We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental London Park Lane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental London Park Lane
Ranked #132 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

For the star rating I expected a few more bells and whistles. At least a warm welcome from staff. But the receptionist refused to hand over the key till she had seen my passport, which was packed in my bag. Other London hotels handled the passport request more kindly and civilly (we stayed at 2 other hotels). Certainly the hotel is clean and well presented, but it seems to lack life and soul. And the automated minibar meant we were charged for a drink that we moved to make way for some fresh milk. The hotel is very popular with middle eastern visitors, so perhaps the tone is set to suit them. It doesn't suit me, though, and I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pondy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear pondy92

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you would give us another chance to meet your expectations next time and provide you with a wonderful experience.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    641
    176
    62
    54
See reviews for
409
898
159
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is certainly a beautiful hotel (for the most part) but it does have an immense price tag (£711 for the most basic room including breakfast!!!!!!) but thankfully I managed to snag this place for free.  If I did have millions of dollars, would I pay that much to stay here?  Probably not. I'd likely try Claridges or the Four Seasons if I could afford them.

I'm a Priority Club Platinum member. Didn't receive an upgrade (then again the room was free so to be fair I wasn't expecting one). I stayed in room 477. The most basic rooms (aka Classic rooms), such as this one, are very small and have a view of what they call a 'courtyard' which is really a view onto a roof with various rather debris all around it (I saw things such as cigarette butts and even a coat hanger or two).  Not exactly something I expected to see in a hotel of this calibre.

Bathroom small but functional.  My showerhead's water flow couldn't be adjusted because it was jammed.  Rather disappointing!  Very nice bath amenities.  The towels could use some fabric softener.

Bed comfortable enough but not as good as the one at the Holiday Inn I'd stayed at in Paris.

The service, however, doesn't disappoint.  A friend of mine was running late and they had called the hotel to inform them and someone slipped a letter under my door informing me of this.  A very nice touch!

Breakfast was alright but not the best I had in Europe.  I thought the croissants were excellent but I didn't like the hash brown potatoes as I thought they were bland and undercooked.

Overall, a nice place to stay but you might look elsewhere for the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cober6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear cober 6711

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor following your stay in January 2013. While you have noted the service of the hotel as being outstanding, I was sorry to hear that some aspects did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is important to us.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful Hotel. Very well located and very professional staff. The restaurant is excellent and breakfast is just great. If you can spend what they charge is a great hotel. Everyone is committed at this hotel to make your stay the best.
Congratulations to management for their staff.
The rooms are clean, the beds are great to sleep and the bathrooms are outstanding.
Very nice hotel!

Room Tip: Try a high floor with view inside the Hotel to get the best sleep and zero noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ibaena

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your kind comments about the hotel and the employees are highly appreciated. Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive impression.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you are not in an adventurous mood, and want a "cant go wrong" type of hotel, this is a great option. Rooms are not very spacious, but very clean and renovated. More of an "impersonnal" than a boutique hotel. Service is great. Perfect for business trips. However, if you are traveling on vacations and can take same risks, I am sure you can get better cost-benefit options in London.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Planetorexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Planetorexplor

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the InterContinental London Park Lane. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just decided to spend a few days at a hotel rather than stay at home in London. Room was spacious by London standards. The staff was very accommodating with all our requests. Comfortable rooms with everything we needed for a short break. Breakfast buffet unexpectedly turned out to be one of the highlights of every day. It was sumptuous and we were spoilt for choices. It suited our purposes of out short break which is to "play tourist" so we were not lounging for long periods in the room.

Room Tip: Definitely better to have a room on a higher floor so you can look out over London. Avoid rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Freida K

Thank you very much for your review and kind words following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our service and facilities met your expectations.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Unfortunately only had 1 night stay this time, would have liked to stay longer as this hotel is great.
Lovely twin room for a girly shopping trip.clean comfortable room and bed.
Great location, pop over to Hyde park for breakfast, great views across serpentine.
Will hopefully return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suejessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear suejessex

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will surely be sharing them with our team.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


KInd regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room was very well designed and appointed and had a feeling that was certainly warmer than the normal business focused hotel. The conference faciltites were comfortable. The concierge staff were extremely efficient an helpful as were the doormen , i would definetly stay there again and look forward to it as well!! the intercontinental staff greets and serves with highest level of professionalism, complimented with a welcoming warmth that signals home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear INM30

Thank your for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards


Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#59 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#321 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#41 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Property: InterContinental London Park Lane
Address: 1 Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
#113 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London
InterContinental London Park Lane England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing