We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break London, England 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #118 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is convenient to the tube, grocery store, restaurant and bus stops everything is across the street. The hotel provides hot or cold breakfast it was included in our hotel deal. The hotel staff were courteous and very helpful it's ok not to tip.The hotel provides transportation to and from the airport with a fee for us it's 80 pounds for 4 people. Free wifi, they have concierge that arrange for a day trip, my kids got a student discount they just showed their ID. I would recommend this hotel and be sure to come back next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Felina 1
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased that you would reccomend this hotel and hope you will be back agin yourselves very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,444)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza London Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Still here- but this is great- right near the tube- very convenient to everything- great area- full grocery/wine and beer store right across street in the arcade. near fast food- good pubs too.
very comfortable rooms tho a bit smal as most of London is apparently- sleeping on a cloud-beds very comfy. Great attentive service. Become a priority club member - awesome!!
Great br, lounge area, an patio/gardfen area in back. Relaxing.

Room Tip: only very good on the rooms cuz they're small by USA standards- and double beds
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Marq2
Thank you for your review, I am glad you are enjoying your stay with us.
Whilst our rooms may not be large by American standards, they are certainly larger than the average size in London hotels. For our largest rooms, on your next visit, please ask for one of our Deluxe rooms - these have a lot of extra space as well as two double beds. Our Club rooms and suites have king size beds which you may also appreciate.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Last week my wife and I were at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington. Landing at Heathrow, the Piccadilly line directly to the hotel. Once coming out of the subway station and turn left, the hotel is across the street.
Station also has the District line, which can reach to several other places like Kew Gardens, and the Circle Line that comes to many key points in the city.
Asian restaurant next to the hotel - hotel customers receive a 25% discount for meals until 19:00.
Hotel breakfast is quite expensive relative to the selection offered. We lacked vegetables like cucumber, onion, pepper, and cheese selection was small. Perhaps this is due to the nature of the British breakfast (-:
On the other side of the road there is a restaurant Garfunkel. We also tried to pit her meal. Cheaper price hotel, but probably being a British breakfast is not suitable for us.
Across the road and adjacent restaurant Garfunkel, there is a supermarket where you can find everything from fruits, vegetables, cheeses, sausages and of course bread and rolls.
There is also the option to purchase prepared sandwiches and light meals.
Near the restaurant "Garfunkel", there is another restaurant - Italian. We ate a lunch, the portions were large, satisfying and not too expensive.
Another building in front of the subway station has a "Starbucks coffee", "Burger King" and patisserie.
The hotel itself is very clean, large room and excellent bed.
There is a shower and bath,
The room has a safe, kettle and materials for making tea or coffee, minibar with customer products space, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Missing little space for clothes, especially those staying for a longer period.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oded H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Oded H
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I'm sorry that the breakfast uffet didn't feature all the items you would have liked. Whilst Cucumber, onions and peppers are not part of our breakfast, we would have nbeen pleased to quickly get these for you if you had asked one of our staff as they re items we always have in the kitchen.
I hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We'd brought the kids to London for a birthday treat so needed a hotel close to the Natural History Museum that was a good price with a room that slept all 4 of us. The hotel reception staff were very helpful when booking, especially when we requested a room overlooking the garden to the rear of the hotel as they are lovely and quiet.

Confortable room with good facilities and enough space for us all to fit in easily without it feeling too crowded. One of the beds was a bit soft, but I guess that's just personal taste.

Breakfast for all 4 of us was included in the price and the food was great with a nice selection of traditional English and continental foods. Buffet style perfect for the kids as they could pick and choose what they wanted. The kids were treated as well as the adults which was good as sometimes hotels can be a bit snotty about kids.

Overall, a great stay. Natural History Museum literally a few minutes walk away and only 5 minutes to South Kensington Tube Station. Boots the Chemist, Waitrose and a few other shops just across the road which is ideal, especially when travelling with kids; we needed calpol!

Would definitely recommend and stay again next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden to the rear of the hotel. Gorgeous views and lovely and peacef...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nickynackynockynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Nickynackynockynoo
Thank you for leaving a review. I am so pleased you and your children enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great breakfast buffet.
I hope you will be back again soon - I'm sure you didn't manage to see everything in all the museums just along the road.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

One night stop over with parents to visit the RAH. Initial impression very good, very contemporary design, clean and interesting. Rooms clean, well maintained and stylish. Very pleasant reception staff and concierge. Unfortunate that only rest rooms in lobby area are downstairs - not a great idea for the mature traveler though. Fabulous 1 acre garden out the back, peaceful and sunny. However, upon returning just after 11pm, and wanting a snack in the bar, together as a party, was told no food after 11pm, twice, and would have to go to our rooms if we wanted the 24 hour room service. A stern and direct conversation with the duty manager solved that problem. Felt very unsettled having to almost have an argument in order to simply eat a snack with my parents at 11.15pm in the bar. This needs to be sorted. The reason they gave was that it would encourage non-residents to want food....hmmmm! I am advised they are reviewing this policy. Room service breakfast was ordered by both of our rooms, really quite dreadful. 7 mistakes on our orders between the two of us, cooked breakfast was cold, bacon was dreadful and fatty, coffee was cold and weak. Would have done better walking 30 yards up the road for a £4.95 breakfast at the roadside cafes - of which there are several which look good as frequented by the locals. My concerns were raised with the reception, I felt they were taken seriously and was offered some compensation if/when I returned. I would really have rather had everything as it should have been on this first visit - first impressions and all that. Might give it another chance if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: room 206 fabulous as you have view over the back garden, ask not to have a room overlooking the main...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Luke 1068
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read of the problems you experienced at breakfast and in our lounge and I offer you my sincere apologies. We have a new Food and Beverage Managerstarting next week and I will ensure that these areas are made a priority for her to review the staff training.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Rooms were large and modern. Free Wi-Fi and Club lounge were welcome additions. Location is excellent as the tube station is across the street. Museums and shopping(Harrods) are with in walking distance. We will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Mark R
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to read that you will definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family stayed here during our 3 day visit in London. The staff at the front desk and concierge desk were very nice and helpful. Our rooms were prepared in advance of our arrival. Hotel was clean and maintained fairly well -- one of our rooms was due for a furniture upgrade per the front desk staff member. Location was great -- a couple minutes walk to Gloucester Road underground (subway); and near many good restaurants; and near Kensington Gardens. We were very pleased with our decision to stay at the Crowne Plaza and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Randy G
Thank you for leaving a review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed planning to refurbish our bedrooms next year.This will include replacing much of the furniture , which is now 4 years old. I hope you will be back agaion soon to see our ongoing improvements to all aspects of the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,759 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,072 in London
677 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $191 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing