We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #119 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Right next to gloucester road tube allowing for easy access to all attractions in London. Hotel room was nicely decorated and served all the functions myself and my partner needed for our weekend away. Only downside was that we booked a double room and were given a family room. Quite disappointing as we only checked in a short while after check in was available. We did check with the hotel staff that this was the correct room as the beds seemed quite small for doubles and we had payed for a double not a family room however we were told that all rooms had this sized beds and that it just happened ours had 2 of them. Apart from this a nice hotel in a good setting

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maysy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Maysy88
Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

I am sorry that you were not hapy with your room. You were in fact upgraded to a Deluxe room as we do always try to upgrade guests if we have other rooms available. Our standard rooms have 1 double bed, whereas our Deluxe rooms are much larger and have 2 double beds ( there is of course no obligation to use both beds).
For a larger bed, our Executive rooms and suites have king size beds.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

the hotel is well situated and the rooms large but i must stress the attention to detail and the cleanliness.
the toilet roll was very very cheap and very very thin and you would think at the price per night you would get decent loo roll.the furnature was tired and badly marked and the carpets stained and thread bare.
the mirrors were covered in dust and the odd cobweb on the ceiling,i am not saying by any means that the rooms were filthy but they were not 4 star standard and the millenium baileys hotel round the corner is different class

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Andrew F
Thank you for your review of our hotel, although I am sorry that you found the rooms were not of the standard you expect.
There is no excuse for dust or cobwebs in rooms and I have raised this with our housekeeper to review with her team.
With regards the carpets, I am not sure which room you stayed in, but we have no threadbare carpets. There is not a carpet in the hotel older than 3 years old.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back again soon and allow us an opportunity to restore your confidence in our housekeeping standards.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Heathrow, and puts you within minutes of most points in London. The hotel is clean and fairly modern on the inside, although some of the rooms are a little quirky. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The price is usually reasonable, and sometimes you can find a deal.

Room Tip: They have a few really tiny rooms so book two double beds to avoid getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Allen46
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Our rooms do vary in shape and size, but all our of the same standard and all were completely refurbished 3 years ago.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Good comfortable room.
Opposite the Gloucester Road Tube - very convenient.
Negative: No Parking but available at the Holiday Inn opposite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concordasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Concordasia
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that like most London Hotels, we do not have parking on site (most of our guests arrive by train or airplane and so a taxi or the tube station opposite are more convenient), however, we are fortunate to have the Holiday Inn Forum just opposite our hotel ( our sister brand) and they have an underground car park that our guests can use.
NB For other readers, there is a parking charge at the Holiday Inn
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

The Crown Plaza Kensington is possibly the best hotel I've stayed in , in London.

We got a really good deal for 2 nights through a teletext deal and on arrival we got a free upgrade too.

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of London with most major attractions all within walking distance.

The breakfast was fantastic and very fresh.

The only downside was there is no parking so he had to park at a neighbouring hotel which was ridiculously expensive but it was perhaps not wise bringing the car into central London.

I would definatly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Kunal P
I was pleased to read how much you liked our hotel and that you will definitely book it again.
Most of our guests do find that it is easier to arrive at the hotel either by taxi or by tube - we are fortunate to have Gloucester Road Tube Station right opposite our hotel with both the Piccadilly , District and Circle LInes stopping there, so getting around London is very easy.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked for two nights and our first night is what hotel nightmares are made of. We arrived at the hotel about 6.40pm, after a short flight from Jersey and train journey up to London, we checked in, which was very quick, but I was bit surprised that the check in clerk never mentioned a few basic things that you would expect from a 4 star hotel, firstly breakfast time was not mentioned or the location of breakfast and if I required a wakeup call or a morning newspaper. We was allocated room 118, we was meeting friends at 8pm so we just had a quick shower and changed and went out. This trip was our 25th wedding anniversary the following day and was a present from our children, so we decided to have an early night and went to our room about 11pm and this is when the nightmare began, firstly our room was right next to a door that led down a flight of stairs right into the bar area, also our room was above the bar and below our window was the smoking area. The noise started immediately we got into bed, we could understand the noise from the bar but the door that led to the staircase was used by nearly everyone one on the first floor, banging constantly until 5.30am together with the rowdy drunk voices, this door must have been used at least 100 times in this period, then to add more insult we had people banging on our door and trying the handle, I got up and went to the door to find a drunk who thought it was the door to the bar. We never slept one wink that night. I phoned the manager up at 8am and went to see him, he done everything he could to put things right, upgrade, complimentary breakfast etc. he was very professional in his approach and very apologetic, he explained because we checked in late, there wasn’t many rooms left, so I concluded this is a room that is allocated last because of its bad location, but for a couple celebrating a 25th wedding anniversary, it couldn’t of been worse. Our weekend was ruined we spent most of the next afternoon trying to sleep before our special meal that night, but to no avail, hotels during this time are not the best times to sleep. Without any sleep and very tired our weekend was ruined, we at to cancel a paid afternoon river cruise, our meal was finished early, as we both just couldn’t keep our eyes open. Thank you to the manager for doing his upmost to try and put things right for us but I am afraid nothing could make amends for a ruined weekend. The manager knew it was probably the worst room in the hotel, but for the check-in staff to allocate us this room on such a special occasion, I can’t forgive them.

Room Tip: Dont accept room 118 unless you have sleeping pills. Its right next to a door that leads down to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerseymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Jerseymick
I am so sorry to read that your anniversary weekend was spoiled by noise from other guests.
Room 118 faces the garden and so should be a quiet room as there is no-one in the garden after 11pm. After that time, guests wishing to smoke, need to go to the front of the hotel on Cromwell Road.
There is a door to the staircase leading to reception, adjacent to room 118 and this has a very slow self closer to ensure it does not bang - I have checked this myself this afternoon and it does close silently. I do appreciate however that this doesn't preclude noise from guests talking as they use the staircase.
I am sorry that we were not able to ugrade your room on the first night of your stay but am pleased that we could offer you one of our Duplex suites for the second night.
For other readers, the picture attached to this review is the bedroom of one of our duplex suites facing the front of the hotel, with a separate sitting room below.
I do hope that your experience on this occassion will not deter you from using Crowne Plaza Hotels again in the future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was our first time in London. The Crowne Plaza was a great spot for our family of 3. The hotel offers the ambience that only London can give. It is clean and comfortable and offers a nice quiet lounge area. Kensington is the perfect location to stay. Only a block to the Tube where you can get around with ease. We felt very safe and were able to walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4travellin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Dear carolynandfamily
Thank you for leaving your feedback on the hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel was clean, comfortable and safe and that it had a great ambiance and location. I'm sorry that you only felt able to give us a 3 out of 5 satisfaction rating, it would be really helpful for us to know what would make the difference for you between average and good or great. We are constantly striving to increase our standards and exceed our guests' expectations and we rely guest feedback to help us in this.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,077 in London
827 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,006 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $179 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing