We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Most helpful excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #156 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Most helpful excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with wife and 2 kids. All staff were so attentive from the first minute we walked in. Hotel location was great and hotel itself was really nice.

Reception very friendly. We waited for only a few mins until the concierge actually found someone to come our and serve us. Concierge/reception were excellent. My 9yr old daughter had a headache while we were in the club lounge and when we asked reception if they had any medicine they offered to go out and get some. They returned quickly and then offered hope that she would be better quickly. She soon improved. But the same person also asked how she had been next morning! Nice touch.

Just a really nice hotel made by the staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarinGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Dazza Gee 68
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you found our staff so helpful as it is the staff that makes the difference between a good and a great hotel. I do hope you and your family will be back with us again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    780
    189
    32
    22
See reviews for
854
528
93
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Crowne Plaza is well located and stylish. My husband and I were severely disappointed with the Club Lounge. The bacon was unpallable, it was dried out and curled at the edges. It had been there since first thing in the morning and not replaced due to the Club Lounge's exclusivity, there was not a large turnover of food. We politely asked the male member of staff on duty if it was possible to have an omlette instead and he told us that we would have to pay extra! This is totally unacceptable and we refused on principle.
We then returned at 12.30pm for "lunch time snacks." There was no member of staff in the Club Lounge and no water in the coffee percolator and no source of water for the guests to do this themselves. Two business men arrived shortly after us and they were stunned that there was no coffee available. They then went on a search for a biscuit and the cupboard was bare. The two businessmen were very disgruntled as were we. Another family appeared with rucksacs ready for "lunch time snacks;" they brazenly opened all the drawers and cupboards, something we were too embarrassed to do but they only found some bottles to drink. We thought that there would have been some lunch time snacks at 12.30pm, particularly as breakfast was such a major disappointment. We feel cheated. Our enjoyment of our break was marred by the Club Lounge which was very upsetting. My husband bought a couple of sandwiches in Waitrose instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caelis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Caelis1
I am so sorry to read that our Club Lounge was not properly serviced on the day of your stay with us, this is certainly not our standard.
Our Club Lounge is normally staffed in the mornings and evenings 7 days a week and is checked regularly throughout the day by our restaurant and concierge staff.
Like all Crowne Plaza Club lounges, we offer a complimentary breakfast. We actually offer a limited selection of hot items as well as the standard continental breakfast, and a wider choice is available in our main restaurant.
Please be assured that your experience is not indicative of the normally high standards set at this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated 2 mins walk from Gloucester Road station.

Pros
Excellent customer service
Modern/clean rooms
Complimentary water/kitkat/biscuits
Extended check out till 2pm - no hassle
Soft bed sheets

Cons
No free wifi!? £15 per day

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Kellyjcook
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found so many "Pros's".
Our wi-fi is priced in line with most other London Hotels ( most hotels do charge for wi-fi as the system is a lot more costly to install and maintain than the lower band width domestic wi-fi connections that most of us have in our homes). However, I am pleased to say we are now offering complimentary wi-fi on a trial basis until April.
I do hope you will be back with us again soon to take advantage of this offer.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family of four spent a week in the Crowne Plaza in Kensington (12/28-1/5). We are seasoned travelers and found the hotel to be well-situated in a great neighborhood, directly across the Gloucester Rd tube stop and within walking distance of a number of cafes, restaurants, and shops. It was clean, safe, and comfortable with larger than average (for London) rooms, good beds, and double-glazed windows. The concierge staff was terrific, providing us with good dining and transportation suggestions as well as making reservations for us. The check-in staff made sure that our two rooms were in close proximity. On two occasions, our magnetic keys failed but were quickly replaced. My only serious complaint concerns the wifi. The hotel provides two computers in the lobby which were very slow and usually occupied. When we did buy an hour of access, the signal was too weak to be of use. There are local cafes with wifi, but given most travelers' reliance on the internet it would have been nice to have it in our rooms.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden - beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acornlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear acornlover
I am glad to hear that you found our hotel so clean, comfortable, convenient and spacious.
Whilst we do provide 2 PC's in reception and two in the Club Lounge for guests use, we do also have wi-fi throughout the hotel, including in all bedrooms. During January, February and March, we are offering this wi-fi free of charge.
The service does have a high band width and is regularly checked to ensure the speed is sufficiently fast. I apologise if you were having difficulties accessing the wi-fi, if we had been aware of the issue we could have resolved it.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This convenient hotel only 40 minutes from Heathrow was all we expected from a hotel of this category. It was very clean, the food was good but the quality of the bar and restaurant staff was amongst the best we have ever experienced. They remembered our names and what our preferences were!
The other hotel staff were very helpful efficient and courteous.
How nice to have such a base to enjoy a short visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear William M
I am delighted to hear that our restaurant and bar staff looked after you so well. We are very lucky to have a great team here as it is after all, the service that makes the difference between a good and a great hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you want a hotel near to the museums (Natural History, Science, V&A) then this is ideal. You are in easy walking distance of all of these and Hyde Park, the Albert Hall, the Albert Memorial and many other places of interest and just a little bit further.

The room was very comfortable with a huge bed, a good bathroom with both bath and shower (and lots of nice bathing materials) and all the usual things. Free wifi was very useful but it seemed a bit slow.

We had a "club" room which gave us access to the club lounge. This is really worth paying the extra for. In the lounge you can have breakfast in peace, sit quietly during the day and meet for free drinks and appetisers in the evening. All very civilised!

The food was very good too. The breakfasts were great and really set you up for the day. The "fusion" style restaurant was also good as was the room service.

Staff were friendly and efficient, really very good.

This isn't cheap but in it's price range strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a club room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Covenant
Thank you for your feedback, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In response to other reviewers, we ae now offering free wi-fi to all guests on a trial basis until the end of March.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been coming to Crowne Plaza Kensington for a few years now everytime we visit London (once a year) and this time were very disappointed especially in contrast with our great experience at the CP St james a week earlier than our stay.
The internet is now charged 15GBP/24h and limited to 3 devices !!!! it is cheaper to get a vodafone data plan ! the breakfast is absolutely overpriced at 17GBP for just cereals and orange juice, a total rip off... Room decoration in dire need of a refurbishment.
Service has gone a bit downhill as well with reception not even helping with carrying heavy suitcases down the steps...
Only improvement is the bar area and its food, great lively atmosphere, reasonably priced and good quality open until 11pm or so.
Also, the Priority Reward Club is a difficult thing to get benefits from as all hotels are in fact franchises and cannot help you in case there are any problems... We never received our card the first time and have been missing out on many years of 'loyalty points' and now they cannot find our records anymore and we have to apply again from scratch and they spell my name wrong and still no card in sight.... sigh ... we will think twice before we book here again...

Room Tip: ask for a garden view, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Lauradezil
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. The internet charge has in fact always been in place, although we did install wi-fi throughout the hotel last year - on your previous visits it would have been a hard wired broadband connection in the bedrooms, although still charged for. We do offer Gold and Platinum members of Priority Club complimentary wi-fi as we do to all guests booking a Club room or suite.
Our breakfast is as you say, priced at £17.95 , although vouchers are sold at a discounted price if you buy them at the time of check-in,( and children under 14 eat free so this makes it very good value for families). Our breakfast is a buffet from which you can eat as much as you like from a whole range of hot and cold items, so much more than just orange juice and cereal.
I note that you prefer Crowne Plaza St James, and I appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Crowne Plaza St James is a very good hotel although much more traditional in it's style and decor than our hotel. Our hotel has been recently refurbished in a very contemporary style.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#145 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,282 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#41 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing