We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, worth the extra distance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #515 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I highly recommend the Hilton for tourists who don't mind using the tube (subway) to get around London. While a bit further out, it is located near Shepherd's Bush and Holland Park metro station (6 min. walk), near a few restaurants, pubs, etc. Excellent price - worth every penny and easy access to downtown. I paid less than $160 / night, buffet breakfast included. Small, clean, efficent room. Don't get turned off by facade - needs a bit of a face lift. But well appointed, excellent service, etc. I am a very fussy traveller and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Good value for money - neat subway station - Holland Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,230 - 3,236 of 4,389 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for two weeks, and everything about the hotel was great. The service was great, the location was great, the bus is located right outside the hotel and you can take it to do all your shopping and sightseeing. They also offer tours. The underground and mall are also just minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review which you have posted on TripAdvisor after your stay at the Hilton London Kensington.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your two week stay with us. Your compliments of the teams great service will be passed on and are very much appreciated.

Thank you again for your response.

Regards,

Kensington Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here for a week for work. Overall, very good - service excellent, bar + restaurant good if pricey (but it is London, after all!). It's not central, but the tube links are good.
I have 2 gripes:
1. My one gripe about my whole stay - noise from a maintenance room. When I checked in, I was told I was in the part of the hotel which had just been refurbished. Lovely, I thought. And it was - great room (looking out at a brick wall, but you can't have everything), clearly everything new. BUT right next to something called a "service room" - which turned out to have machinery churning away in it. I got no sleep for 3 nights because of the low level hum. Having complained about it, they were great and actually moved all of my stuff for me while I was out during they day. My new room was lovely and quiet - but in the older part of the hotel. Very much in need of an update with cracked tiles in the bathroom etc and, bizarrely, a bed on wheels which moved around a lot! If I'd paid for a top class hotel, I'd have been pretty disappointed to be in that room. So DEFINITELY ask for a room in the bit which has just been refurbished.
2. It's very definitely a business hotel - but really it's pretty poor for a business hotel not to offer wifi. Really poor, in fact. It really needs to catch up, and fast - lots of other places offer free wifi at least in communal areas, and most in rooms too. Here, they want to absolutely sting you, and make you pay for it by the hour. Don't do it - go to the Westfield shopping centre over the road, settle yourself down with a nice coffee in one of the coffee shops or bars, and use the free wifi there instead.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our stay at the Hilton Kensington was to have a look around the Kensington area and to see two shows, the hotel is first class with very nice rooms we had an upgrade that gave us entry into to executive room with free coffee tea and cakes, well worth the cost, we had two lovely meals in the bar for lunch, in all the Hotel was very comfortable and would return.
The down side if there was one is that the Hotel is not in Kensington but in Shepherds Bush- Holland Park area, The bus stops out side and takes you into the city also the underground is close by..

Room Tip: very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westyhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it allows us to monitor our service levels and standards.

The Hilton London Kensington Hotel is located in the London Bourough of Kensington and Chelsea, however the closest underground stations are Holland Park and Shepherds Bush.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Kensington Care Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We got a fantastic rate for this hotel incl. breakfast, close to Shepherds Bush tube station and Westfield shopping centre. Central line will have you on Oxford Street in 25 mins. Queue for breakfast can be long and there can be a wait to get seated which can be annoying. Our room was 3083, average room but we have no complaints given the rate. I agree with other reviews about the airlines using the hotel and the queue can get long to get to reception. All in all if you are happy to use the tube this is a good hotel in a quiet location and easy to get into the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JurKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed once in this hotel for business. Very fancy decoration and design in the room. Good staff, one receptionist speaks Russian. Clean and comfortable place, recoommend for people who can afford it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights. The walk from Holland park tube is starightforward enough along a nice tree lined road, took about 5 minutes being a few hundred metres. On the walk you pass shops,amongst them a Tesco, and various eateries and a pub.

Check in was speedy and i was upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel. I had no problems with noise in this room which faced onto the main road. The a/c in my room kept the temperature pleasant so there was no need to open the window for ventilation.
The room was fine, clean and I slept well.

I took breakfast in the hotel as part of my room package , and as ever everything was on offer and I came away quite full and set for the day.

The Westfield shopping centre is close by and there are restaurants of varying cuisines there , though I didnt try any myself. Being a simple soul a nearby Weatherspoons did me for a pub meal and pint each evening. I also had a beer in The Castle Pub , which you pass (or don't in my case!!) on the walk from Holland Park Tube. A nice pub, with a selection of Real Ales available.

But back to the Hotel, I found it a nice comfortable place to stay and woulod certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,077 in London
4,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $120 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing