We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #119 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Went there on business trip and was surprised about the location. Can't get any better. Checkin took ages due to understaffed personnel, breakfast is not even worth considering as it is that bad.
Luckily got upgraded, room is ok and had a small kitchen. Very nice and a track is nearby.
On checkout same problem, took 40 min due to one receptionist only. Manager saw the cue but went into his office instead of helping out. Not impressed with such attitude...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank HB-Edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear HB-Edge,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the hotel and service. We would look into issue regarding check in/ check out experience. Personally I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
Breakfast was very busy during a half term and European holidays but we took all the comments very seriously and learn from the mistakes occurred.
Our hotel is located in heart of the Kensington area with easy access to public transport.
We hope to see you in our hotel in the future and promise that the same situation will not happen again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights to visit some museums with the young kids. only 5 minutes walk to the natural history museum even with my 5 and 6 year old. very impressed overall with the hotel, nice breakfast and very attentive staff. hotel opposite waitrose and garfunkells , where we ate most nights. my wife is quite jittery when visiting large cities, but she said she felt safe in this particular area of London. agood time was had by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibnib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear skibnib,

Thank you for you feedback. We are really glad that your stay was great.
I will pass the compliments about our staff to the management.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This place is a pretty good value. Roomy, excellent location. Staff extremely helpful, public transportation a few steps away, can walk to Harrods, museums, shops. Our room was large and had an extremely large bathroom....especially after staying in the Paris hotels. This is a very quiet, safe neighborhood. REstaurants are close. The restaurant in the hotel is a bit pricey but there are enough places really close to get a good, reasonable breakfast in the morning...I avoided the hotels buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back, nice view, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Joanie1014,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We are really glad that your stay was wonderful.
The hotel is located in Kensington area with easy access to public transport.

We are looking forward to see you in the future

~Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After a long 24 hour flight all the way from Australia, the friendly reception desk took care of all our needs and checked us into our room. We were excitedly upgraded to the Club Lounge for breakfast in the morning and canapés in the evening. Being so exhausted after the long haul flight, our main priority was the room. The clean and nicely furnished room was a double story loft with two queen beds and a large bathroom. The free Wi-Fi was also a plus, allowing us to keep in touch with friends back in Australia. The location was perfect as it was nice and quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of central London. The hotel organised a transfer for us from the hotel to Heathrow Airport which was on time and very convenient. There are many restaurants only a short stroll away from the hotel and we were given some great recommendations from Tony at the Concierge, who was very very helpful. Two doors down from the hotel is a small post office where you can buy souvenirs and organise tours. Overall this hotel is a must for families and is in a convenient and safe location that you will not regret staying at.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with a garden view as it is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterinaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Soccergirl97,

Thank you very much for your feedback about the hotel/ staff members. We are happy that your stay was enjoyable and from the moment of early check in to service of concierge team. Tony the Head Concierge is always there to assist with any bookings/ recommendation.
We will pass the nice feedback to Tony.
We look forward to see you next time.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Perfect hotel in the perfect location.

My stay was flawless. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very quiet.

I slept better here, than I do at home.

With the tube station across the road London and all it's attractions are on your doorstep. The tour buses stop here too.

There are many cafe's, pubs and restaurants in close proximity. There is Waitrose, Sainsburys and a Tesco Express right there too.

Natural History Museum is a 5 minute walk.

I have found my "go to" place for my annual London fix!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the rear courtyard. Backs onto a church. Sooo quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duanenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear duanenada,

Thank you very much for your review. We are really glad that your stay in our hotel was great and you had great night sleep.
We will pass the comment regarding our staff to the managements.
Our hotel is located in heart of Kensington area with walking distance to museums/ Royal Albert Hall/ Harrods and Knightbridge area.

We are looking forward to see you again in the future.
King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First, the location is great - just across from Gloucester Road tube station and a stone's throw away from cafes and a supermarket. We didn't walk to the museums from here but think it would have taken 10-15 minutes. The room we had was clean and though on the small side (not unusual for London), it was modern and well equipped. Free wifi in the room was great, something we took for granted until we checked in at another hotel in London a week later on return from Cornwall! We stayed on the top floor so noise was not an issue. The only annoyance was that the shower was not very powerful.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumblebee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear bumblebee111,

Thank you for you feedback. We are glad that you have a nice time in our hotel.
The hotel is located in Kensington area, close distance to museums, shopping area, Harrods with easy access to public transport.
In our hotel wifi is complimentary for all our guests in bedrooms and public areas.
We will look into issue regarding water pressure in the shower.

We look forward to see you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had nothing but a great experience at this hotel. First, it is located near all kinds of sites, restaurants and transportation. The service was above board. After a late check in we discovered the next day that the bathroom was very hazardous for my 81 year old mother to navigate. I went to the desk and asked if they had an alternative and the manager moved us to a room that was more suitable for my elderly mum. (thankfully it wasn't booked by another special needs individual). They didn't even blink when I made the request and cheerfully helped us out.
The concierge crew that I had dealings with Simone, Tony and Raj were the nicest and most helpful guys you would want to meet. The hotel restaurant was delish! We dined there several nights and the staff there was very nice and friendly. I love it when I can write a review like this one. Well done Crowne Plaza Kensington!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candisse r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon W, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Candisse r,


Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are really glad that your stay was wonderful and we met your special requests expectation.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff members. They will be delighted to read this, and I have also passed on your comments to the concierge and F&D departments.

I hope we can welcome you back on your return to London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,077 in London
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,077 in London
811 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,004 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $179 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing