We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #399 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stay here regularly for work, good location close to farringdon not really in kings cross.

Pretty average place, breakfast is so so, rooms ok enough for the money.

One big gripe is that im a platinum member but I never get upgraded so find that a little frustrating.

Room Tip: All pretty similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diveboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us on your trip to London. Let me know when you next stay and I will arrange an upgrade. They are subject to availability. As an IHG Reward Club Member we try and upgrade you whenever we can. Thank you for letting me know. I can be contacted at sales@holidayinnlondon.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 3,147 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is definitely e three star hotel.
Very old style.Lack of cleaness in the room.
Horrible internet service,which is given free as IHG rewards member.
PRICE PER NIGHT IS EXTREMELY HIGH.

I will not stay here again !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sadi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us on your trip to London. I am sorry that you found our hotel expensive, thank you for your thoughts. Our best room rates are always on the Holiday Inn Website ' Best Price Guarantee - please see the terms and conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Standard Holiday Inn room, where the bed was very comfortable. Interestingly no minibar in the room. The towels in the bathroom had seen better days and were only large towels rather than bath sheets. As per usual with most hotels little thought had been given to ladies doing their make up and lighting in both the bedroom and bathroom was poor. The location was the key reason we stayed here, with Kings Cross/St Pancras a short walk away. Large numbers of organised tourists were staying the night we stayed and this had an impact on the breakfast in the morning, with you being segregated depending on whether you had an English Breakfast or not. Having gone for the English breakfast it was disappointing with the cooked food being kept under lights leading to "rubber eggs". The service staff seemed to have diffculty in keeping up with the volume of guests, so numerous tables hadn't be clreared. In summary I wouldnt rush back unless I needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thorpe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am glad you found our location convenient for your stay. I am sorry for the housekeeping issues and very busy breakfast. I hope to see you again when you are next in the area. Thank you for letting me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

So, room rates here aren't cheap starting at £200. Luckily I didn't pay the full whack, but having said that this is not what I would call value for money - I am sure you can get deals. But let's be clear - that did not include breakfast, but the main gripe is the condition of the room.

With a pretty good location, very close to main attractions in Central London it was clear this hotel was aimed at tourists - judging by the amount of them in reception was a good clue! But that doesn't excuse the chain from being completely ignorant about the quality of the rooms. And I appreciate my room was one of at least 400 so my gripes may not be reflective of the entire hotel, however this is my experience and my review!

Fair to say, the air conditioning worked in the room which is something of a miracle in any hotel. But for £170, I expected a half decent room and if the room had been say £80 I probably not have bothered to add photos or a negative review. But this is supposed to be one of Holiday Inn's better hotels?

Well, looking at the photos of my room, you can see it's long overdue of some much needed remedial work. Mould everywhere, ripped bed, stains on the bathroom worktop, a green shower head, a damaged chair and dirty curtains. I think the hostel down the road had better rooms! Not what you expect for £200.

Whilst I cannot fault the staff as everyone was very friendly, if you end up with a room like mine, you may as well spend £60 and find a travel lodge.

Room Tip: Check the room thoroughly before unpacking. If not up to scratch, then demand a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am glad that our team here looked after you. We are refurbishing the bedrooms later this year and I am sure you will like our new design. I am sorry that you encountered various housekeeping issues in your room and please accept my apologies for this.
We hope to see you again, so that you can see the improvements we are making. Our best prices are on our Holiday Inn Website - 'Best Price Guarantee' please see the Terms and Conditions. Thank you for letting me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a business trip for a charity. Previously we had stayed in another hotel close-by and revolted at the shoddy accommodation. This was a huge improvement with all normal facilities. The food was good (dinner and breakfast), interestingly guests are segregated according to whether they are taking an English or Continental Breakfast, so ensure your co-travellers have the same breakfast booking (assuming you want to eat together). The main downside on my room was no opening window, so reliant on aircon. As usual an iron had to be requested from housekeeping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind and positive review and for staying here with us on your business trip for charity. I am glad that you enjoyed both our food and our location. Thank you again for choosing to stay here with us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in may, we wanted somewhere to crash that was close to kings cross.
I got a really good deal on last minute secret hotels.
The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. We were given a twin room as requested. The room was clean and comfortable. the bed was a little hard for me but acceptable for 1 night.
the bathroom was clean.
We didnt have the breakfast but i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomsonambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us on your trip to London. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation. I hope to see you back very soon. It is great you got a good deal for your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I must say that the location is pretty good if it's your first time in London but that's all. It's not good value for money, customer service is so disappointing and security is even worse. Not all rooms have a safe and my wallet was stolen in the lobby of the hotel with 3 cctv cameras around. However, according to the manager " none of them were pointing at me". Strange, isn't it?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agudo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I am sorry about your missing wallet and your reported loss from our lobby. The hotel does have CCTV and will be happy to let the authorities deal with the investigation into your unfortunate loss with us. We also have safe deposit facilities for all guests. Thank you for letting me know. I can be contacted at sales@holidayinnlondon.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,077 in London
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in London
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $124 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing