We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exerlent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #465 of 1,089 Hotels in London
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Exerlent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a weekend in London short walk from kingscross or taxi was less than a fiver
Rooms were spotless everything you need lovely and warm tv kettle coffee tea toiletries .
English breakfast was perfect when we went a 9am saw the q at 9.45 glad we went early
Staff were polite and very helpful
Really enjoyed our stay .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliedawnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    1,113
    689
    238
    117
See reviews for
942
522
96
560
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn brand is predictable. English hotels are also predictable. This does not fail in that regard.
Slighlty shabby and in need of some paint touch up and a "freshening up" of the rooms. Bathroom with the usual yet avoidable black mould inthe grouting and high prices for everything including the wifi. My biggest complaint is the
outrageous £245 a night for what is a very average middle of the road hotel. Extremely bad value. Luxury prices and not even a mint on the pillow. For that money there is better value elsewhere in London.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lymphada,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with the condition of the room and the price that you have paid. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked 21 days in advance and so got a cheaper rate - stayed in an executive room-which was luxurious and very comfortable- great views across London, could see the Gerkin and St Pauls. " small bottles of wine brought to room-which was an unexpected lovely welcome treat.
Breakfast was really nice but luckily we went early-it was the weekend and it got very busy later with people having to queue, no pots of tea, just hot water flasks on the buffet and you made your own in the cup- but staff really nice and helpful
Enjoyed the leisure facitlities- my only moan- Had to pay £3.50 each-I felt as a resident it should be free.
Bus stop straight outside and underground near by so perfect for base to see London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alilittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a very good weekend at this hotel and simply dont understand the critics. The staff were very friendly and helpful with checking us in early, sightseeing questions etc. The hotel is located in the centre of 3 underground stations, so handy when going different places. Yes, the hotel is places about 10-15 minutes walk away from those stations, but it is really not a problem and our children had no problems walking the distances even after a long day. We had taken the continental breakfast and it was more than enough for us. I took tea as I know from experience not to drink coffee in UK except for coffee bars. There were plenty of cereal, toast, croissants (my son loved them and said that they are just as good as those in Belgium where we live), juice etc. The room was fine, though the airco a little noisy, but we turned it down. Overall a very good stay and would return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was comfortable and clean, bit pricy for what you get, and you have to pay for wifi, which I really don't think is appropriate for a hotel that caters for the business user. It's a bit impersonal but I suppose you expect that from a hotel that probably caters for the the short stay business user rather than the longer term holiday maker.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I landed in this hotel via a hidden deal on Travelocity.com. They said it was a 4-star hotel in Paddington / Islington at 55% off. I was very optimistic, even when I found that it was a Holiday Inn. Holiday Inns typically aren't 4-star accomodations, and well, neither was this one.

It's new-ish, it's clean enough (although there was a splotch of yogurt or something on my TV all four days I was there), but so are many 3-star hotels. For what you get here, it's incredibly over-priced. The nightly rate posted in the lobby in November 2012 was 280 British Pounds Sterling. That comes out to $445 per night for a hotel that:

--Charges $17.35 per day (10.95 pounds) for internet access. What 4-star charges for internet access?

--Has three elevators for at least 300 rooms and 8 floors. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, the wait for an elevator exceeded 10 minutes.

--Is utterly and completely devoid of charm. You could convince yourself you were at an airport hotel in the US - there is absolutely nothing to tell you you're in London.

--Charges $22 (13.90 pounds) for a buffet breakfast - the same breakfast you can get for 5 pounds in any pub in London. I didn't have it (because I'm not lazy enough not to walk two blocks to a pub), so I can't tell you if it's mind-blowing and awesome, which it should be for that price. I'm rating breakfast "terrible" because what family of four could afford it?

--Has the least-attractive lobby bar of any hotel I've been in for 10+ years. It has the charm of a basement storage room.

--Has thin, worn-out towels. I had to use two after a shower. Luckily, I was traveling alone.

--Has no safe in the room. No safe! What 4-star doesn't have a safe?

--Has no ATM. They will send you two blocks away to a post office ATM.

This hotel is a brisk 10-15 minute walk to King's Cross Station. There is a bus (the 63) that will take you there in 10 minutes, but it's a wash between waiting for the bus and just walking it (I did both). There's nothing around it that is worth seeing (unless you like huge construction sites and big post office parking lots).

This is no 4-star hotel. I feel like they gave themselves four stars so they could charge more. It's a 3-star at best, and a very expensive one. I'm not cheap, and I like staying in nicer hotels, so I'm not just sore over the price (remember, I got this on a reduced deal). But if I had stayed there at full price, I would have been very disappointed and annoyed indeed at the lack of charm and amenities.

Room Tip: This hotel allows smoking. The smoking rooms smell pretty awful. Make sure you ask for non-smoking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Coggiola, Italia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I expected more, since the price is very high. The hotel is located at the end of Kings Cross Road, 15 minutes from the underground.
Nice hotel, of course, very professional staff, very nice room with 2 huge beds (we were 2 friends so we booked a twin room), very confortable bedlinen and 4 pillows 2 firm and 2 soft for each bed!!! tv, tea, coffee, mini fridge, table and 2 armchairs. But this is what you expect from this kind of hotel.
what's wrong? I found some hair in the bathroom and this has not to happen in a 4 stars hotel!!!
Breakfast not included in the vety high price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elybrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing