We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean and average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #435 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Safe, clean and average”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our last nights in London we stayed here. Perfect location/neighborhood if you are looking for safety and somewhere within walking distance of several tourist spots. Lancaster Gate train stop has elevator so you do not have to lug suitcases up the stairs. There is also a taxi stand about a block away.
The hotel is in the process of remodelling and it is much needed. There is an aged feel to the whole building, but in it's current condition it is clean and serviceable. The front desk staff are good with the "basics" but will not go out of their way with recommendations, etc. We did not eat in the on site restaurant, but we did partake in the happy hour drink specials. This location more so than the other hotels we stayed in has a very "European" clientele.
We were on the 5th floor and the elevators were better than average. However, on the floor itself there were two sets of stairs we had to navigate with the luggage. It was fine but I don't think our neighbors cared to much for our leaving at 6am.
The room was small but everything worked. It was strange but the hair dryer was in the top drawer of the desk and the coffee/tea in another drawer. There was a safe in the closet.

For safety purposes alone I would stay here again. By the next time I make it to London I am sure that this hotel will be fully redecorated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    1,038
    502
    135
    54
See reviews for
471
840
95
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and its' location so convenient you can easily walk to tube (closest one is lancaster gate) or pop into the hyde park for a stroll.
Rooms are similar to other London hotels. Just big enough. Clean.

No internet at room is a bit stupid though. They even charge you for it at lobby.
Overall good but I prefer serviced apartments in London to any hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just come back from our trip to London which couldn’t be better!
The location is fantastic, just one block from the huge Hyde Park and 5 minutes to Oxford circus if you use the underground. The room was nice and big and very well cleaned, with kettle kit (it is not usual for a 3 star hotel, especially in London!) and iron available upon request. We were assisted all time and efficiently, the front desk despite being always extra-busy, provide an awesome service with advices and directions. Especially Andrew and Luigi were impeccable, they have clearly got a passion for their job.
We decided not to have breakfast cause we wanted try it outside in different places, as in Queensway, just 3 blocks away there are plenty cafes and restaurants.
In the future when we will travel to London , we will definitely come back at the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are more silent as on the back they are refurbishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123TheTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to this hotel for a X-mas shopping trip in London.
We were very satisfied about this hotel. (we had a room on the 2nd floor).
The room is clean and big enough.
The bathroom is also clean, but rather small. The bath is very high... for me this was no problem, but I am sure my (old ;o)) father would have a problem getting in and out the bath!
The bed was excellent... really enjoyed my sleep. Little disadvantage was the fact that we had 2 seperated beds, while we asked for a double bed. But no big deal!
The hotel is located near Hyde Park and near a subway-station on the center line. So excellent location for all occasions!
Breakfast was excellent, for sure if you like the English breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickenLieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Greeted by a lovely lady at reception who checked us in and asked about our plans, checked out by a different lady but equally as pleasant. Great location for most key parts of London. Room was good size with a very good hot powerful shower. 24hr room service, robe and slippers provided.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdandyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights. Slept uninterrupted for only two. Each night there was a different party in the adjoining room. It was brutal. I had an average ofvteo hours sleep each night. Complained to reception each night and the party would ease then for 5 mins, and then off we go again.

The walls are so thin you can hear the occupants of the adjoining room opening the zips on their bags.

I was deeply disappointed that despite all my complaints my bill remained unchanged. This was appalling customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaritimoFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

On our first night there, we were given a room in the basement. We didn't know beforehand that there are rooms in the basement level and the receptionist even told us that a lot of people do not like the basement rooms, so not a very good first impression there. We requested to move to another room the next morning, but rooms are only available when other guests have checked out. So we packed our luggage and left them in the room while we went out. The room we moved into did not have a fridge, not a big deal but it is nice to have to store fruits etc considering we were there for almost a week. The hotel looks better from the outside than the inside, there were cracks on the wall on level 5. Location wise, about 10 minutes walk to a few tube stations, but note that it is quite a walk from Paddington station.

Room Tip: Check in early so you don't get put into the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rujihw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#235 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,067 in London
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#288 of 1,067 in London
1,928 reviews
The Columbia
#527 of 1,067 in London
840 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#414 of 1,067 in London
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing