We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum Ambassador - 150+ Nights a year - Poor for a CP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing
Ranked #268 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have already placed a review on the official IHG Site, so thought I would share it on Trip Advisor.
This hotel falls well short of its Crowne Plaza rating, it was once an Holiday Inn and some sat navs still show it as an Holiday Inn.
I staye here a lot in 2011 and returned in September 2012 for a two night stay.
I stay 4 nights a week in London for work. All in IHG Properties.

Good Points : I aways give hones reviews.
Decor, clean areas - modern areas. 2 mins from Hanger Lane on Central Line.

Bad Points :
Room allocation - Placed in an access room, with sink by my knees. Great for someone who requires the room nd excellent but not for someone who does not, it cause more problems.
Room not cleaned properly. Sleep System still on the bed cover and pillows.
Check-in : They love coach tours!! I think that is primarilly what they have moved to. If you get caught behind one then even royal ambassader you have no chance of getting to the Priority Club Desk.
Bar Area : I tried to watch the tennis one evening, but a group of so called gentlemen were sitting swaring, rude language, sexual suggestions for about half an hour. I could hea them 4 tables way.
Management responce : Room - Sorry nothing else so that's it. The night manager came to the room on the second night and said yesyou are correct and cange the beding herself. She said she would be speaking to housekeeping, so they never changed it for two days before she did. Customers - They have freedom of speech and can say what they want. So its ok to do that in the CP London Ealing Bar.. Duty Manager who I raised these with was not in any way helpful.

Yes I have raised with hotel the above. IHG Responce it is an internal matter they will resolve. Management responce from London Ealing - ZERO nothing!!!

For the price and location - With another 8 CP's to choose from and loads of HI's - I would recommed you choose another..

Room Tip: Try ad Excutive or a least get the type you booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz_edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear reviewer, I am extremely disappointed to note the negativety of your feedback following your stay with us. I acknowledge that personally, you may not be overly happy getting an accessible bedroom; but the hotel's accessible bedrooms are very tastefully designed to ensure that they are suitable for all guests to use.
I do note your comments on the check-in, housekeeping and the atmosphere in the bar; I wish to finish by apologising that the hotel did not meet your expectations, had we been in a position to offer an upgrade perhaps your stay would have been percieved in a more positive manner.
I do hope that the great majority of other reviews on this site and the official IHG one will show that this is not typical of the Crowne Plaza London Ealing.
Yours sincerely
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 941 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We travelled here as a family spending a weekend enjoying the sights in London. We were greeted with a warm welcome and friendly staff that couldnt do enough to make our stay pleasant. We had a club room which was spacious and clean, we also had the advantage of complimentary drinks and snacks.

Breakfast the next day was lovely and again staff were on hand to cook us breakfast items from fresh. The location was right next to hanger lane tube and within 20 minutes we were in central London!

Thanks Crowne Plaza for making us so welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumridgefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to add your very positive feedback.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After a terrible experience at the Crowne Plaza in Nottingham, I was dismayed when I found I'd booked another in the chain via Expedia's mystery hotel. How wrong I was!

Splendid location opposite Hanger Lane tube station. Huge room that was quiet despite the location. Great staff, great gym, Really clean. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMsMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you for adding your feedback. I am very pleased to note that we have restored some faith in the brand.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location for wembley arena, the number 83 bus just round the corner costs just £2.30 each way -get off at lakeside way and cross the road. The staff were friendly, room clean, beds very comfortable and had everything you need including a bath as well as shower. The only grumble I would say was the breakfast was expensive at £17.50 considering it was buffet style and you had to ask for fried eggs as it was only scrambled on buffet, however they had a great selection including cereal, croissants, fruit etc. I would definitely stay here again it was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to add very positive feedback following your stay with us. I note your comment on the eggs and with the exception of scrambled, we cook them to order to ensure all our guests get them as fresh as possible.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights near the end of October, we had booked a twin room but when we checked in we were told that they could only offer us a double, we were never told in advance that this could be a possibility. Thankfully we were moved to a twin room on the second night. Overall the rooms are very nice, a good size and very comfortable beds. It was very convenient for a trip to Wembley and was right across from the the Hangar Lane stop so it was easy to find but its a bit far from the city centre if you are planning on using it for a base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you for adding your feedback. I note your comment about the room type and have checked that your reservation was for a non-descript room. This can be either a twin or double dependant on the hotels availability. I was pleased to read that the staff arranged for you to move to your preferred room type when one was available.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked this for my husband & son to share a twin overnight. It was easy to find. Pleasant, friendly reception staff & maids. Good clean, above average rooms. Comfortable, quiet bedrooms. Bus route right outside for Wembley (American football Sun 28.10). They had a good homemade burger each at £11.50 they complained to me about the cost of a pint (well we are from Yorkshire) and their lunch took quite sometime to arrive although the bistro was quiet. (Will add another review about the lack of a decent pint around Wembley itself.) They both would use this hotel again if they needed to return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you for adding your positive feedback, I am very pleased with your review title. I do acknowledge your comments on the liquor prices and the time taken for the food order.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I last stayed here in June and posted a review and was pleased to see the GM respond.

I stayed for one night again in October.

Check-in was fast and efficient again, as usual. Only minor niggle was they would not let me into the room until 1400, as the hotel was 'full'. It did not seem full and the breakfast room was anything but full the next morning, so I took this to be more about a little bureaucratic 'the computer says so' attitude. However, that was fine for me.

The reception did a great job of taking my luggage off me and looking after it for me until I returned later that evening.

When I got into the room, it was similar to other rooms in the hotel I have had in the past. Fairly roomy and with all the facilities I would expect. Again, the old style CRT TV faced me but it worked fine. Also, I faced the same old fashioned shower curtain but it worked ok as well.

Breakfast was similar - adequate but nothing special. Again, the staff do make it special, trying hard to remember you and what you want. I did think the Cappuccino had improved!

Check-out was great. The staff were efficient, offered to get a taxi for me, looked after the luggage and generally made it easy for me to sort myself out.

I did detect some signs of improvement since June and I will happily stay there again.

Hopefully, the slightly bureaucratic 'rules are rules' approach will disappear and the staff will be allowed to execute their obvious service mindset more.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGS1888, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear reviewer, thank you again for adding your balanced feedback and I am pleased to note you feel the hotel is improving. I am particularly pleased to note your comments on the staff. I do hope and expect to have a definitive date for a new TV system by early next year.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza London Park Royal
Park Plaza London Park Royal
#135 of 1,077 in London
391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London - West
Holiday Inn London - West
#261 of 1,077 in London
768 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#281 of 1,077 in London
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fox & Goose Hotel
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#218 of 1,077 in London
1,054 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Park Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing

Address: Western Ave | Hanger Lane, Ealing, London W5 1HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Business Hotel in London
#361 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $95 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish West London hotel with fast access to the city centre, on-site dining and excellent business facilities Crowne Plaza(R) London Ealing hotel is located next to Hanger Lane Tube Station, so you can be in Central London for a meeting or a night out in 25 minutes. We're right beside the A40 too, so you can get to Heathrow Airport (LHR) in half an hour. Bring your colleagues with you and book a room at our quiet, self-contained meeting centre, which can seat up to 80. Digital projectors and wireless microphones help ensure a seamless presentation, and our smart breakout café has drinks and snacks to keep everyone going. WiFi is complimentary, there's ample parking, and our Crowne Plaza Meetings Director helps everything go like clockwork. If you have some time off, you can take in a concert at nearby Wembley Arena. Catch the Tube and Covent Garden theatres, Soho restaurants and Savile Row's designer boutiques are all within a short ride. Stretch your legs in the nature reserve at leafy Richmond Park, only 5 miles away. Our sophisticated West 5 Brasserie and Bar is an ideal place to entertain guests over a grilled sirloin steak, pan-fried sea bass or a Starbucks coffee. Relax with a glass of wine in our colourful contemporary lounge, where you can watch Sky Sports too. Wind down at our free fitness centre, open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London
London Crowne Plaza
Holiday Inn London
Crowne Plaza Hotel London Ealing England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing