We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #121 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed 24 thru 29 jan for the fourth or fifth time at this property....being off-season got a great price for a change! Was upgraded as an IGH PLATINUM MEMBER to a family room facing the garden...which was nice since my daughter who is studying at Cheltenham joined me for a London break at the weekend.
The hotel is really good in all respects, brisk efficient check-in, decent sized well-appointed rooms with a pretty good bathroom by London standards ( not shoe-box sized and good shower pressure!), great location with various transport options right next to the hotel, a friendly efficient front-desk and concierge service and a really good breakfast buffet which I availed of.
On the negative side, it irks me that I was asked whether I preferred 600 bonus points or a welcome drink and chose the former...the same HAVE NOT YET BEEN CREDITED TO MY IGH POINTS! This was a minor irritant to an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear gammo,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    893
    205
    38
    23
See reviews for
999
633
112
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Very nice staff and excellent room Very polite bar staff on Friday evening who enquired if we desired more drinks before closing the bar Very nice touch Absolutely recommend this hotel as ideally situated opposite Gloucester Road tube station

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ecrouch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear ecrouch9,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in Jan 2014 and this hotel was brilliant. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with our mini-bar that couldn't be repaired so we were moved to a bigger and nicer room. Great customer service. The location is great, opposite the Gloucester Rd Tube station. It was an easy trip to and from Heathrow Airport without having to change lines. There is a supermarket opposite the hotel and a couple of good restaurants/cafes. we chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as it was quite pricey and could easily find many good options across the street. There is a laundromat close by. You can easily walk to Kensington gardens/Hyde park if you like a bit of exercise. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ren209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear ren209,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We chose this hotel based on a recommendation and the location and we were not disappointed. We checked in and went to our room which faced the street. Being concerned about traffic noise, I called the front desk and asked for a courtyard room. The very pleasant woman told us to go to the manager's cocktail party and she would see what she could do. After the party, we were given our courtyard room - a very nice way to begin our stay. The room was very modern, comfortable and quiet with a wonderful bed. We chose to access the Club Lounge which was perfect as they served breakfast and evening cocktails. The staff was very helpful. The room was very clean with excellent maid service. Great access to the Tube and shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear CaliforniaHarmony,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here with family in January 2014 on a visit to London for a theatre show and sightseeing. Couldn't have been better placed being only across the road from Gloucester Place tube station, which is on the Piccadilly Line so just a few stops from the Theatres, Covent Garden etc.
Staff were extremely helpful, check in was smooth, breakfast was great, very fresh and constantly replenished. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, helping to carry the bags down the steps and helping with a relative in a wheelchair.
The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Excellent hotel, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel with a bay offer a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear tiajg,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

London. Overpriced hotels of inferior quality. NOT the case with the Crowne Plaza.
Great value for money with spacious quality bedrooms. Friendly and polite staff.
Bed was ultra comfortable & noise levels in the room were very low.
Even has free wifi!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear al1970,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our second visit in 12 months ... and this time we paid a little bit more for the two-floor family room, and use of the club facilities.

And believe me, if you're travelling with a family, the extra price for the two-floor family room and club facilities is DEFINITELY worth it.

The extra space in the bedroom, with ground-floor lounge area and upstairs bedroom/bathroom was fantastic - enough room for parents to relax and kids to play without being under each other's feet. And the small balcony area was pleasant (albeit would have been more use in the summer!).

The club lounge is perfectly functional, and the complimentary drinks/canapes between 6pm and 8pm were a welcome treat before going out into town for evening dinner.

I think our previous review said we'd probably return ... now we'll definitely return, and will be hunting out the two-floor family room with club membership.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family, try the two-floor family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear igar75,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#144 of 1,068 in London
631 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,068 in London
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing