We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London Kensington to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Ranked #154 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was visiting London for a long week-end in December
The location is pretty much ideal: on the Picadilly line, 15 min walk from Harrods, hyde parks with a lot of places for breakfastand and diner around - no need to book the breakfast in the hotel... you will find much cheaper 100 yards from the hotel

It was also nice to have a garden at the rear of the hotel: our room was at the back and very quiet and comfortable. My only disappointment was the charges for internet - £15.50 for day! That's why I did not give the 5 stars.

Overall it is a good hotel - except for the paid wifi.

Room Tip: choose a room on the garden side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Frugby 1
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the cost of wi-fi stopped you from giving us a 5/5 rating. Like most London hotels we do charge for our high speed wi-fi at £15 per 24 hours which is comparable to most other hotels. However, unlike most hotels, we give wi-fi free of charge to guests booking Club rooms or suites and also to all our Gold and Platinum Priority Club Members. We also have 2 PC's in the front hall and another 2 in the Club Lounge, which can be used free of charge by any guests (guests find this useful for checking e mails, checking in for flights, printing boarding passes, checking local tourist information etc.).
With regards our breakfast which is priced at £17.95, we do offer breakfast vouchers at a discounted price if bought at the time of check-in to the hotel. Also, remember that our breakfast is a buffet from which you can eat as much as you like, and children under 14 eat free. Whilst there are cafes nearby that offer a lower breakfast price, they charge per item and also charge for children so what seems a great deal may work out more expensive than our all in one price.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    767
    188
    29
    22
See reviews for
842
515
93
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great hotel, and room was spacious for our family of four that included two teenagers! From our research it appeared that most hotel rooms in London would be small and cramped for four adult-sized people but our room at the Crowne Plaza Kensington had two queen beds, a spacious bath, and even a wardrobe/office nook...bigger than our hotel room in NYC so absolutely no complaints from us! Room was quiet, overlooked the gardens, and staff were all courteous, helpful, and always attentive.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor room backed onto the hotel garden and the church grounds - beautiful, peaceful, and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear S Burch
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our rooms are certainly larger than the average London hotel bedroom, and our Deluxe rooms ( which have two Queen beds) are particularly spacious and ideal for families.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here Dec' 28 - Jan 1. Hotel is a real find. Fantastic location - opposite Gloucester Road Tube station and bus options into London. By foot, hotel is 30 seconds from Waitrose, 75 seconds from Tesco Express, 5 min from Sainsburys, 10-15 min to High Street Kensington, 20 min to Harrods. Received very nice, rear room (second floor) overlooking garden. Room was very clean and beds comfortable. All staff extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast is quite basic and had to wait 10-15 min at peak time to get a table - would be nice to get fresh veggies for breakfast ! Only 2 computer terminals near concierge which should be at least doubled in #. All in all, hotel is a great find, competitively prived, great location, safe neighborhood, decent Indian cuisine on Gloucester Road - will definitely stay here again !

Room Tip: Second Floor, overlooking rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestYorkshireFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear WestYorkshire Freddy
Thank you for your review of our hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be returning again.
We have 2 PC's in reception which most guests use for checking in for airline flights, printing maps, checking local attractions etc as well as two more in the club lounge for use by guests in Club rooms or suites. We also have wi-fi throughout the hotel for guests to use for their own smart phones, tablets or lap tops. Wi-fi is free for guests in Club rooms, suites and for Gold and Platinum Priority Club Members.
Best regards

Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I am just returning from a weekend in London with my partner and 2 yound children?

the location was great:
- literally in from of the tube station
- direct 20-min journey from St Pancras Station (Eurostar)
- very convenient to visit London
- a supermarket + various food options within a 3-min walk

The staff was smart and efficient.

The room was very confortable and cosy but:
- rather small (OK, this in London...). But still large enough to add a baby cot (provided by the hotel for free).
- I was a bit upset by the view (see pic) Vs other photos I could see on TA. In addition, the window was very small, so the room was very dark.

Finally a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room lower than the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Manywhere
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit although sorry that the view was not what you expected.
The photo you show is a 6th floor room at the front of the hotel which overlooks Cromwell Road and faces the restaurant and appartment block opposite the hotel.
Whilst the view is the same from most of the front facing rooms, as the facade is a listed 19th century building, the windows are typical of the period and are larger and taller on the lower floors.
The windows at the rear of the hotel overlook our garden and are of a standard size as this is a newer building.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the week between Christmas and New Years and were very happy with our choice. The rooms were large and very clean. Queen bed was large and comfortable. Room was quiet (we had garden view). The staff were nice and helpful.
The Gloucester tube station is literally across the street, providing easy access to the piccadilly line which took us everywhere we needed to go. Harrod's is a walk up the street. Plenty of pubs & restaurants to choose from close to the hotel.
The hotel provided a 25% off discount to the Thai restaurant inside the hotel and the food there was excellent.
I would have given 5 stars but it was a bit expensive (600 pounds for 3 nights) and no free wifi in the room.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Garden view is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear jjmey24
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will consider staying with us again.
I am sorry that you found it expensive, the best available prices are always on our own website rather than any third party website, and if you are able to book at least 7 days in advance and pre-pay for your stay , there are some great prices to be had.
We offer free wi-fi to guests who book a suite or club room as well as to Gold and Platinum members of Priority Club Rewards ( our loyalty programme which you can easily join up to at reception or on line ).
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Simons Island, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Being a former travel industry employee I have stayed in a multitude of hotels and resorts. This property has been awarded a four star distinction however it wouldn't have that high of a rating in the US. This property, while clean and well located should be considered a three star hotel. We stayed in three star hotels in Paris that were much nicer.

Room Tip: We were told we would have a view room. Our room overlooked the rooftop and we were unable to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Martha H
I am sorry that you felt our hotel only warranted a three star rating, although you don't mention what aspects of the hotel you were disappointed with.
I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to London and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in the quality of this hotel.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just spent 2 nights there a family with one kid I have taken a bedroom with 2 double beds, here was safety box, ironing table, coffee tea and kettle, mini bar, free bottle of water. The date of our arrival was 26 Dec Boxing Day in england and we drove there to arrive around 1pm unfortunately the room was not ready before 3pm we add to wait. They did offer free drink in their club, However Wifi was not free 15GBP per day quite expensive, car park in the area is 4 pounds per hour park meter happy all was free Boxing Day but I have to use a nearby hotel car park for the rest of the stay price was 33GBP per day. Breakfast was 14.95GBP per adult and free for the kid. We used this location and hotel just because we need to be close to the Thai embassy in London for some administrative formality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CThierryMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CThierryMK
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
I am sorry that your room wasn't ready until 3pm, unfortunately guests departing on Boxing Day left later than would normally be the case and so we were delayed in servicing the rooms ready for guests arriving.
With regards our wi-fi, we charge £15 per 24 hours which is fairly standard amongst hotels in London, howeverm we do offer complimentary wi-fi to guests booking a Club room or a suite. We also give complimentary wi-fi to all our Gold and Platinum Priority Club members as an addition to the normal benefits of this loyalty programme.
I regret that we have no car parking on site, and in London, parking is expensive. As it is easier to get around within London by tube or taxi, we find that very few guests actually arrive by car, preferring to travel by air or by train (connection to Heathrow and all the mainline London stations is very easy as we are located opposite Gloucester Road Tube station which has the Piccadilly, District and Circle lines running through it.
I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#185 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#68 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,245 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington - Earl's Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#38 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,291 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing