We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #458 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location fine, only 15 min walk from kings cross station. Breakfast below average. Continental had the toast already done so stone cold. Accommodation was adequate, we had a family room and boys were on sofa bed which was fine for them but definitely the smallest family room we've been in. My main gripe about this hotel was having to pay to use the pool. First time i have ever stayed in hotel and paid for the pool! Personally we'll pay a bit more next time and avoid the holiday inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry7725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kerry7725,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    1,128
    701
    242
    117
See reviews for
968
534
96
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This is just your average, boring ol' hotel room. The closest tube station is 10-15 minutes away. Worked out fine- at the end of a long sight seeing day the kids thought the walk was a bit too long. Taxis always available outside the hotel, if needed. Highly recommend the little cafe, Bisou, between hotel and tube if you want a really yummy breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mydnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Good value if you take up their free kids offer. Rooms small but clean, and nice shower. Friendly reception, reasonable if basic buffet breakfast. Nice pool and sauna in the basement, though the jacuzzi was broken when we stayed. Good central location and close to Kings Cross rail station, though no tube station very close. Overall a decent place to stay though by no means outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Psallidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Stephen_Psallidas,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our property. I am happy to read you found our staff and hotel location commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered due to the condition of the jacuzzi and property. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate department where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you for taking your time to inform us with this information. We hope to have the chance to serve you better again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

All the reviews I read said to be prepared to walk a ways from King's Cross Station. Really if you take bus #63 it is just 5 minutes a way and a lot easier if you have luggage! It was freezing outside during our stay so us Floridians loved the warmth of the hotel. The Lobby and room were very inviting and the staff was extremely helpful. We were recognized as Priority Club Members and upgraded to a 2 double room bed upon check in. This was a great perk as my two girls had more room to sleep. The only cons were the extra cost were way too high. The internet access and food price are quite UNreasonable and who charges for use of the pool and fitness room??? We were put off by this so we didn't use any of those items (except the food). I guess that's just because all the hotels where we are from offer all of those amenities for free. These weren't deal killers though as the rest of the hotel was AMAZING! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilmay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions due to its proximity to Kings Cross railway station and its excellent restaurant but my plans went a little wrong when I checked in on a Sunday afternoon. Check in was quick and I was upgraded to a very pleasant room on the eighth floor at the end of a long corridor. The room was very comfortable and I was soon having a nap before heading downstairs in anticipation of a nice spicy curry but I was disappointed to find Rasi in darkness. I went to the lobby restaurant that was seriously undermanned and was able to order a pint of lager and decided to try the haddock and prawn fishcake with a spicy salsa and the salmon with king prawns which I was assured were head on but shelled but turned out to be unshelled. The salsa was excellent, very spicy and the king prawns whilst fiddly were well cooked as was the salmon. Breakfast however, can only be described as dismal. The so called toaster producing only warm bread, the eggs bullet hard and the sausages baked beyond redemption, the coffee best described as tasteless brown water. Check out was prompt and I was soon on my way. Why do hotels assume that a sub-standard breakfast is acceptable, surely the General Managers check these things out from the customers viewpoint? Or are their standards so low too?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magickpyggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions for business. The hotel is a bit tired in places and always busy. I was upgraded as a points holder to a nice spacious room and everything was clean. The downside is the breakfast is just about ok. The staff were excellent and the check in and out very efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phelpsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Phelpsies,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our breakfast. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have stayed here a copule of times whilst in London at a function and it answers the need of a bed and breakfast in nice surroundings. It does everything very well though would not put excellent.
The checkin staff were pleasant and efficient. It was a sixth floor room with a view and very acceptable. Rooms clean well furnished and all one would expect from a well run Holiday Inn.
Breakfast good, though not uncommon these days a little more attention would have been appreciated.
Have stayed in Holiday Inns for many years and know it will be a good experience. However the difference between very good and excellent is the style of management - the sparkle, the pizzazz.
However a good example of a Holiday Inn and would stay again.

Room Tip: My personal view - higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mussons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing