We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay for Long”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #422 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Spent ten nights in a row. Needed a place close to the tube station Russel Sqaure, first choice was Holiday Inn Coram Street but King Cross provided cheaper rate and also within walking distance. Nice and friendly hotel staffs, eager to assist all the time. Room was pretty big though, nice, well managed and arranged properly. Bathroom well maintained too with bathtub. But the tap looked pretty old and little rusty in condition if looked closely. Comfortable stay overall. Breakfast system was interesting, continental and english category which I guess is available in all over london. Good breakfast menu "Continental", limited options but worth to go for. Hotel is associated to a restaurant, so easy to manage somehow. Location is perfect and within the reach of all major station and bus stop. One of the major drawback which I observe is the Paid Wifi which is really expensive even if it is for an hour. This is the only factor which I will consider not to go for it again in future stay. Other hotels within the vicinity provide internet free of cost. Staying for a long time costed me fifty pound for the wifi which I think was a useless expenditure but it was necessary for me to have the connectivity. Overall, hotel without the internet issue is just fantastic with all available amenities and a nice place to stay for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imransiddiqui82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,021)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just arrived home after a one night stay at this hotel. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and buses etc. Room was very clean, very comfortable beds and bathroom was very clean. Would not hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: a very short walk to Kings Cross train station approx 10 to 15 mins.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymum178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I recently booked this hotel through last minute.com secret hotels. As many of you well travelled and internet savvy people will know, secret hotels are not really that secret. A quick google revealed this to be the Holiday Inn in Kings Cross.

Before booking I called to ask if kids can use the spa area as my two have always wanted to know what they are like. I was delighted to hear they could, so I booked as we were visiting London already that day. The hotel is quite a walk from Kings Cross station and in the early dark nights of the winter I was unsure where to go. The local area is a little drab and unappealing.

We arrived at the grand looking hotel reception and checked in fine without any problems. The room however was very dissapointing. It was small, with damaged furniture, dirt in the bath and we even found a pair of boys pants under our bed! We requested firm pillows from reception and 2hrs later they were still not with us. We called again and they were duly delivered.

The next day, before we headed out we went to the ozone health club. This was nice but cost £10 for the family (this should eb included) and the jacuzzi only had 1 working jet! The kids could not use the sauna and the pool was very small. In fact I think it took me 6 strokes from one end to the other.

Even though it was an acceptable £93 for the night, I know I could have got much better quality in London for that price. Will I return? No. Would I recommend? Only if everywhere else is full.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB3LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear BB3LL,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I apologize that you had some items that are not working in the room. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed overnight on 26th January.We had twin double bed room on 4th floor.The room had fridge,tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer, air con and a nice bathroom with ample body and hair gels and soaps and ample towels in good condition.
We went for a swim and steam which cost £3.50, not a huge pool but we enjoyed it.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately we did not eat at the hotel as there are lots of restaurants just up the road at Exmouth Market and we chose to eat at the Thai Restaurant but not a good choice for us, we did not enjoy it.
After a comfortable night we walked up to the Cafe Maya which is just up the road on the corner.
It was very clean and friendly and the breakfast was lovely, a good start to the day.
I would stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Average rating given but borderline very good. If you've stayed at Holiday Inns before you'll know what to expect and this one doesn't disappoint.

Usual rooms, I booked a standard double but was given a large room with 2 double beds, which although nice in that the room was spacious 2 double beds for just me was a bit of a waste, I resisted the temptation to use one as a trampoline!

I didn't eat there on this occasion but from previous experience I can recommend the in-house Indian restaurant, to either eat in or as room service. There's also plenty of really good places to eat very nearby at Exmouth Market.

For those not familiar with London don't be fooled by the hotel name, it's about a 15-20 min walk from Kings Cross station and the nearest underground station.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel with lots of rooms but ask for an upgrade, especially if arriving late.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the amenities of the hotel. I apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Good bits - the pool, the breakfast, the staff in the Indian restuarant.
Bad bits - flies/midgies by the pool, very expensive wifi, sofa-bed for children too small, horrible woollen blankets, stuffy hot room - unable to open windows, cold bar area, very rude member of staff in the bar - got an order wrong then huffed and puffed when asked to change it, then slammed the order down on the glass table in front of my children - was also seen pinching chips off other customers plates.
Seems the bad points outnumber the good points, i wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear MissyST,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you liked our pool and our breakfast exceeded your expectations. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideal hotel for short visit to London.Took my daughter and grandchildren,aged 11, 15. For a theatre and shopping spree. Hotel staff extremely friendly and informative. Leisure centre a bonus,small and welcoming. We had lite bite in the hotel on two occasions,good food.Breakfast was also ,well presented and plentiful.Lady in charge restaurant extremely helpfully and pleasant,nothing was too much trouble for her. On morning of departure luggage was left in hotel luggage room till late afternoon,enabling us to sight see ,having checked out of hotel room. I would reccomend this hotel for its cleanliness, friendly staff and food at an acceptable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,073 in London
1,759 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#131 of 1,073 in London
2,506 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#587 of 1,073 in London
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $133 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing