We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing decor - musty smells”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Ranked #384 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ageing decor - musty smells”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night in an excutive room. The receptionists were friendly and welcoming but the whole hotel is in need of a refurbishment. There was a musty smell throughout the hotel typical of old soft furnishings. My executive room was equally in need of refurbishment but was clean. The bathroom was very large. Had a good night sleep but didn't try breakfast so couldn't comment. Would give this a miss next time since cost was push £300 a night room only!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Patchpup,
A very good day to you and many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We very much hope that you enjoyed our hospitality and are very sure that you will no further then choosing to stay with us again, reason being is that you will be delighted to know and we are proud to inform you that we are currently in the process of a major refurbishment to many of our rooms hense why we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
We want you to know that we strive for success and value each and every guest comments and reviews received.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance prior to your next trip.
We look forward to welcoming you soon
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    979
    391
    134
    66
See reviews for
761
635
111
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel was perfectly located next to St. James Park on the double decker bus line, two blocks from Buckingham Palace and a half block to the tube. The rooms were very nice- more like a Hyatt. The only complaint I have is the service in the restaurant for breakfast, however the food was good. The Brazilian Embassy is also housed in this hotel on a couple of floors!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Karen A,
Our location has long been cited as the main attraction of the hotel. We are however, pleased to offer exceptional value for money, staff who are dedicated and professional and facilities which are comfortable and salubrious..

Thank you for staying with us and I hope to welcome you again in the near future.


KC
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn London - Mayfair for night (business trip). The room was OK, but could use renovation, especially the shower. The hotel breakfast can be skipped.
The staff is helpful and friendly.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The tube and buses near the hotel makes it very easy to get around.
I would not stay here again if I needed to pay to the room. Despite the great location, for the money the hotel is not worth it.
For business, if you need to be in Mayfair, not a bad option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear einavi,
Thank you for leaving your feedback. Please note that the hotel offers a range of very affordable packages which provide exceptional value for money. So if you do not have sufficient points please do no exclude us from your options list. We are also improving the general decor of the hotel and these improvements will give a better more luxurious feel to the premises.


KC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Checked in for 1 night (business trip). For a moment thought I was in the wrong hotel! 4*?? I paid £236 on lastminute.com for this 4* 'mystery hotel' and all I can say is this is a hotel in desperate need of modernisation a proper lick of paint. I stay in London hotels frequently & this is possibly the most 'tired' 4* I have stayed in. Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiler71_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Smiler71,
A good day to you.
I am grateful that you have taken the trouble to air your views of our hotel. We are aware that in some areas of the premises improvements can be made to the decor and that is precisely what we are doing. However, we are going beyond a "lick of paint" and undertaking a full program of refurbishment starting with a selection of rooms.
Please come back again to see the difference.

KC
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel is basic, nothing special. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The location of the hotel is incredible. You are right in the center of Maryfair, which is a spectacular area, very high end, and by that i mean expensive, so if your on a budget this is not the area for you. Your right in front of the tube(Green Park), which makes it very easy to get around and see all the sites and attraction very easy.

No need to take a cab from the airport if staying here save your self the 100pounds! and just hop on the tube and it will drop you right at Green Park/Heathrow.

For the money the hotel is well worth it if you want to be situated in Mayfair, I ended up paying 170pounds/night, which is a great price for the area. I would definetly stay here and in this area again.

There is a super market right across the street, which is great cause they have everything there, and will make things way more affordable.

All in all, the hotel is nothing special and wont blow you away, the rooms are a decent size and clean and the beds are comfy enough.

I would definetly reccomend this hotel if you want to stay in Mayfair and dont want to pay insanely high prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trader23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear trader23,
Thank you very much for your review. You have recommended our hotel to others and I am very happy because this proves that we have made a positive impression on you, which is what we always aim to do.

thank you again

KC
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring all the London sites. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. Albeit dated in appearance and could use some updating especially in the bathroom. Using points for this hotel was a tremendous deal, especially with 4 of us in the room and the double room was big enough for us. Our room included bottled water, and some chocolates as a welcome gift.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee0232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Renee0232
A good day to you.
I see that you were pleased with our location for its proximity to all the main London attractions and shopping streets. I note that you found the decor in need of refreshing as do we! So that is what we are embarking on..
Please come back again to see our improvements.

KC
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fairly standard Holiday Inn set up.
Positives - staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, as were communal areas. Perfect location for getting about!
Decor was very tired - desperately in need of a makeover.
I was using all the Club card points I had saved, so the accommodation was free. I would NOT have been happy to pay the high prices charged for a room here, but I guess the fact it is in Mayfair, London and appeals to foreign tourists means they can get away with such high prices!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopSoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear TopSoprano,
A very good day to you and many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We aim to serve you with the best and highest standard in hospitality and value your feedback, hense responding to each and every guest's review.
I see you have mentioned that you were redeeming your Priority Club Bonus Points for your reservation and thank you for being a loyal member, who chooses to stay at IHG prperties time and time again.
You will be very happy to know that we are currently undergoing a majot refurbishment to many of our guest rooms, so we very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the very near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance prior to your next trip.
WE look forward to welcoming you!
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#602 of 1,069 in London
2,286 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,212 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#475 of 1,069 in London
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#218 of 1,069 in London
4,666 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#145 of 1,069 in London
1,702 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#122 of 1,069 in London
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Mayfair

Property: Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#268 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Mayfair England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing