We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #458 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Standard Average Holiday Inn hotel. about 15-20min walk from Kings Cross station. Only 1 bus line en-route to hotel but does not go to central london so you have to change to another bus.Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We were given a room upgrade which was great. Room was compact and clean and neat. King bed with a sofa bed turned down for kids. (not much room to manouvre if sofa is open). Bathroom was spacious. Very clean. Breakfast was good.
I would not recommend this hotel if you in london for sightseeing or shopping as it is a little far from everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA_Traveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    1,128
    701
    242
    117
See reviews for
968
534
96
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am required to take medications at certain times. I requested wake up call each day at 5:30am each day. I did not get a call on the first and third days of my stay. After complaining to management I then received them each day. This is serious and you may miss a plane if not called. The sofa in the rooms are so dirty I would not even sit on it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Tech63,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here as a family group on 23rd March pn ou way to Disneyland Paris. The room was
reasonable until we turned down the sofa bed where a child was to sleep. This was nothing
more than a sheet covering a lot of springs. Child wakened during complaining of how
uncomfortable he was. I suggest hotel manager tries a night on a sofa bed in his hotel.
On arrival we tried to orcer cappucinos but this was beyond staff who told us we could only have
'coffee',what age are we living in!
On the plus side the staff were pleasant,particularly those on reception.
Will definitely not be returning

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June445040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear June445040,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear about your issues with our sofa bed. We take great pride in keeping our amenities at tip top shape to ensure comfort for all our guests and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We all hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our product.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This has to be one of the worst of the Intercontinental groups hotels. Platinum priority club member and not so much as a complimentary bottle of water. No upgrade was offered, well that's OK it might not have been available. Internet charges are nothing short of extortion. Over £10 for a day of internet that was hardly used, I just had to be on e-mail for work. £45 for a week of internet access, it really is about time hotels stopped this racket. Breakfast was just terrible, boiled bacon, some of it quite brown, breakfast finished at 11:00 but they were cleaning stuff away at 10:30.

Pick a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSpeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear MrSpeyk,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the WiFi fee marred your experience, and prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel after reading some of the reviews online. But our experience of the hotel was wonderful. The room was exactly as we asked for, clean, non smoking, two double beds, very comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly at check-in, at breakfast and the concierge.
We had a full English breakfast each morning and it was delicious.
The location of the hotel is great, it is about 15 minutes walk from kings cross, or a short taxi ride, but we travelled mostly on the number 63 bus which takes you to and from kings cross in about 5 minutes for £1.40. The number 63 also takes you to St. Paul's cathedral southbound.
Overall we had a brilliant stay and would recommend it very highly.
We didn't have time to use the spa but it looked wonderful.
We would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our party had a room on the second and eighth floor, both were lovely but the eighth floor room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieWeeLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked this hotel for 4 nights Sat 12/4 to Tues 16/4 2 seniors 1 adult 2 kids thought we had 2 x 2 dbl bed rooms on a low floor but these had not been allocated on arrival even though I am a gold ambassador with ihg - very very disappointing that poor effort had been put in to prioritise my booking & allocate request. Eventually given I dbl & 1 sdl on 1st floor but not adjoining.
Everything appeared to be too much trouble for the staff who's attitude needs a makeover regarding "meeting the customers expectations!"
Kids eat free claim a lie as not available in the Indian restaurant which turned out very expensive even though food was good!
Having to pay to use the pool very very annoying as its so small & facilities poor!
Compared to our stay in the Holliday Inn Bloomsbury the Holiday Inn Kings Cross proved a disappointment with a tired decor,surly staff & poor location - need to run a shuttle service to Kings Criss Station to help clients

Room Tip: Could not advise but executive floor apparently is adequatev
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear daipop,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the level of service from our staff, room allocations and if our location was less than satisfactory. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your valuable comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Having checked the location beforehand it became clear that it is not within walking distance of Kings Cross or St Pancras if you have heavy suitcases. Something the hotel staff appear to be in denial about given that the next morning they suggested to me that Kings Cross was only "2 minutes walk"!

My room was on the Executive floor and was spacious and nicely furnished but felt a bit tired. There was an empty minibar which was very frustrating as they had finished room service for the night and so I was limited to the OJ and mineral water left on the hospitality tray.

There was evidence of limescale build-up on the shower head and taps on the bathroom. The rest of it seemed clean enough.

I was kept awake most of the night by a very loud humming noise. I turned off the aircon but it was not the source of the noise so I had to suffer it.

The bar had all the ambience of a dentists waiting room and the wines we tried (pinot grigio and chardonnay) were over priced and of very poor quality. A colleague had eaten in the restaurant and said the food was really disappointing.

The hotel is ok for a quick overnight stop, but I would say it is due for a refurb and the bar really needs to be upgraded with a better quality selection of drinks.

Room Tip: All other colleagues also had the same problem with a humming noise on the executive floor (floor 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sirbalkansobranie,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received. It is regrettable that we fellow below your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the location of our hotel and our bar was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing