (and the only reason I did not make this one star). Got little sleep as it was too stuffy in the room - the window could be opened but the noise of air conditioning units made it impossibly loud. In the morning there was no hot water.
I went to breakfast early which is normally the time to get decent food. The hot buffet was already looking tired, it was tepid and the scrambled eggs were revolting. The sliced bread on offer to make your own toast had the texture of cotton wool - I then found some fresh loaves and made some decent toast. Limited fresh fruit and my orange turned out to be rotten inside. Little packets of UHT milk offered on the table to go with the tea although the waiter did fetch fresh milk when I asked.
On check out I mentioned the lack of hot water and after a bit of a discussion about whether I had called maintenance, the receptionist discounted my £15 room service bill. I thought of arguing for more but didn't have the time.
The receptionist then offered to call me a cab but when she said it would be £20 I declined. I hailed a cab on the street within one minute and it cost me £12 to reach my destination. Luckily I knew the hotel fare was too high - tourists with limited local knowledge be warned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CultureVultureCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were disappointed to hear your comments regarding the Buffet, as we typically receive high praise for our breakfast. The buffet layout aims to cater to as many diets and tastes as possible
I understand that you spoke to the Duty Manager and as a gesture of good will a discount was applied to your bill prior to your departure.

The hotel is unable to call a black taxi as this can only be done on the telephone using an account. Therefore in order to be able to offer our guests a taxi facility we can only call minicabs which are invariably more expensive than the black taxi. Please be assured that we always endeavour to offer our guests the best service that is available to the hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your time as your feedback is invaluable to us, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were given a night in this hotel as part of a 'thank you' gift so it wasn't picked by me nor do I know the room rate.

It's in a good location for central London and a short walk from the tube. It's obviously going, or been, through a refurb as there were notices everywhere.

I have to say that the bits I saw looked in good order. Our room was in the basement and was clean and tidy, however, the bathroom was so small it would have not been out of place in a caravan. It wasn't just small, it was ridiculously small. It was barely possible to use the wash basin with the door closed. I can't imagine how it got planning consent.

We were in room 999 which seems to be under the bar/restaurant. Apart from the inadequate bathroom, if you take this room you will be woken at 2.A.M. when the bar staff dump the empty bottles into a skip, you will hear the staff banging about above your head setting up for breakfast a few hours later. There is some street noise too.

I don't know what the other basement rooms are like but if 999 is anything to go by, I'd advise anyone not to accept them.

Breakfast was good and well organised apart from one couple next to us who got up to get some food and lost their table when another staff member gave it to someone else.

The staff were generally helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't accept a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you benefit from the enviable location of the Hotel, and found it perfect for travelling around London. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Buffet style breakfast.

As the hotel is not purpose built room sizes do vary due to the historical design of the building. We are always happy to offer guests alternative rooms when availability permits.

Once again we thank you for your feedback, and we hope we have to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

At AUD $400 a night this place was outrageously expensive, front office staff were on the whole indifferent, the location was good but considering the London rail system location is not such a big deal in London. The breakfast room was incredibly crowded but handled extremely well by the staff. Rooms were clean but no access to fresh air despite balconies outside the room-suicide worries?
No staff to assist with luggage which is very difficult when no longer 40 and carrying luggage for two months and three climates.

During four days there renovations were ongoing, smell of paint, white sheets everywhere, inaccessible areas, but no discount for inconvenience. For the price would not dream of recommending.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We thrilled to hear that you benefited from the enviable location of the hotel.

All of our rooms have individual climate control in order to allow our guests to regulate their own temperature. We are always more than happy to assist guests in the operation of their heating/air conditioning when problems are brought to our attention.

As the hotel is not purpose built, room sizes and locations do vary due to the historical design of the building. However, we are always happy to offer guests alternative rooms when availability permits.

The refurbishment is conducted to rejuvenate the hotel for the benefit of the guest, and we always endeavour to carry out the works during times when the majority of our guests are out of the hotel. I am delighted to confirm that this works are now all completed.

All feedback is invaluable to us, so once again we thank you for your time. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future trips to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#237 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#287 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
The Columbia
#523 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#540 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing