We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #432 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel room had good size with two big beds. We did not experience any noise during the stay. It's close to public transport. The breakfast was ok. Wouldn't mind using the same hotel for the next stay in London.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toveha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and would be more than happy to return to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future visits.
Once again thank you for your time and I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    1,013
    485
    131
    53
See reviews for
454
822
91
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Lancaster Gate. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly from the reception staff, dining staff and cleaning staff. The only reason I gave 4 stars was because the bedroom and bathroom were on the small side. We booked bed and breakfast and it was very good, something to suit all tastes.
The hotel is ideal if, like us, you enjoy a good walk. It is situated to the north of Hyde Park and it takes you either to Knightsbridge or Kensington. Turn left out of the hotel and the Bayswater Road leads on to Oxford Street. There are buses and taxis that stop close by so the choice is yours. Must say, take comfy shoes ! We walked miles, Covent Garden, The Embankment etc.
We had also booked to see The Jersey Boys (excellent show) the taxi cost just a bit over £13.00 from Lancaster Gate.
Would recommend Lancaster Gate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milly438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Milly thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and especially as it was for a birthday treat.
As you were able to experience first hand, the hotel has a fabulous location and provides considerable ease for travel around London both with public transport or, as you preferred on foot.
It was fantastic to hear that you would recommend the hotel and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next birthday, if not before!
Once again thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Depending on what your plans for London are should really play into where you stay. GET A TUBE PASS!!! We chose to walk everywhere and it was quite a trek. A beautiful trek, but a trek, nonetheless. EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

Anyways, the hotel is older and pretty roomy, but not as updated as some of the others. The hairdryer was in the desk drawer instead of the bathroom. The bathroom did not have a fan so it was a sticky mess after a shower.

The breakfast was great and the staff was mostly friendly. Dinner is superb. Overall, a nice place to stay, but again...route out where you think you will be spending most of your time and plan accordingly!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stasydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and although it would be impossible to be able to stay in one hotel that would be close to all the sights of London the hotel does have excellent transport links all located less than 10 minutes from the hotel.
Hairdryers are located in the dressing tables so that the user will have easy access to a mirror during their use and all bathrooms have extraction systems.
Once again thanks you for your time and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future trips to London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here, though it has changed hands since I was last here. Good clean, adequate rooms - and for London they're pretty big. Nice relaxing bar area and friendly staff. Breakfast was ok, but I'd prefer a larger selection of pastries. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We looked out on the main road, and were not disturbed by noise at all - even at balcony level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and still found the hotel and its facilities to be enjoyable under the new ownership which happened in 2010.
I understand that you would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity and pleasure of being able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

In September 2012 my wife and I spent two nights at this hotel. It is comfortable and centrally located This hotel is located in an upscale area and within easy walking distance from excellent pubs and restaurants. Hyde Park is only 5 minutes away.The hotel's rooms,dining room and lounge are all modern, clean and nicely appointed.The staff were welcoming,pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Garth thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the facilities to be well appointed and the staff pleasant and helpful.
Customer satisfaction is tantamount to our success so we appreciate all guest feedback and It is always particularly rewarding to have a positive review.
Once again thank you for your time and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

WE have just spent one night at the Lancaster Gate Hotel, Bayswater, Hyde Park. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, the rooms were very quiet, clean and a reasonable size. The location is very well placed for the underground and Hyde Park and very reasonably priced as opposed to the more expensive Lancaster Gate Hotel just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Morrie thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the service, rooms and location of the hotel.
The hotel 'round the corner' is in fact the Lancaster London Hotel and is a 5 star hotel whereas the Lancaster Gate Hotel were you stayed is a 3 star hotel.
Once again thank you for your time and I hope that we will be ale to welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Frankly, I was dreading the prospect of staying near Paddington: I had business meetings nearby, and it was the logical choice. But the thought of sleazy, run down Paddington hotels did not turn me on. Thank goodness I found the Lancaster Gate: the room price was reasonable, and the hotel was bright, cheery, clean and well run. Breakfast was excellent. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlChristoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was absolutely delighted to hear that the hotel and its facilities far exceeded your expectations and that you would be more than happy to recommend the hotel.
The hotel, although just 10 minutes walk from Paddington, is actually located in Bayswater which is why we are able to boast a fantastic location just 2 minutes walk from Hyde Park.
Once again thank you for your time and I hope that if you are visiting London again whether it be for business or pleasure that we will be able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster London
#235 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#351 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#531 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#299 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Property: Lancaster Gate Hotel
Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#339 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park
Lancaster Gate Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing