We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location but odd bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #137 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but odd bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Location, location, location! Situated across from Gloucester road underground (train runs from Heathrow airport to this station)  & Waitrose (grocery store). Lots of nearby places to eat.

For the hotel part, The bathroom is very odd. There is only half a glass door covering the bath tub so when you shower, water splashes everywhere onto the floor & toilet & toilet paper gets wet too. I have to clean the floors after each shower so no one slips & fall. I'm on vacation, not cleaning duties. 

The sink pertrudes so far out that as a female trying to apply makeup, you can't see the mirror clearly.

Hotel Staff was very friendly & helpful.

Wouldn't stay here again. The bathroom bothered me. Lots of other hotels nearby. Water pressure was low too eventhough we were on the higher floor. Took a long time to wash my long hair. After running the water for so long, the temperature starts to get hot & cold, hot & cold.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteldivaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear hoteldivaDallas,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Let me take this opportunity to offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating the memorable stay you for you. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    869
    201
    36
    22
See reviews for
953
601
109
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for weekend with Hubby and Grandaughter.
From the moment we walked through the doors on arrival we were happy with our choice of Hotel.
Staff are very polite and helpful in everyway.
Breakfast was lovely a really good choice from cereals and fruit to a full cooked English breakfast.

Evening meal is our only gripe was a bit of a let down as we had booked bed breakfast and evening dinner, Once we were seated we were given the menu, we asked could we order anything from the menu and informed the waitress the package we had paid for, upon doing so she took the menus from us and gave us a different set menu, nothing on this menu was on the first one.
We would of liked to be given the choice to order from the first menu and maybe paid the extra.
I feel once we done this the waitress was not as attentive as she had first been.

I would like to thank Chandril for organising a birthday cake as it was our Grandaughters 10th birthday.
This was a surprise for her and would of like to have been informed they were bringing the cake with candles lit so we could of caught all this on the camcorder.

The beds are a dream to sleep in we had a room overlooking the street and slept really well never heard any noise.

The toiletries are a welcome touch in the bathroom, as were the tin of tea coffee biscuits etc with their compliments.

Our room had 2 double beds and a great plasma tv including radio ipod dock.

The garden is so peaceful and relaxing for an afternoon coffee.

All in all we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend to anybody.

Room service is great, but don't forget you pay about £4 on top for this service.

Our trip next weekend is to another Crowne Plaza Hotel.

Think that says it all.

Room Tip: Higher the floor less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our-Biddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My mother and twelve year old daughter and I stayed at the Crown Plaza Kensington two weeks ago for five nights. The rooms were clean, updated and very nice. They offer a full breakfast each morning with options such as eggs, various types or breads and pastries, cheeses, sliced meats, porridge, fruit, etc. The concierges went out of their way to make sure that we knew where we were going and to choose the best options for our trip. The Gloucester Rd. Tube station is directly across the street. It is a three block walk to the Natural History Museum and the Natural History Museum. There is a lovely courtyard out back where you can sit and enjoy a cocktail, while looking at a 900 year old church next door. There are lots of places to eat nearby as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 358elizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

On the occasion of my daughter’s wedding we had a wonderful stay and of course a perfect day. The hotel is ideally situated, friendly and efficient staff, especially with our family brunch the following morning, the F&B manager and her staff bent over backwards to make the occasion very special and dealt majestically with that unpredictable English weather! Thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Less than 5 min walk to circle line Gloucester road station. 10 min walk to Natural Museum (must visit, a modern Science Museum) and 20 min walk to Harrods. We have been to London many times but the hotel we stayed before is either far from the Tube station or far out of the Center. So this time I spent numerous hours reading comments from Tripadvisor to see which Hotel is truly close to a station. You can trust from every hotel's website, they always says they are very convenient to public transp. but turned out not true.
We booked a tour to visit Stonehenge and Bath, the tour came picked us up in the Hotel lobby which is really nice, save us a lot of hassle. We also took the tube to see Phantom and it was only 4 stops. What can I say, Location, location and Location.
The hotel is very modern compares to its classic Old London exterior. The renovation was done very nicely with really high qualify materials. We took some pictures as a model for our own bathroom remodeling when we get back.
We had a room have the London Street View. There was no street noise, instead you can really enjoy watching busy Londoners' daily busy life.
Highly recommended, like I read from other visitors' comments, you will like this hotel just like we did.

Room Tip: We had a room have the London Street View. There was no street noise, instead you can really enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napoli
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

everything was ok! the location was very central, near to the tube station, Gloucester road. the room was bigger than we expected to be. the service was very kind and effective. We had rich and fresh stuff for breakfast every morning, whilst we would spend half an hour sitting at the lounge bar in the afternoons. when the weather is hot and dry, there is a magnificent back garden and the gym is well equipped. London is stunning and this boutique hotel is the best place where to stay during your holiday, better than home.

Room Tip: rooms viewing the back garden are very quiet and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 08marico64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location. two minutes walk to Gloucester road station and five minutes walk to South kensington station. Close to many museums. Great staff.Got theatre tickets,bus tickets and tube tickets from the concierge who was really helpful. Great value for mone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#190 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing