We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #133 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Myself, partner and daughter stayed here during Easter 2010. Crowne Plaza is IC Groups upmarket hotel chain, and a clear difference in quality could be seen from the Holiday Inn hotels.

Overall the hotel offered a mostly positive experience. However, compared to the Crowne Plaza in Birmingham, where we have also stayed recently, there were a couple of niggles, firstly the double bed at CP Kensington - if you’re used to a King-size this can be a problem, and the towels were not very big, although plenty were left in the bathroom.

The hotel and room were clean, and the decor throughout was immaculate. There was a heat/AC unit, that worked fine, and a small balcony that looked out over the rear gardens of the hotel. The hospitality tray was reasonable, with two bottles of still water, but in a hotel of this calibre I would have hoped for complimentary edibles. There was a fully-stocked minibar, clock-radio, room service, and flat-screen TV.

The predominantly self-service Breakfast is extraordinarily expensive at almost £17 per adult (children eat free), with tea/coffee and toast brought to table. The hot selection was good and the continental offered ham, cheese and fruit and the Danish pastries/croissants were fresh; as with other Crowne Plazas, there were only 3 cereals on offer. If you seek better value, then as other reviews recommend, Garfunkels across the road are doing 2 hot breakfasts for £10 - and this is with a full waitress service too.

The bar service was excellent with very attentive staff, a glass of house white is £5 - typical hotel price, or you can go to Waitrose across the road and buy a bottle of special-offer Chablis for £8!

I think the main positives about this hotel is firstly the location in Kensington - across the road from Gloucester Rd tube station which is on the Piccadilly line, so making all of London very accessible. Also, the clean, modern decor and last but not least the majority of the staff are smiley, approachable, and helpful.

We were lucky enough to be able to use Priority points for this stay, a usual charge per night would be £200+. This is questionable value, but I daresay that all hotels in the immediate vicinity will be charging similar. Overall, a pleasant stay and I would recommend the hotel, and certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisteriaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    851
    199
    35
    22
See reviews for
933
590
106
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

No doubt business people use this hotel also but during our 3 nights stay it was very busy with tourists, mainly from overseas and who, like us, particularly appreciated its location and the convenience of Gloucester Road tube station, only a few steps away.

Our room, although a little on the small side, was nicely furnished and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was fairly compact, but had everything we needed, including good towels and toiletries. One disadvantage was that our room was on the top (sixth) floor and had a very small high level window which gave no view. On the other hand, being at the top of the building and having a small window, there was little street noise, although on a future stay we would ask for a room on a lower floor.

We did not take dinner in the hotel, as there are so many good restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but we did take breakfast which was absolutely superb. Although buffet style, the hot food was piping hot at all times, and kitchen staff kept a watchful eye so that dishes were replenished as required and nothing ever ran out. The selection and quality of food were first class.

Reception staff were helpful and efficient and the mainly young staff on breakfast duty were particularly friendly and smart.

All told, this is an excellent base for a short stay in London and the hotel's popularity is well deserved.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Nice, modern quiet hotel in a great location only 1 minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station.

Nice, clean modern rooms with lovely bathroom, tea/coffee, free water bottles and a large flat screen TV.
Bar was quiet, clean and was clearly trying to be trendy. It was quite empty when I ate their which suited me.

I have a platinum priority card, I didn't receive my usual upgrade. But the room was still very nice.

I got a good rate of 117 +vat.
All in all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_R_Baron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Myself my husband, 17 year old and 7 year old children stayed for 2 nights on the 18th March in this hotel in a family room. Nice pleasant stay but had a few minor problems. The family room - room 116 was obviously beside the plumbing works as there was a constant noise like clanging pipes which kept me awake a lot. There was only one bedside locker between two double beds so we had to move a table over to my side of the bed as I had nowhere to put anything. There were no drawers in the room only a wardrobe. The bathroom was very small and the toilet and wash hand basin were in front of the shelf and mirror so you had to lean over them to get anything off the shelf. We had a snack one evening in the hotel which came to 70 pound sterling, 10 pound for 2 small plates of chips and 10 pound for two bowls of lettuce! On the plus side the beds were extremely comfortable, the room very clean, nice view of the gardens, and concierge extremely helpful . Free Internet was provided and also free printer which was great to print off boarding passes. Would stay again but in a different room.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cassandramaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed here and that the Crowne Plaza Republique in Paris this March, so have a direct comparison of the value of the two. This hotel is far superior. We chose it so our family of two adults and 2 teens could have a reasonably priced hotel in London and we weren't disappointed. On the plus side: very helpful staff, a minute's walk to the underground, 4 places to get breakfast with a few minutes walk, short walk to Hyde park, surprisingly quiet rooms-- they must have installed special noise blocking windows as we never heard traffic noise though we could see traffic, in room safe, ipod dock, clean bathroom with plenty of towels, free wifi available in lobby. Only downside is this is Europe and there is no room for any type of cot/roll away bed.

If you stay: walk down street towards Hyde Park for 2 great pastry/scone shops for a take away breakfast (about 5 minutes walk). Also, if you haven't bought tickets on line in advance you can buy tickets from the concierge for major attractions (london eye, tower of london etc) for the same price as you would purchase them at the attraction and avoid the ticket line. A HUGE win for the London Eye--- no line at the Eye itself only line was to purchase tickets which we avoided.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visitall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

The purpose of our trip was to visit the Natural History Museum, which was a very short walk away. The hotel is a £15 taxi ride away from Waterloo but you get a sightseeing tour on the way: Buckingham Palace, Harrods, etc....which was exciting for our guests. The tube is cheaper but we had two young children in tow. We arrived at the hotel much earlier than our check in time with a view to leaving our luggage but rooms were available so we were able to check in there and then. The Reception staff were very efficient and friendly. The hotel is light and airy and very clean. The rooms are excellent; modern, comfortable and again very clean. The beds were very comfortable and my husband loved the large, flat screen tv!!! The air conditioning is noisy and had to turn it off during the night. It’s a shame you can’t open the windows.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby. We did have drinks in the hotel bar but as with most hotels you pay top dollar for a glass of wine, about £7.50 a glass. Breakfast was not included in our room rate and at £15-16 each at the hotel we had to find an alternative..... Across the road is Garfunkels with a full English at £6.50 each. There is also a Waitrose next door. On Sunday morning it was raining but our wonderful concierge lent us umbrellas whilst we did our last bit of sightseeing. All in all a very pleasant experience with no complaints (well, except there were no biscuits in the room to go with my Sunday morning cup of tea!!!!!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionFlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just returned from a week here with my 2 teenaged kids. This hotel is absolutely great and exceeded all of our expectations. The "vibe" is modern, friendly and hip. Rooms are spacious, with wonderful little touches - an electric kettle instead of a standard coffee maker, complimentary bottles of water in the rooms, an in-room safe, an IPOD dock, and a 110-volt outlet that takes American plugs. The toiletries are also of a high quality. There is also free internet access on the 2 lobby computers. The location is also superb, so convenient to the Tube (Gloucester Road stop which you can access directly from Heathrow). Also many shops, restaurants and a supermarket nearby.

Each and every staff member should be commended, from the housekeeping staff to the concierge to the extremely capable front desk staff (a special thanks to Isabella for providing a late check-out !) When you are travelling far from home, you hope everything goes well, and I must say that thanks to the Crowne Plaza Kensington, my kids and I had a fantastic trip. If there was anything slightly negative to say, it might be to point out that there is absolutely no drawer space for clothing. But, at least to us, thistwas a minor thing in the big scheme of things. Thanks again to the CPK for a great time - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rumurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#188 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing