We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and the room was clean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #506 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Lovely hotel and easy to find, Check in is not till 3pm but we arrived an hour early and our room was ready which was great, the room was spotless and smelt SO clean very impressed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only thing is the beds are on wheels so kept loosing the pillows down the back of the bed, the beds would be better if not on wheels. I also think the hotel would be even better if it had a pool!
Breakfast was lovely and so much choice will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,357 - 3,363 of 4,438 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed 2 February, pre-booking through TopTable (which I learned at Reception I had forfeited HHonors points!). The hotel is within 5-10 mins walk of Shepherds Bush Tube and Overground train stations and the huge Westfield Shopping Centre. Check-in was a bit slow as all 3 staff on Reception were on the phone at the same time and a small queue of us built up. We had room 734 on the top floor which appeared to be modernised. A large bed to sleep on (the No 1 essential for any hotel room) and a bathroom equipped with shower over the bath. We did not use the tea-making facilities.
The ground floor of the hotel has a business centre, bar and restaurant. We did not use them but they looked modern and inviting. I paid £134 pre-paid without breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertopoland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Easy to find, helpful and well informed staff. Great facilities all in excellent order. Good value. Food was also lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I picked up a great rate for my room via the Hilton sale. For the location and the fact breakfast was included, under £80 for a double was excellent! With a regular Hilton rate I would not be so generous with my 'Value' rating.

The location of this hotel is super for those who want to be near Shepherd's Bush, Holland Park or Notting Hill. Others may find it too far from the centre of town, but the 94 bus picks up and drops off right outside he hotel and goes to Oxford St, Regent St and Piccadilly. The Central line is also easily reachable by foot.

For solo travellers it is super to have Westfield next door as you have a great choice of restaurants and cinemas, so no dull evenings stuck in your hotel!

The Hilton lobby is large and has more staff than I am used to seeing these days. Check in was smooth, my room on the fifth floor was of average size (although I would have liked a larger bathroom). The bed was comfortable and everything else in the room was as you would expect from a Hilton.

My problems were i) the gap under the door - I was rudely awakened early in the morning by a loud group all leaving together (with no consideration for other guests). If you ask for a room away from the lift then I guess you are not too likely to experience this problem. ii) Wireless access - I appreciate hotels want to make money but I refuse to pay stupid amounts for the internet and blocking signals just makes me look for alternative hotels with free Wi-Fi to stay at! (Yes, they do exist) Even in the bar I struggled to get a signal with my 3G dongle, but (just) managed it in the end. iii) I expect high bar prices, but over £5 for a bottle of beer is just silly!

The hotel does benefit from have underground parking, which at £30 a day is just about acceptable in my mind, especially now the western congestion charge zone has been removed. The car park entrance though is small and steep. Go slow and watch your nose at the bottom!

The breakfast was up to the usual Hilton standard, so I left with a smile!

If you can get a great rate like I did then this is a good hotel. If you can't, then I'd recommend looking around for other options, unless the location is exactly where you want to be.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed here for a conference. The location was nice, the staff was helpful for local transportation, and the hotel was booked solid. Downside was I had one of the smallest beds, but this is standard for much of Europe. It was also one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever stayed on. The room was also decent sized for European standards, or I should say I have stayed in smaller rooms in London before.

The only real complaint I have is the noise from the hallway and I was located next to the elevators. In the rooms you can hear everything that happens in the hallways.

Not up to US standards, but overall a nice hotel in London.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in January. A good hotel, well located if you don't mind using tube/buses. It was 5 minutes walk from Shepard's bush tube station and 5 minutes from Westfield Shopping Centre which has a selection of restaurants and a cinema if you want something nearby. There were also a few restaurants further down Holland Park Avenue, and Holland Park tube further down that road too.
The hotel does not look much from the outside but is clean and of a good standard inside. The rooms have everything you need apart from a hairdryer that you do not need to hold your finger on! The communal areas are nice and the breakfast restaurant large. The breakfast has a good choice of continental and cooked breakfasts, although i do not think it is worth the £20 per head charged if it is not in with your room price, unless you really can eat for England.

Overall a good standard hotel, well placed and easily accessible. We paid £90 per room in the Jan sale which was apparently half price. It was a fair and reasonable price. Not sure that it would be worth £180 per night though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoebeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

stayed 2 nights on a short break. location is fine for tube. rooms not huge but bigger than i was expecting for london. only room for a shower in the bathroom. room was clean, comfortable and quiet. breakfast very nice. certainly very good value for money on the deal we had. parking is expensive but convenient and again no more than i would expect for london. the staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,476 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $132 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing