We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental London Park Lane
Ranked #185 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here recently for business and to be fair there isn't much wrong with the IC Park Lane. The rooms are clean comfortable and decorated to a good standard, the lobby bar is a pleasant space to have a drink and the bar food food is OK too, if you were to choose on the basis of location then you could not choose many better.

But, when a hotel professes to be 5* it should be aiming a bit higher than this hotel does. It's not all about fixtures and fittings and amenities. There are intangible things like the mood of the check-in staff, the view from the inner facing room that you've been fobbed off with and how long it takes to get your car back from the £50 per night car park, among other things.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, some good some bad, this one is just ordinary... and expensive btw!

Room Tip: Get an outer facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear chkuk,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for the issues with your check-in, which clearly did not represent our usual arrival experience. Your comments have been shared with the relevant Head of Department and followed up accordingly.

In regard to our rooms, we do offer a wide range of room types that afford a variety of different views and our Reservations team would be happy to assist you making a more appropriate choice for any future bookings.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the near future.


Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend after christmas 2012. It's an Intercontinental so you expect the hotel to be of a good standard, which it was. Lobby and bar are very modern. Check-in & out was quick and efficient, staff were friendly. Lacks the character of the nearby Dorchester and grandeur of the Mandarin, but thats reflected in the price. Size and quality of the rooms was good and bed was very comfy. Bose iPod doc and B&O TV are a nice touch. Only criticism I have is that our bathroom smelt of cigarette smoke even though it was a non-smoking room which was a bit unpleasant. Other than that, good hotel that I would recommend. Close to the underground station too which is handy for trips into the west end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been there twice- last time in december -12 and I will be happy to return a third time. Clean rooms, friendly service and a very nice breakfast. Location is also perfect, close to the parks, shopping and tube.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very nice hotel for European standards. This hotel is walking distance to Buckingham Palace, SoHo and to Piccadilly Circus and there is a subway station and a Hop-on Hop-off bus stop right across the street so everyting is nearby. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Europe. Very clean and modern rooms. Two Full beds not the small twin beds you normally get in European Hotel. Very helpful conceirge desk. If you can afford to spend a little more then an average Hotel, but you are not looking to go all out (like The W Hotel or the Ritz Carlton which are both nearby) this is a very good Hotel for the price, or at least for the price that I paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRamsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just stayed at the IC Park Lane London and what a great experience! Service was prompt and attentive. The room was a beautiful classic design, and while not large, had enough room and the king size bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was very nice as well. They even had a nice Nespresso machine in the room for coffee in the morning. Best of all though was that the lobby bar and restaurant carries Innis & Gunn beer (one of the best in the world) and my client was extremely impressed with the blackberry creme brûlée that was served for dessert (said it was one of the best ever had). My only (small) complaint is that I had to pay for Internet, which at a hotel like this, it sure would have been nice to have it included with the room. But everything was great, and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in this part of London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park and on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I spent less than an hour here before becoming so angry that I changed hotels (via my own arrangements). The door staff ignored me, the reception staff were rude beyond belief and did not set up my keys properly. I have Gold Ambassador status and NONE of the amenities were offered (no "guaranteed" upgrade, fresh fruit, mineral water or gift). I had to move rooms (still no upgrade) as whoever in the room next door was playing loud dance music. The staff were simply not interested. I would recommend the Intercontinental in Westminster instead - it is a world apart and the staff are fantastic and all of the Ambassador amenities are provided. I will be writing to the Park Lane hotel to complain formally and will never set foot in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank privateinfo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline J, Manager at InterContinental London Park Lane, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear privateinfo222,

Thank you for contacting our customer services department, who have sent you an email by return with regards to your stay.

Kind regards

Caroline Jillings
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We decided to go to London for a weekend in January to shop and chose the Intercontinental due too its central location (it is within walking distance to Harrods, Bond Street and Oxford Street. From check in to check out, the staay was faultless. Before arriving I had requested 2 rooms together, a high floor and views over London (all of which were met). The rooms were elegantly decorated and absolutely spotless. We had breakfast included in the package and it was definitely worth the money, there was a great selection of hot and cold food. We found all the staff to be very attentive, from the waiters/waitresses, the doormen, concierge and maids. Everyone was willing to help you no matter what your request. We are already planning our next trip to London and will definitely be staying at the Intercontinental again!

Room Tip: We had rooms 780 & 782 which haad good views and were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#347 of 1,077 in London
3,324 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#93 of 1,077 in London
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Address: 1 Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#70 Family Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $288 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London
InterContinental London Park Lane England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing