We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk to underground”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #425 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel ok - staff friendly and helpful, room what you would expect , a bit tired but bathroom was clean. Had a good deal on price - would not like to have paid the usual hotel tarriff. The leisure club was nice - costs £3.50 extra per person. Quite well equipped gym and small but nice pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear suemLancashire,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. We are also happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a great hotel for a good nights sleep after a busy day sight seeing. For all those that have said it is too far from the Underground at King's Cross, please ignore this. Just jump on a number 63 bus just out the hotel and 3-4 minutes later you are directly on the station forecourt. The hotel is in a quiet area so a break from the busy London life. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. All staff polite and helpful. Will return.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ipswich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed at Holiday Inns before, Bolton, Exeter, both excellent, my friends and I thought that this hotel would be a great place to stay for a weekend in London. Not friendly and the information on the room was not how it was. A room for three of us, only towels, glasses etc. etc. for two. The room was small, the carpet dirty. Beds were clean though. The shower was scaled up and spurted water everywhere. In fact the bathroom looked in need of some renovation. Only one bedside table.
Breakfast was adequate but we were very sorry that the room service for food finished at 10.30pm. Had to buy a banana and biscuits from the shop in the Foyer on return from a concert. The staff talked in a foreign language to a friend throughout the purchase. Not good for Diabetics!!
A long walk to the nearest tube station which was closed for the weekend, so a longer walk to the other one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Kathleen_9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked as a 4 star but we would only rate it at three, long wait for lifts, service only okay, Reasonable prices in the bar. Continental breakfast okay but very busy. A long walk to Kings Cross Staion. Room standard only very average. Armchairs very worn and one bedside table for a "potential" four people.

Room Tip: Well not on fourth floor and probably lower floors so that you can use the stairs if needs be.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegetaround548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear wegetaround548,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked for two nights for myself and my two teenage daughters in June 2013. I was looking for a London hotel of good value but clean and comfortable and certainly found it here.
Staff were all friendly and accommodating with excellent quick check in/out. Room wasn't huge but if all you want is a base to lay your head and get yourself dressed, its more than adequate. Lovely hot shower and clean bathroom.
Full English breakfast was all hot and tasty.
Only slight criticism was there was no information in our room about the pool/facilities and no one informed us on check in but we probably would not have had time to use it anyway so maybe I'm just being picky!
The only down side to the hotel was its location a good 15 minute walk (not 10 as claimed!) from Kings Cross tube station-though this was made clear prior to booking.
All in all, I would certainly stay again and recommend to friends as a reasonably priced, mid range London hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayerye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at 260£ per night for room no breakfast.

Room was ok, furniture is tired, stains, tears, burns on surface. Bathroom functional but time for a refurb/refit.

Charging for wifi in a 4star hotel in 2013 when paying rack rate by priority club member is an insult. Come on IHG reform your policies across all your hotels worldwide. 2/3 star independent hotels give it for free, why can't you?

Asked concierge for directions, he couldn't be bothered to show me a map, didn't find the store I was looking for, he will never get his "cle d'or".

Bar is ok, servers try their best to make you drink more, get stressed over getting you to pay quickly, not a welcoming experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pro-Travel-Buyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Pro-Travel-Buyer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I humbly extend an apology for the inconvenience you experienced over the room and bathroom conditions. Please be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the hotel management and actions will be taken accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and had two evening meals here and found the restaurant very good. It was a good plain design and the food was basic but good. I did tell the waiter whilst the steak tasted nice it was a bit tough. Dave had the skate dish and enjoyed it. This is a good clean place to eat. And you won't break the bank. We had a few drinks in the bar afterwards and spent a nice evening there.

Room Tip: We only ate here. The hotel looked very nice though.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
1,756 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#133 of 1,072 in London
2,500 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#590 of 1,072 in London
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#294 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $135 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing