We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Ranked #378 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Bucharest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We wanted to visit London and we looked for a well placed hotel so that we can easily get around and be close to London's hotspots.

After reviewing some hotels on Tripadvisor I chose the Holiday Inn in Mayfair and I have to say I was not dissapointed.

The hotel is perfectly located right at the exit of the Green Park tube station and that makes it very easy to access from the airport (you have a direct tube from there via the Piccadilly line - takes about 45-50 mins).
Also Green Park station is a crossing between 2 other lines, which makes it even easier to go by tube (you need to switch less often) and It's just a 4-5 mins walk through Green Park to Buckingham Palace.

The hotel is quite nice. It's not pretentious, staff is very friendly.
Breakfast is quite good and varied, the breakfast lounge spacious and well kept.
Rooms are spacious and well-lit (we stayed in an executive king room) which was nice and well equipped.

The hotel has several downsides though.

The biggest would be that they don't have included Internet access and that's quite a bummer, especially since the paid access can be quite expensive. You're better off getting a pay-as-you-go (pre-paid) sim-card from one of the local providers who offer 2G of traffic for as low as 17GBP.

Secondly, the rooms are large and clean, but the bathroom would benefit from some refurbishing (bathtub, sink, were clean but you could see the "age fatigue" on them). On the first day the shower cord was pierced and it leaked, but once we reported this to the staff they replaced it quickly (when we came back from a walk, they had replaced it with a brand new one).

The third drawback would be the price. It mean don't get me wrong, the location is perfect in my opinion, but the room price is a bit high for what it's offered.

But all in all, if you're looking for a good hotel in a really good location, this is a really-really good place (just make sure you have internet on your phone/tablet).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciuffy_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Cluffy-Ro,
Hello and thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn London Mayfair as well taking the time to post such a kind and detailed review of your recent stay with us.
We aim to provide you with the best standard of service and value your feedback.

You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of renovating many of our rooms, so we hope to have the pleasure of you choosing to stay with us again.

We are also looking to offer internet as a complimentary service, this will be updated and hopefully taiing place in the near future.

Once again, thank you for your thoughts and comments.

Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    946
    378
    127
    65
See reviews for
727
610
110
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent two nights at the hotel in August when down London for the Olympics. Had a huge room with two double beds, everything was spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nearest tube station two minutes away which made all parts of London accessible. Worth a stay for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Rita H,
Good day to you and many thanks for sharing your review with us. I am so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
We are currently in the process of rolling out a majot renovation to majority of our rooms and hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The location of the Holiday Inn in Mayfair was excellent. Close to the hub of London and to a Metro line.

Overall very happy with the hotel and would have given them 5 stars except they had Internet issues and we were forced to pay for 24 hours usage per device instead of being able to pay $5 per hour to use 2 devices. We were charged $32 for 24 hours as we had two devices. When I complained upon check out $16 was reluctantly refunded but the lady at reception gave me plenty of attitude and shared smug looks with her colleague.

I would stay there again but this did put a dampener on what was otherwise an excellent experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Sharon C,
Good day to you and thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. We aim to provide you with the best and highest standard in service and value all the feedback recieved.
I am sorry to hear that the internet service was not entirely to your satisfaction and sincerely apologise for the negative responce received from the staff member, I have addressed this with the Reception team and currently looking into the matter.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance or information prior to your next trip.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

First thing to say is this hotel has a great location, close to Piccadilly Circus and just a hop step and a jump from most things you might want to do in central London and has friendly service. If I was comparing it with budget hotels such as Travelodge etc, I would say it is far better. As always, however, your view of a hotel is coloured by the price you pay for it - and given the room rate was well over £200 when I stayed here on business (including a party discount) it has to count as poor value.

The rooms are very clean, but definitely need a refurb. Internet access is exorbitant (£16 for 24 hours just should not be in this day and age). TV only included 10 channels, and nothing for non-UK visitors. Most worryingly, if lots of rooms around me were using their showers at once, a grey water residue rose up through the plug-hole of my bath and left it dirty. Clearly the plumbing needs a major overhaul. One of the lifts was frequently broken, and this meant long waits to get down/up at busy times, especially given that the stairs are marked up for emergency use only. Individually, these things are not big, but taken together they indicate a hotel in need of a bit of love and attention.

I would add that one of my more distinguished colleagues had his hand luggage, including his medication, stolen in reception. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel, and they did everything in their power to sort it out - but just a warning to be careful.

In summary, if the price had come in at £150 I would have been happy with the hotel (for London prices at least) - but it was certainly not worth anything >£200.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Mr dksmith,
A very good day to you and many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of a very major refurbishment and also looking to combine the internet with our room rates.
You will also be very pleased to know that the guest, who lost his bag, (your distinguished colleague) did indeed find the bag, which was never lost or stolen but amongst his other cases.
Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, which I have discussed amongst my team as well.
We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any queries prior to your next trip.

Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location v good short walk to everywhere in London but a number of irritating things. Rooms very clean but small and jaded, needs a good paint job in places, there was no hotel directory in the room to give you information regarding internet, room service and laundry. Exorbitant internet prices 16.00+ per computer per 24 hours, when less than 200 yards down the road its free on the Cloud . Breakfast prices double the cafe's down the road. Bar doubles as a breakfast room and not that big either

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Val P,
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are often commended for our fantastic location, which is why our valued guests choose to return and stay with us time and time again.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future

Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed in the hotel two times, the last this summer. it is a great hotel as it is extremely well located in the center of London 5 minutes away from PIccadilly Circus. Rooms are not so big, but good enough for a family.

The advantage of the hotel is for families with kids (we are 2+2) as kids are almost free. We used the breakfast+dinner fare, as the difference includig kids is very reasonable.

be carefull if you travel by car as it is in the congestion zone. Parking in London is a nightmare, I reccomend "ParkatmyHouse.com"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDANEELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear RDaneelo,
Good day to you and many thanks for choosing our hotel again as well as taking the time to post a review your recent trip.
We want you to know that our aim is to serve you with the best standard of service as we value all feedback recieved from our guests, which is why everyone, who stays with us first time round look no further when they return.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a third time.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent location. A few minutes of most attractions. Very clean. The only drawback was the minibar in the room. Very small. You can't put anything inside and if you touch or take out any item of the minibar, the item appear in your account, even if you didn't consume.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pozzobon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Mayfair, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Possobon,
Hello and many thanks for sharing your comments in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. As we continue to mention time and time again in almost each and every reply we respond to, we cannot stress the number of times we are often commended for our location, which is what makes us a prime choice.
Please accept our sincere apologies if the mini bar charges on your account confused you in any way when you had not consumed anything. We have this procedure in place to help monitor stock control in the mini bar and we do ask upon check out whether anything was consumed and take off the charge automatically if nothing was used.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sarah Nezam
(Guest Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#466 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#559 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#210 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#170 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#385 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#108 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Mayfair

Property: Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Address: 3 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#263 Family Hotel in London
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London-Mayfair hotel is located in the heart of Mayfair, London's premier hotel district. With its unparalleled location on the corner of Piccadilly and Berkeley Street, the Holiday Inn Mayfair is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. This Mayfair hotel is fully air conditioned and all bedrooms are equiped with high speed internet access. The traditional and tastefully appointed hotel is in close proximity to Green Park, Hyde Park,, the Royal Academy, Covent Garden, superb shops in Bond Street, Regent Street as well as many clubs, casinos and night spots. Oxford Street, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Theatres and the West End are all close by. Adjacent to the hotel is Green Park underground station which gives direct access to Heathrow airport and St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. As well as mainline rail services from Victoria and the Gatwick Express. All Conference & Meeting rooms in this ideal central London location have natural day light and are equipped to cater for any event. Nightingales Restaurant offers modern British cuisine from light snacks to a full a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Mayfair England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing