We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #511 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights 5th-8th of June and it was a fantastic stay.From the minute we checked in until check out the hotel was just great.First we were given an upgrade to an excecutive room complete with lounge access and this was a big bonus.
The room was spotless and by no means small,it was on the 6th floor with a massive comfy bed so there was no problem at all getting a good nights sleep.All the staff that we met were so professional,but also very friendly and helpful,they could'nt do enough for us and I do mean all the staff.
Next is the food, it to was very good as we were on DBB we ate in at night as well as breakfast.The food was good but was limited in selection for diner,but hey it was still fine as we were only there for the three nights.Breakfast was the usual Hilton 'one' just great, excellent selection and quality.
I would recommend this hotel no problem and if we ever return to London we shall not hesitate to book here again.A BIG thanks to all the staff who made our break so special.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,508 - 3,514 of 4,361 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times since our daughter lives in the neighborhood. On this visit, I overlooked retrieving my American money from the roomsafe when I left, and, upon inquiring, was very pleasantly surprised to learn that the purse had been turned in.
The hotel seemed to be much busier than usual--perhaps the Westfield Shopping Center practically at the doorstep, is responsible.
Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is a bit out of the way for London attractiions. However, the neighborhood is so lovely-very enjoyable to stroll around Holland Park and Notting Hill--and gives a differerent aspect to a London trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocelynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed there for two nights,rooms are big and verry clean.
The buffetbreakfast is verry nice and everything you like is there.
A wonderfull place and good service.
Worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werner w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, The Kensington Cares Team at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Yours sincerely,

The Kensington Cares Team
Hilton London Kensington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Suprateek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

My daughter and I used this hotel for five days as a base for touring universities outside London. It was perfect for us: light, airy and very clean room, with enough counter space in the bathroom, and a nice view of leafy trees out the large window. The walk from Holland Park tube station was lovely, with charming shops and a supermarket along the way (Sheperds Bush was closer, but we enjoyed the walk, and bus service is outside the front door). We did check out Westfield shopping center...lots of retaurants there as well, and the biggest Boots drugstore in the universe. A few cons: expensive internet access in room (15 pounds for 24 hours running noon to noon, though cheaper with different terms in lobby); we kept the window open instead of using the air conditioner and there was quite a bit of traffic noise; weak shower pressure, but not a dealbreaker. Admittedly this hotel is not in the center of the action...a plus for us as we've been to London a few times before, but I'd recommend for first-timers as well if you're looking for value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilmor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Kensington Cares Team at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on the hotel.

We are pleased you found the room and bathroom pleasant and that you enjoyed the view. Being close to the busy Holland Park roundabout some London traffic noise can be heard if opening the window at night.

Our engineers will look at the shower pressure.

Our internet service is provided by an external company and we will certainly forward your comments to them.

The walk from Holland Park tube station is lovely you are correct!

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope your trip enabled you to find a good University!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Kensington Cares Team
Hilton London Kensington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Just completed a stay that totalled - including a weekend away in the country - two weeks. And I have to say it was a great choice. Of course, if you arrive at 9 a..m. from your transocean flight and checkout is 11, there's a chance there won't be a room available. So stash your luggage and go for a walk or bus ride! And yes, the rooms are small, by North American standards, but no smaller than comparable London hotels, and - at least they are clean, well sound-insulated, and everything works! Location couldn't be better: True, it's not dead-center in London, but you're in a real London neighborhood, only a short walk from the Shepherd's Bush tube (10 minutes to Oxford Street, max.) and - even better - several bus routes into central London stop right at the hotel door! (We used our Oyster Card on the busses and got a free tour of London with every ride!) Plenty of local restaurants - both at the sumptuous, brand-new Westfield shopping center and (in the opposite direction) along Holland Park Avenue.

Best of all: The breakfasts (included with our room, and easily worth £15 per person) - I have never seen a buffet to rival it: Made-to-order omelettes, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, yogurts, fresh fruit (pears, melon, orange slices, and more), porridge and dry cereals, pancakes, sausages, fried tomatoes, croissants, wholewheat breads, smoked salmon, cheeses, and more. We simply snaffled rolls, apples and some cheese from the buffet and rarely had to buy lunch! Lukacz, our favorite maitre d', makes sure you get your coffee or tea, plus choice of juice, delivered within seconds of your being seated.

Two complaints: An overly-soft mattress in our second - post weekend - room: No biggie. And a truly rip-off charge of something like £6 an hour for high-speed internet use! (We found several places a few minutes away in Shepherd's Bush that charge just £1 an hour, and many Cafe Nero and Prete cafes have free wi-fi. So does the British Library at Euston.)

That said, we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrawnaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, The Kensington Cares Team at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your favourable review. We are delighted you chose to stay with us.

Our check-in time is 3pm and if you arrive earlier than this and we have rooms available we most certainly will let you settle in early. Our Concierge will happily look after your luggage until your room is ready if not though.

We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast, we are very proud of our buffet breakfast!
Our WestEleven Restaurant is also having a Spanish Food Festival at the moment which is very popular.

We will check the mattress for comfort and yes at present £6 is our hourly internet charge!

We are delighted that you are planning on returning and wish you a pleasant return visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Kensington Cares Team
Hilton London Kensington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Superb location as we were attending a concert in the Shepherds Bush Empire. Good room, smallish but that's par for the course in London, nice Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. The staff were lovely and breakfast was very good, we did get a bargain at £65 including breakfast and I'd definitely stay here again. We also ate dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good as far as hotel food goes and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonchildScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#320 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $126 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing