We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #133 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relaxed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a great time here from the minute we checked in. Very efficient and welcoming. Room was large and spacious. We were so glad we had paid a bit extra for a club room with access to the club lounge with great range of complimentary drinks and snacks which we took full advantage of!

Location is superb - just opposite Gloucester Road tube on the Picadilly line - so easy access to the West End. The museums are 2 minutes away and Harrods barely a mile away. Room was well sound-proofed from the main road outside. Concierge was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: bay windows mean extra space and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spirite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Spirite.
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed yuour stay and that you approved of our Club rooms with access to our exclusive Club Lounge. I hope you will be back again on your next visit to London.
Best Regards Lawder Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    851
    199
    35
    22
See reviews for
933
590
106
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent location and just across the road from Gloucester Road tube station. There is also a few shops opposite and restaurants which is very handy. We stayed for my husbands birthday celebration and was delighted to be upgraded to a Club room overlooking the garden. Which was nice and quiet as the front of the hotel is directly on the busy Cromwell Road. Staff were very polite and made us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel if possible. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrahagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sandra101london
I am so pleased that you chose our hotel to celebrate your husband's birthday. Our garden facing rooms do have a lovely outlook, but our front facing rooms are just as quiet as they are triple glazed.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arrived on Friday the 8th of February for a weekend birthday celebration with my wife, was given an upgrade to a suite with access to the club lounge.
The staff are all very helpfull and polite and the decor is very modern.
The Hotel is ideally situated with the underground and waitrose across the road with the Museums and Harrods not too far away.
I have stayed in many hotels throught the world and this would be in my top 10 for all round service and friendliness of staff.
A special thankyou to Arman and Fruzsina for all they did making our stay most enjoyable, looking forward to returning again in the near future.
GM you have great team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfieboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Alfieboss
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased to hear that we are in your top 10 list of hotels around the world. I do hope you will be back again very soon.
Best regards Lawder Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent location, just accross the street from Gloucester Subway.. Clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and friendly personell. The only thing I might not have enjoyed were the mattress that were too soft for my size .. Staff promprtly helped me with a harder one.. I would definetely stay there again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djalmabritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear djalmabritto
Thank you for your feedback, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to give you a mattress that suited you. We also have a range of pillows for guests to choose from.
I hope you will be back with us again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice foyer and bar areas with the added bonus of a garden which I'm sure would be lovely to sit in during the summer. Staff efficient and friendly. Booked a club room so had access to the club lounge for complimentary breakfast and snacks and soft drinks. Location of hotel excellent - near tube station in nice area close to central London. Will definately consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Yorkie Rover.
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that, like many other reviewers, you felt able to give us a 5/5 rating. I do hope you will be back again soon and that we will have some warm waether so that you can enjoy our beautiful garden - quite unique for a central London hotel. Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Let's begin with the fact that this hotel is in an excellent location.We talk for an descent 4 star hotel.It has a very good entrance,good rooms (with dated furnitures).The double rooms are not very spacious for a family of four people.We arrived late and they gave us a room in the 5th floor with a bad smell.We told it to the reception but they informed us that there was no other room at the time and we should talk again in the morning."not a good sign",i thought.I was very wrong!!!In the morning a very kind manager(sorry i didn't catch the name of the young lady)did everythng she could to find us another room (without smell and big enough for our family).It was an excellent experience of a proper management(Though our room was already prepaid.This has an extra value.if you know what i mean).After this i only want to mention that the breakfast is not something great but it is enough for the beginning of a day.After all this is an excellent choice concidering the value for money that offers and the excellent service from the staff.The staff really gives extra points to this place.Thank you and hope to see you soon.P.S.Bring adaptors for the plugs because they are not enough and you won't find a way to charge your mobile phone!!!

Room Tip: If you are a family try for a more spacious room.Avoid the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorkyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Dorkyr
Thank you for your feedback, and your kind comments about our staff. We are lucky to have a really great team here , and it is the people that make the difference between a good and a great hotel. For a family, I would recommend booking one of our Deluxe rooms, which are our largest rooms and have 2 double or queen size beds.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in a hotel for 2 nights during the weekend. There was not noises or nights fights outside, as I could experience in different hotels. Nice room with the room bar, which was a bit weird, because if you take something from you will add up the price of that item to your bill. We had to go to reception, as we only wanted to see what drinks are offered, but we did not empty the bar fridge. Staff helpful and kind at all times. Breakfast excellent. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lucyna W
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am so glad you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the quiet rooms - even though the street is not noisy, we do have triple glazing in our front facing rooms to ensure that no traffic noise disturbs your sleep.
With regards the minibars in the bedrooms, they are connected to our front office system so that when a drink is removed from the bar, it automatically charges on the guest account. This ensure that your account is always up to date and allows guests a much swifter check-out .
I do hope you will be back with us again soon,
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#33 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#188 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing