We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my week in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #475 of 1,088 Hotels in London
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“my week in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

I wanted to introduce my daughter to London and did not know what to expect from this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Beds were very comfy, room so quiet we overslept, and had a hair dryer and ironing board in the room. It is convenient to the Holland park tube and any bus took us to the tube station with our daily pass. The neighborhood seemed safe and food was just down the street if we needed it. My complaint would be the cost of the "extras"...we avoided the hotel restaurants because of price. Internet was 3 pounds for 15 minutes or 5 pounds for 30 minutes! It was cheaper to go to an internet cafe for one pound an hour. We arrived at noon after no sleep at all on a flight from California and had to wait until 3 pm for our room. Possibly an earlier check in time would be nice for people coming across the world!! In all, we enjoyed this hotel. It is on only the central tube line so you have to change lines if you need any other line to get somewhere.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mother4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    1,603
    952
    341
    186
See reviews for
604
1,410
311
996
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Given that the US dollar is pitiful in the United Kingdom and wasn't willing to spend $250/night for a bed bug ridden hotel room, I went looking for an esteemed, established brand hotel in London that was close to Central London for many obvious reasons. I stumbled on a good rate (for London) on Hilton's website and booked it without hesitation given my outstanding success with Hilton in the past. I was extremely disappointed with this hotel, however.

Our room had a strong smell of stale smoke in it, half the bed was severely tilted so that when you laid on it, it felt as if you were going to fall off, our room was handicapped excessible which is fine except when your shower enclosure doesn't keep water in the shower like it's supposed to, some of the lights in the room didn't work, the concierge was extremely rude when we asked him to check on Wicked and Wimbledon tickets for us. The list goes on and on...

London is about as expensive as it gets, but I wouldn't stay here again for $100/night.

The one plus was that it was in a good location, close to Central line stations and Hyde Park (which is a beautiful setting for talking a walk or a jog).

Find some other reputable brand hotel to stay at in London if you're looking to find a good deal. Don't stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiveiron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

With the exchange rate with the pound, Americans have to look for value. This hotel fits the bill. A place to stay that is not a dive. The hotel is very average and the rooms are consistent with European standards, i.e., very, very small. There is nothing about your room that is luxurious, but you did not pay for that luxury. A place that I would describe as a decent business hotel. Something that I found revealing was that Thai Airway pilots and flight attendants use the hotel for overnight stays. In my experience and observations, airlines book decent but not wonderful hotels.

I do disagree about claims that the hotel was centrally located. The hotel area is off all the central London maps that I've seen. That is not to say that the location is inconvenient. By the tube, you can get to your location in a reasonable amount of time, however, you are not within walking distance of any of the "sights." You realize the distance when you have to pay a taxi fare from the theater district to the hotel after seeing a play.

I also disagree that the hotel is "near" a tube stop. The nearest is Holland Park, which is in zone two, not one. If you have luggage, it will take you eight to ten minutes to walk to the hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank BornTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Very pleasant modern hotel with nice rooms. You won't be disappointed there. Beware of the mini bar which automatically charges you even if you simply remove a bottle to take a look! I complained and the charges were waived immediately. But these devices are very un-English and should be banned. I really hate them.

Front facing rooms are cooler as they do not get the afternoon sun. However the AC is pretty good anyway.

If you are coming from Heathrow, you can take the Heathrow Express to Paddington. A taxi from there will cost you 10 pounds.
The HotelLink bus service is also good. Avoid the tube if you have a heavy suitcase because you will need to change lines.

Overall, a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

Pros: Good facilities, great breakfast, perfect central London location - close proximity to a tube station and right opposite a bus stop. And fantastic concierge service - very well informed, courteous and competent.

Cons: Dirty toilet, even after we complained, and they 'cleaned' it, it was still an appalling state (see photo). Most cheaper B&B in London offer free/complimentary room internet access, Hilton disappoints on this + no wifi :-(. Could the bathrooms be any smaller? water spills over in a shower and there is no drainage!

  • Liked — Comfy pillows :-)
  • Disliked — Toilets and washrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skmDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

The Hilton @ Kensington ticked all the boxes when we looked for a middle priced hotel with a good location for the attractions of london.

Its a couple of hundred yards to the nearest tube station which made it really handy for getting around. The room was as expected. Good size, eqipped well and was clean and tidy. Booking in took a little longer than I would like but we obviously picked a busy time to arrive. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

We booked one of Hiltons 2 night "deals" which are very competitive.

I would recommend this hotel. Your stay should be comfy, pleasant and hassle free.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank Noelsguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Although we visited this hotel a year ago, I finally am getting around to posting a review. My wife and I stayed at this hotel during the last week of August, 2006.

This is a great little hotel in a very quiet area. All we needed was a quiet, clean and comfortable place to sleep as we were out and about all day, every day. Although the building itself is a bit old and non-descript on the outside, the interior was fully remodeled and modern. The room was quite large by European standards (see photos), and had a nice flat screen TV. The bathroom was solid... with great high quality soaps and shampoos.

The staff was quite attentive and the concierge very helpful. The only issues with the hotel itself came down to cost - and not of the room itself which was quite reasonable, but the restaurants within. London is expensive, no doubt, but the Hotel greatly expands this. The breakfast buffet, for example, was high quality but cost $80 US for two people. We didn't eat at all other than the first breakfast in the hotel. Instead, we ate out at chippies or much of the time shopped at Tesco for things like sandwiches, etc. (There was no fridge in the room, so we had to eat right away.) The Tesco is a grocery store just down the street - a short 8-10 min walk - and had very reasonable prices even by US (Boston) standards.

This hotel is very well located if you want a quiet place to stay on a very posh street in the Holland Park area of town. It is right next to the Notting Hill area as well. It is located between two tube stops, though the Holland Park stop is a bit further from the hotel (10 mins or less walk), it is the one we used because it was much nicer and closer to little shops and such.

When we were lazy, we took the bus which stops directly in front of the hotel and runs 24 hours. Transport is not an issue with this location - subway rides were short and get you pretty much everywhere you need to go quickly, cleanly, and safely.

(Highly recommended that you purchase an Oyster card - a "touch and go" pass - if you plan to travel a lot on the subways and busses; there is a little newsstand down the street that sells them.)

All in all this was a great place to call "home" when touring the city. Highly recommended for those on a budget.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Food costs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ControlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Olympia
#643 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast or nutritious light bite in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing