We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton, Kensington-London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #515 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although my room was large, comfortable and clean, overall I was not impressed by this Hilton at all. It is certainly not worth the price paid. Breakfast is extra at £15 and there is no free wifi in the rooms, though it is available for a staggering £15 extra per day! The a/c in my room was noisy, even when switched off it seemed. My colleagues room was very small and much less comfortable. Also, they do not accept Mastercard and require you to pay on arrival. The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful and it is reasonably well served by public transport. Overall, I would not return here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin_byrnes1, Director of Operations at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Hilton London Kensington on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to note that you found the hotel to be spacious and clean. The hotel in line with other Hilton Hotels and Resorts offer complimentary wifi in the public areas in addition to in room for our Hilton Hhonors Diamond and Gold members.

Breakfast is available at a discounted price of £12 on occassion when bought in adance from our Front Desk upon arrival and for £18.95 at all other times.

The hotel accepts all major credit cards including Mastercard as with our other Hilton properties.

Once again thank you for your comments and I am sorry we were not as you would have expected.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,411 - 2,417 of 4,385 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 4 days/3 nights 30/10 to 02/11 on a half term sightseeing trip with the kids. Booked two twin rooms via Expedia to give us a bit more room, got a deal with breakfast included which worked out much better value than paying for breakfast on arrival. Price overall wasn't bad given it's London.

Location is fine, 5 minutes walk to Shepherds Bush underground and a short Tube trip along the Central Line to the majority of the popular London attractions. Adjacent to the underground are the Westfield and West 12 shopping centres, loads of shops and restaurants here.

Requested adjacent rooms beforehand, on arrival the receptionist said we could have interconnecting if we were happy for one of the rooms to be King size bed instead. We accepted this, which was much more convenient. Rooms are a bit small but pretty well appointed. Big flat screen TV, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and safe in wardrobe. Bathroom was again a bit small but did the job. We were on the 1st floor at the front but didn't really get disturbed at night, heard sirens one night but no different to home really.

Service from reception and concierge was very good, polite, friendly and helpful. Service at breakfast was a bit patchy, didn't seem able to cope with the restaurant being full so a long time for tea/coffee to arrive and plates to be taken away, also ran out of bacon and eggs on Saturday morning which took a while to be replenished. Bar service was fine, however a 10% "discretionary" service charge was added on in a seemingly inconsistent way, i.e. by some but not others and irrespective of whether I went to the bar to get my own drink or opted for table service.

Breakfast itself was fine, self-service and plenty of choices. Bar drinks were a bit expensive (£4.50 (+10% occasionally)) but this is London after all.

I would definitely return providing the price hadn't gone up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Not very impressed at all! Rooms were small for the price but clean. The restaurant was closed in the evening although advertised as open on the website. We decided to fill up at breakfast but for approx. £25 a head - a café down the road would have been far better value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandawright_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin_byrnes1, Director of Operations at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read that your stay was not as you would have expected and I have passed the comments to my Executive Head Chef to review the breakfast box offering and make changes where necessary.

Our West 11 restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings and the Avenue Bar serves a wide variety of dishes to ensure there is a dining outlet open within the hotel in addition to Room Service at all times.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Unequaled service from Concierges ANTONY LYNCH, TIM QUOY and Food & Beverage Manager ANDREW PINFOLD . . . each of whom came up with excellent business and personal suggestions and were outstanding. Highly satisfied in a first rate hotel in a great London neighborhood. Mr & Mrs B, New York

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irving b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton Kensington and the whole hotel should be refurbished. First room we had was missing a security latch on the door. Switched to a second room and we found that there wasn't enough space in their basic room for the big suitcases and upgraded to another room. Well, this room had problems with the air conditioning. The motherboard was shot and they didn't have any other to fix it that night. The engineer fixed it for the night and offered to have us moved the following day. Also we asked for a room in the back as the room was on Holland Park Ave. (ambulances, police, drunken persons and dog barking during the night). We were moved the following day into another room and at least the room was in the back but every time we would flush the toilet it was almost like a machine gun going off and the previous room it was like a train going through the room. We were going back at the end of our trip to this same hotel so we had upgraded before we left to ensure that we would have a good room. Well, we were told that it was a quiet room but again, it was on Holland Park Ave., and the a/c worked for one minute and then it was broken again. My husband went back to the Reception Desk and the person working there threw new keys to him. It was as if we were not welcome. This is our second time back to London and we don't think that we will be going back.

Room Tip: Do not choose a regular room. Please upgrade because the regular room is not spacious at all. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane013_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin_byrnes1, Director of Operations at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us at the Hilton London Kensington on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read that you found the hotel below your expectations. This year we have completed many new projects including the replacement of more than 400 of the hotels televisions with HD large screen set's, all the hotel's mattresses, refurbished three of the hotels bedroom corridors and enhanced various aspects of many of our rooms, in addition to the continual room care programme to ensure all is working correctly. We will continue to invest in the hotel over the next year with enhancements to our meeting room space and continued focus on our guest rooms which will further improve our guest experience.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

During the stay I had an accident caused by a poorly secured carpet on the exit to the bathroom. This resulted in a severly bruised shoulder and a large cut on my head. The follow-up was very poor from the hotel, with the call and communication of accident investigation informarion not occurring in the way indicated. I was left feeling that they did not care once I was out of the building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin_byrnes1, Director of Operations at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am aware you have been in contact with Holly Randall from the hotel and the matter is being dealt with regarding your stay at the hotel. I am sorry you feel it has not been handled in an appropriate way and should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We needed a hotel within fairly easy reach of the Hammersmith Apollo, where me and my husband were going to see Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. It definitely ticked that box, being just 3 stops away on the tube. However, although the hotel is located in the borough of Kensington and Chelsea, it would be more accurately called Hilton London Shepherd's Bush. Anyone staying here hoping to pop round the corner to Harrods would be disappointed.

The hotel had good and bad points...

Good: very large and comfy bed; helpful and welcoming bar manager; good choice of breakfast available

Bad: room a bit bland and quite small; restaurant understaffed at breakfast so we had to chase our coffee; and worst of all, no free wi-fi in the room, which, when you're paying a premium to stay in the Hilton, is a real rip-off. On this basis alone I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Oh and one last thing: the map on the hotel's website does show the nearest tube stations, but in the written directions, advises guests to take a taxi to the hotel from the London airports. Do they think trains are beneath them or something? Ridiculous!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safetyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,077 in London
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $123 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing