We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #508 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Delicious breakfast buffets, quality rooms, and helpful staff (reception staff excluded for my instance) - this hotel has just about everything... Aside from free wifi in the rooms.

The location provides optimal opportunity to explore London at your own leisure, being generally only a short bus or train ride from all major sites. The breakfast buffet is none too complex but certainly one of the more enjoyable buffets across the Western world providing quality food 99% of the time. The porters and concierge were of particularly high service level, being generally cheerful and friendly, without the droning atmosphere of 'doing their job.'

Overall was an excellent stay and I would recommend to anyone who has the appropriate budget to compensate.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Joshua M,

I was pleased to learn that you had an excellent stay with us! Thank you very much for providing us with your kind feedback.

However, I was disappointed to note that you did not find the reception team to be as helpful as the majority. I would be interested to learn further details on this and so if you would be so kind as to spare another few moments of your time, please would you contact my PA, Holly (holly.randall@hilton.com) in order that she can obtain further information. Our reception team are a key part of our hotel as they, along with concierge, are the first point of call at the hotel and so your additional feedback would be extremely helpful.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back and we appreciate your kind recommendations!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 4,356 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My cousin and I spent two nights here this past weekend for a short break in London. We got what we felt was a really good deal, so we had high hopes. We had a basic twin room. It is quite small, but extremely adequate. No smaller than any other hotel! The room was clean and we had everything we could need. The room is somewhat dated, but we expected this. No power outlets by the bed (quite annoying for some) and some of the fixtures and furniture is looking a little tatty. Not a problem for us at all - as the hotel is a vast step up from the budget places we're used to. But if you're looking for luxury - this is still just a room with beds! Bathroom was nice size - though a bit born as well - well lit, with nice strong shower. Beds were comfortable, mini bar (though left untouched) was stocked etc. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we were even served food in the bar after hours as we "looked starved" which was a lovely gesture. Can't fault the hotel at all.Location is excellent, just a couple minutes walk from Shepherds Bush tube and train, and not far from Kensington on foot. Easy to find and perfect for a city break. I would definitely stay here again, but wouldn't pay more than what we paid (£200 for two nights, which was an offer on laterooms). I always thought Hilton's were super luxurious, and this just felt like a standard hotel. Perhaps my expectations were too high? If you're used to luxury, you might not like this. But if you're young and looking for a good central hotel that is affordable but want a little bit more for your money than what a Travelodge can offer - then this is perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Amelia P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you and your cousin enjoyed your stay at Hilton London Kensington.

I was also most pleased to learn that you felt looked after and that the team didn’t let you going hungry! When you are next down from Birmingham we very much hope you choose to stay with us again for another great stay.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

If you like shopping, the Westfield Mall is 5 minutes away and hard to beat. Also from right outside the hotel
You can take the Chic Outlet shopping bus to Bicester factory outlets. However my friend and I took a two Exec room which was tiny. This hotel
Is also quite far from theatre land if you are coming to London for that. We got a great value rate at 90 pounds a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expatinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear expatinsingapore,

I was delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us and am most grateful for you sharing your feedback.

We are indeed the perfect base for anyone who likes shopping and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of that!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton London Kensington when you are next over from Singapore.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had some Hilton Honours points to use so decided to have a night in London and chose the Kensington because of the places we wanted to visit the day after.

Check in was pretty quick and easy; it's a massive lobby; quite dark but very spacious and lots of places to sit.

The room was a good size - had everything you would need for a short stay as well as a decent selection of toiletries, tea and coffee and free bottled water. It was all very comfortable.

Check out was at midday (which is nice and late I think) and you can use the Express Check out.

Location wise it's pretty good; close to Portobello Market - either a nice stroll or a bus ride away - likewise the lovely Holland Park.

There's not much else to say really... you know there's nothing bad about the hotel but nothing exciting about it either hence the average score.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear TerriLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay.

I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us overall, but I was disappointed to note that you did not want to shout home about us. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future for a faultless stay that will have you shouting from the rooftops about Hilton London Kensington!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is very nice, spacious common areas, spacious rooms epulite, and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The location is great, right across from the park a short distance from Oxford Street. From the piano bar you can enjoy a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Albert S,

I was delighted to learn that you and your partner had such a great stay with us! I must also thank you for your kind recommendations.

We hope that you choose to stay at Hilton London Kensington again in the future or even just to pop in to the Avenue Bar and Lounge to admire the views when you are next passing by!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a great stylish hotel and in a good area for where we wanted to be. It's close to a large shopping centre and plenty of eateries,cafés,bars, entertainment and cinema in the area. We were upgraded to a kingsize room which was a bonus and the room was clean and well stocked with shower wash hair shampoo conditioner and soap. It had comfortable seating and had ironing and hair dryer facility. The fridge had plenty of choice for drinks and snacks but they were chargeable. Understandable as the range went from bottled water to champagne. Early in the morning we had a complimentary newspaper and an express checkout envelope to vacate the room quickly and easily at our convenience ( before 12 lunch time). Over all this was an idea location close to tube,train station and close to where we wanted to be.

Room Tip: Can't mention spa or swimming pool as didn't use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Tracey C,

I was delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for sharing details of your experience with TripAdvisor.

I have shared your kind comments with the team who were equally delighted and we all very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Hilton London Kensington for another fantastic stay!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in march and was not that impressed . Checking in took a long time but it may have been due to staff being trained up as i noticed a few trainee badges .For the price £150 i thought the rooms were small but clean but not worth the money.Breakfast was very good with a large selection .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chealySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear ChealySunderland,

Thank you for providing us with feedback following your stay with us this month.

I was pleased to learn that you and your friends overall had a good time, but I was disappointed that you found our hotel to be average. I was also sorry to learn that you were inconvenienced at check in and we did indeed have recent on boarding of new receptionists to improve the reception desk experience, I hope on your next visit you will have the chance to experience a more efficient checkin.

Once again, thank you for your invaluable feedback. We all hope to welcome you back to Hilton London Kensington and enjoy our full breakfasts!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $126 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing