We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location..great price for London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #438 of 1,064 Hotels in London
munich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good location..great price for London”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got a very good deal , 120 UK pounds per night with breakfast included which I think is a snip for London and this location.
Its not far from the Underground or Oxford street.
Room and bathroom were fine, no problems whatsoever. We did notice that one of the corridors smelt of stale smoke ( Room 232-235 area).
Hotel Bar prices were very reasonable for London.
Considering the location and price we would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Away from the lifts. Specify a non smoking room if this applies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKnowMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    1,031
    494
    134
    54
See reviews for
463
835
94
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here overnight with my two teenage children after a late arrival in London. We had a family room which was clean and ample. The bathroom was clean, if not a little jaded. The room was situated at the front on the 4th floor, so we had a good view of the street. I hear that rooms near the lift are noisy, so it's best to ask for one away from the lift. The bar staff were friendly, but the beer is gassy or creamflow, so not good. Breakfast was plentiful and staff attentive. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Asak for a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunetteandred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights from 12th January. We had a room on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel. Typical hotel room, but everything you need. Tea, coffee making, hair dryer. Small bathroom with a lovely heated towel rail. Nice and handy for tubes and Kensington gardens.

Enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning. Didn't eat in the hotel, but had a drink in the cosy bar area. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Hotel undergoing refurbishment at present time, but didn't cause any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was my first trip to London and I was pretty excited because I looked at the map before the trip and it was about quarter of a mile from Kensington Gardens! What a great location!

I wasn't expecting that much since I know from research that the hotels in UK are much smaller compared to the hotels in the U.S. So when we arrived, it was cute and small but it wasn't a big deal to us since we only needed a place to sleep. We basically spent more than 15 hours a day out and about downtown.

The hairdryer was sooo cute! It reminded me of Mad Men! Vintage! Oh, and there was a small electric kettle and English tea and instant coffee.

The shower was a little weird and was hard to figure out at first but eventually it gave out warm water and that was good enough for me!

The only thing I was disappointed with is the internet access. No free wifi! It was 5 pounds per day and so we decided to skip that and got ot Queensway to a Starbucks/local cafe that has free wifi. I've stayed in many very small hotels in the U.S. (Best Western, for example) and they always have free wifi so not having that luxury inside our hotel room was sad. Nonetheless, we survived!

We didn't bother eating/drinking at the hotel's bar and restaurant because there were so many pubs and restaurants nearby.

All in all, it was a pretty decent hotel and the location is fantastic.

Hopefully the rest of London will catch up with North America and have free wifis for everyone (O2 is just in select places).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and my husband and 2 friends stayed here on 15 jan 2013 for 1 night it was a lovely hotel rooms where nice have every thing you could wont for a one night stay the room was lovely and warm and heat stayed on till you turned it off nice . We had full english breakfrist with our stay and that was good too you could help your self as many times as you wanted and you could talk some to your room if you wanted too, the staff where very helpful and polite , i would go back to this hotel next time we go to london thank you very much

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor best floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYNESSHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed here on a few occassions on business and like it because of its central location, it's only a quick walk to the Tube and it's reasonable value for money.
Rooms & bathrooms however are fairly basic and in need of some TLC. Beds are not the most comfy I've slept in, but just about OK, Bathroom showers are awful and having stayed in a few rooms now i've experienced the same problem; very weak water pressure that takes ages to warm up.
Cleanliness is OK, Service is OK. Breakfast Buffet is OK - in fact all is generally OK.
To complete the picture.....If I was to describe this hotel as a colour it would be biege!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed here recently and found the Lancaster Gate to have been a good choice. We shared a twin room which consisted of a double and single bed. The beds were cleanly presented and we both had a comfortable night's sleep. The room was warm and had it's own temperature control. The bathroom was clean, plenty of towels and the shower was great! The breakfast choice was as you would expect with enough choice to suit all taste. However we would have liked to have had fresh milk for our beverages at breakfast. All the staff we encountered were pleasant, smartly dressed and proffesional. It's situated in a quiet area yet handy for the tube station which is a few minutes walk away. We found it very quiet at night dispite the windows being single glazed. We agreed that it was a good choice as although our room was on the small side; most of the time is spent sightseeing and not in the hotel. We agreed that it was a hotel we would use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappydaysMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#237 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#287 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
The Columbia
#523 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#540 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing