We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #125 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for weekend to celebrate my brother in laws birthday. Great location a minute away from Gloucester Road station, on the Piccadilly line. Unfortunately the day we arrived we ended up getting a taxi as there was a problem with the underground that day! We had a double bedroom which was spacious The room was nicely decorated, furnished and presented with every thing that we could possibly want. we took a taxi to the theatre as I was wearing car-to door shoes! Very convenient to major sights and Harrods, we also went to Hyde Park 'Winter Wonderland' festivities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear mitchMidlands,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. I'm pleased that we were able to look after you so well during your weekend in London and I hope that your brother-in-law had a special birthday experience. We are indeed located in a very convenient location. Harrods is just twenty minutes walk from our front door and we are also very close to Hyde Park Corner and Winter Wonderland which makes us an ideal choice for a short pre-Christmas break to London.

I hope we can welcome you back in 2014.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    884
    204
    38
    23
See reviews for
983
626
112
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Located in a nice area within easy walking distance to the tube station, Harrods and many other smaller stores, restaurants, and more. Our room was clean and modern with everything we needed. It overlooked a courtyard with an old church and lovely trees. We booked a room with club privileges which was very nice. They served a delicious hot breakfast in the morning and cocktails with appetizers in the evening. Arman, the host in the club, was very personable and provided us with excellent service during our stay. Simone, the concierge, was very helpful. He assisted us in booking tours and answered so many of our questions about London. The staff at the hotel is very service oriented and makes you feel at home. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Shirley C,

Thanks a lot for choosing to stay with us during your time in London! I'm very glad to read that we were able to look after you so well and I have passed your kind comments onto Arman and Simone. We really do try to go out of our way to ensure that all our guests experience memorable and personal service and I'm pleased that we were able to help make your time in London so enjoyable.

I hope we can welcome you back when you return.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Have just returned from an overnight stay at the Crowne Plaza combined a training day with Christmas shopping - what better way to go to London. Hotel ideally located we visited the Winter Wonderland in Hyde park plus trip to Harrods.
Accommodation very nice, modern, comfortable had a twin double executive with complimentary tea and coffee and complimentary toiletries, room was spacious and staff very friendly and professional. very smart.
breakfast was ok, had room service in the evening which was delivered when advised and very good quality - reasonably priced. Will definitely like to go back,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Not-so-Oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Not-so-oldies,

Thanks so much for choosing us for your overnight stay in London. I hope that you enjoyed your time at Winter Wonderland, which so convenient to our hotel.

I'm pleased that you found everything about your stay to in order and that our friendly staff made you feel welcomed. I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from 5 nights stay.
Had a wonderful and serene time.
The hotel is well located a minute away from Glousecter Road station, on the Piccadilly line. Very convenient to theatre and major sights.
We had a deluxe double beds spacious room. Nice bathroom, though water pressure was low. Had a kettle and coffee and tea products replenished daily.
Breakfast was tasty with nice selection.
The price was right on a week, the hotel prices in London were outrageous.
Staff was extremely friendly and kind, and we felt really welcome.
Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Liora,

I am so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience with us. You are right about our location – we are lucky to be so close to Gloucester Road which has trains to all parts of London.

I see that you stayed on the garden side of our hotel. Our unique one-acre garden is delightful in Summer but also very picturesque all year round.

I hope you have had a pleasant onward journey and this message finds you well.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We came to London to visit the museums and Hyde Park 'Winter Wonderland' festivities. The room was nicely decorated, furnished and presented with every thing that we could possibly want. The only draw back was that it was extremely hot however we compensated that with the AC - although it was a little loud.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the breakfast was great and the bar snacks very nice. All good no complaints and we would definitely stay there again as the proximity to the museums, tube station and Harrods was fannnnnnnnntastic !! Plus the price was incredibly competitive and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed November 22-24th

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Jacquie O,

Thanks a lot for your lovely review of your stay with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a lovely time in London and that we were able to look after you so well. Our breakfast menu has recently been completely refreshed and we now offer a wide range of choices to ensure that all our guests have the perfect start to their day.

All the best for the festive season!

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Our twin double bedded room was very comfortable. We stayed for my Mum's birthday and the hotel were kind enough to provide complimentary wine and chocolates, plus a birthday card. Very much appreciated. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel so can't comment on the other facilities, but everything looked welcoming. The nearest tube station is 1 minute away, but if you fancy a bit of exercise, Harrods and Oxford Street are within walking distance

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Lynn W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that we were able to help make your Mum’s birthday so special. We always aim to help people celebrate their special occasions in style.

I hope we can welcome you back when you are next in London.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We checked in early, but as the rooms were not ready decided to have a wander around London and then see a show. Arriving back at the hotel we were given our room key and proceeded to our room. Having booked a deluxe two double bedroom we were surprised to find a standard double. As it was late we chose not to talk to reception as we were only there for the one night. We ate in the bar. I ordered Caesar salad and my husband had a pasta dish with butternut squash in it. The food was lovely and the service was very good.

During the early hours the constant banging of the door from the housekeeping storage room was non stop. On check out our bill was wrong and we advised the receptionist that our room was not as we had requested. She apologised and said they were full the previous night, however if we had been advised on check in that we had not got the room we booked it wouldn't have been much of a problem, but nothing was said on check in.

Overall nice hotel and very close to the tube, however the directions on the website direct you to another tube that is not as close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Kim1807,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in our hotel bar. Next time you are with us, why not try Umami – our in-house restaurant that offers fine South-East Asian Cuisine.

Please accept my apologies that you did not receive the room you booked. This should not happen and I have mentioned it to our Front Office Manager to review with her team.

I hope we see you again when you are next in London.

Kind regards,

Simon Wood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,067 in London
605 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,067 in London
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing