We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #477 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked for our bday weekend and what a great sucess it was we checked in mid anoon and were upgraded to a executive room,which was great.We were also offered the Executive lounge which offered complimentry drinks <anything you wanted>plus light snacks again all comp.There was a lovely atmosphere in the lounge and busy.We both thoughly enjoyed the evening,we retired to our room on the 6th floor for a good nights rest .We went down to bfast which offered a good choice of hot and cold items and the cooked bfast was nice and hot.Well done hilton Kensington we will be back.

Room Tip: we found the rooms to be quite warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    1,603
    952
    342
    186
See reviews for
605
1,411
311
996
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my girlfriend. The hotel itself is just a short 100m walk from the Tube at Shepherds Bush and only 150m from Westfield shopping centre with its attached restaurants. The location isn't bad but I would hardly call it Kensington (despite it being in the Royal Borough).

The hotel has a large reception with many staff and I was greeted on arrival and checked in swiftly. The room they offered me was on the 2nd floor and at the front. I was a little concerned with the potential noise level from the road but it seems to be well protected with triple glazing. The room itself was a good size but the decor was very tired, it was clearly in need of an additional coat of paint. It and the bathroom were clean, but you could see why it was £80 a night.

I don't understand with Hilton why they insist on putting this deathly slow menu on the TV with 3 or 4 options before you get to a TV channel. Then once you do get there you don't get freeview. Its a cut down selection of channels which can be annoying!

The final point I would like to say is that if your a smoker this hotel is probably for you. The entire corridor stunk of stale cigarette smoke the entire weekend and was really very unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_tuBBymAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am most grateful for you taking the time to provide such detailed feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. I must say that I was horrified to learn that you were note entirely happy with your stay.

With regards to the location of your room, whilst I am pleased that you were not disturbed by any external noise, I was sorry to learn that the corridor smelt of smoke for the duration of your weekend stay. We provide our guests with the option of smoking and non-smoking rooms and the second floor has smoking rooms, which would explain the presence of the smoke. Although it is a smoking floor, it is not acceptable for our non-smoking guests to be made uncomfortable during their stay. Should you and your partner return to stay with us, please inform us of your specific room requests, i.e. high floor, non-smoking, which is something we advise our guests to do. These details will be saved on our system and you will be assigned the perfect room for you every time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with such invaluable feedback. This has enables us to constantly better our products and service and I am most grateful for your assistance.

With kind regards,


Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hilton London Kensington is in easy walking distance of Holland Park and Shepherd's Bush, and the Westfield shopping centre is pretty much across the road, the location is second to none. And the hotel itself? Perfect. Faultless, even. It lives up to the Hilton reputation, very tidy and clean rooms and the public areas of the hotel are perfectly maintained, the staff are very very helpful and will happily give you directions if you want to find out the best way to get to different London attractions. The view from the hotel room consisted of the Westfield and some redbrick buildings, which was fine by me: the hotel really is in a perfect, central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IckleIcicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good clean hotel, but probably needs some updating in the rooms.
Not the best of the Hilton group that we have used.
The foyer is very new and modern and the staff very pleasant
Convenient if you are visitng the Notting Hill area of London

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed all that our wonderful area had to offer!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hilton London Kensington in the future.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'd say this is below average for Hilton, i have now stayed here a few times and i have yet to connect with the place. Some issues:

1. Double bed was 2 single beds with 2 single bed sheets - just isn't nice
2. Television had a small selection of channels and a poor quality picture
3. WIFI was not fast or consistent
4. I was asked if i wanted tea at breakfast, i said yes, and the tea never arrived

The staff and bar were both good.

Im not overly picky, as other reviews on here will show, but I feel they need to up their game at this particular Hilton, particularly with the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was horrified to learn of your poor experience when you stayed with us recently and please accept my sincere apologies.

The points which you have raised are unacceptable and I have spoken to the departmental heads in order that these can be rectified immediately. Further training is now underway in both the housekeeping department but also food and beverage. I am very sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay and I apologise that we have not delivered our usual high standard of service to which you deserve.

I very much hope to see you back at Hilton London Kensington in the future when it will be most evident that this does not reflect our usual high standard of service.

With best wishes,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service throughout our stay. For example, we arrived before check in was due fully expecting just to drop off our bags with the concierge, but we were given free drinks in the hotel bar whilst we waited a short time for our room to be made up.

The hotel is clean and whilst the room was relatively small, taking everything into consideration it is excellent value. Our only slight niggle is that the room was a little warm.

With regards location, the hotel is a stone throw away from the Westfield Centre and the tube, with regular bus services which stop outside the hotel.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliemoohippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was absolutely delighted when I read your review on our hotel and I am most grateful for you taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor.

The team have also read your review and are as thrilled as I am to learn that you will be returning to Hilton London Kensington again in the future and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
623 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had an excellent experience at The Hilton Kensington - I was perfectly happy and would recommend the place with no hesitation:
- I like the location, this is a good neighborhood
- The rooms are modern, clean and nice
- They offer free computer, printing and scanning
- The executive room is a very nice area when you can relax, read, enjoy coffee, tea and snacks
- Staff was consistently friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, General Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with such great feedback! I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us and I have shared your comments with the team.

We all very much hope to see you back at Hilton London Kensington again soon!

With kind regards,

Bernadette Gilligan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Hilton London Olympia
#644 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast or nutritious light bite in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing