We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great London hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #508 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great London hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

After checking out of a different hotel mid-trip, this hotel was booked by someone else at home so I had no idea what to expect. However, Im glad they chose the HIlton Kensington! Really impressive entrance and reception area, hallways and facilities and an efficient check in process. Rooms were average sized but clean and modern with all ameneties, and food in the bar was the usual high hilton standard. In a really nice area as well, quiet with lots of nice restaurants. Overall, very good hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Bex-689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this website after your stay at the Hilton London Kensington Hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel service. All guest feedback is shared with the team and is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Kensington.

Regards,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    1,665
    1,002
    365
    197
See reviews for
637
1,478
321
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Front entrance - smart.
Front desk a little slow initially.
Concierge busy talking to a friend and handing money over to help.
Service in general was ok in general.

Room - small
All mods cons in the room.
Door stop in bathroom smashed off but just left.
Sink taps discoloured.
Television didn't work after second day.
Room perfect for a short stay and as a crash pad, too small to spend any real time.


Location is great for access to the tube into London. Just 3 mins walk away. Location is down as Kensngton. Whilst it may be in the Borough it's much fairer to call it Shepherds Bush.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntMelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments on this website. I wanted to personally reply to you and take your
feedback to improve the services and products we offer.

I have passed on your comments to the departments involved, especially the fact that you had no door stop and that the TV did not work on the second day.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome
you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton London Kensington.

Regards

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a concert we were attending at the Hammersmith Apollo
We had booked a double room and on entering the room quickly realised it was a single! The reception staff were brilliant and upgraded us for the inconvenience.
Walking distance to Notting Hill and Westfield shopping centre

Very nice rooms, and with this being the second time I have stayed here I think the quality of service and standard of rooms has improved

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandabarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and comments posted on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at the Hilton London Kensington.

I was glad to hear your problem with the room size was resolved immediately. I hope you enjoyed your visit to London and the concert at the Hammersmith Apollo.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wide
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Last month I planned a Girls Trip with a couple of friends. We spent a week in London and it was an AWESOME experience, due in LARGE part to the great concierge at the Hilton Kensington (i think his name is Ramik... or something like that). He helped us navigate the city with ease, even when an entire train line was not operating.

Now for the hotel: First off, the location works well for single or group trips. It's very well-light (day and night), and feels safe. It's located near a large mall and restaurants (walking distance), and is on the main transit line (both by TRAIN and by BUS) to reach everywhere in London. The rooms aren't as large as US rooms, but they're not tiny either, as some European hotel rooms tend to be. The staff is quite accommodating. They took care of every need that I had. I can't say enough about how inviting this hotel is. I have EVERY intention of returning to London, primarily because my experience at the Hilton Kensington set the tone for my entire London trip.

Room Tip: Just ask. If the staff can help you, they will!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyovleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Hilton London Kensington Hotel.

We are so glad to receive such positive comments about not only the hotel but the service from our staff. Your compliments will be passed on to the Conceirge team.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Kensington in the near future.

The Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed at the Hilton Kensington when I was in London in march. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Superb location in heart of London with all facilities nearby. A short walk to Shepherd's Bush and good bus connections all day long. A nice shopping mall called Westfield is also just a quick walk away. Nice and cosy area.

Rooms are very nice and clean. Did I mention that the staff was service minded and great? Most importantly (if you have the opportunity), access the executive lounge after a long day exploring London. Excellent place to chill!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Noelrock,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hilton London Kensington Hotel.

All feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to monitor our service levels and standards. Thank you for your positive feedback. Your compliments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Kensington.

Regards,

The Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I am a Hilton Honors silver card holder and often use Hilton hotels when travelling. You can usually get very good rates if you book and pay well in adavnce. on the Hilton website.We booked this one on the basis of good reviews on Trip Advisor but a number of small but irritating things became frustrating and left a bad impression.

Check in was very slow, we came back after a few hours shopping, about 5 pm and our room was still not ready. A receptionist called Ian was excellent and did his very best to help, he was outstanding. However the communication between housekeeping and recption seems to be chaotic. Ian called housekeeping several times to try to discover the status of possible rooms. We rejected the first room we were offered as the bed creaked terribly, when we eventaully got a second room the bed was equally creaky! We decided not to move again. Ian asked house keeping to send us complimentary water, slippers and bathrobes but they never appeared. The television was not working but a helpful engineer came and sorted it out quickly, but surely this should have been checked before letting the room in a 4 star hotel? The room was standard Hilton, a little on the small side perhaps but fine apart from the creaky bed.

At breakfast we asked for milk to go with our pot of tea, it was served in a tea pot! Scrambled eggs from the buffet were also cold. The staff seemed to be struggling to cope with the large number of guests and the buffet often ran out of different items. These things are all relatively small, it is just you expect better from Hilton and usually get it. Later that day we noticed that our tea/coffee tray in the room had not been cleaned or replenished, an apologetic houskeeper came and sorted it out. We had left a note on the bed in the morning about the creaky bed base but when we came back the bed was the same. We received a complimentary newspaper on our second morning but not on the first morning.

The hotel is nice enough and in an excellent location for Westfield shopping center which is just two minutes walk away. You can get in to central London in about 15 minutes using the underground or a bus. We just seemed to be constantly hit with small things going wrong which left us with a bad impression, especially for a Hilton. We have previously stayed in the Hilton Metropole on Edgware Road which was far bigger but seemed to run much more smoothly.

This is not a bad hotel but our experience was disappointing, they need to tighten up a lot in many areas. Sorry Hilton!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryG_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Hilton London Kensington.

I was extremely concerned to learn of the difficulties you experienced at the Hotel during check in and when trying to find a suitable room. The relevant Team Managers have been informed of your feedback regarding the food in the restaurant and the creaky bed, they wish to be associated with my apologies.

Unfortunately due to the nature of Trip Advisor I am unable to locate your specific booking details to check your date of stay to further investigate your comments regarding the room you stayed in with a creaky bed and the date you ate breakfast in our restaurant.

If you would kindly send futher information to sales.kensington@hilton.com stating Trip Advisor in the subject line it would allow us to look into the matters further to ensure they do not happen again.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and allows us to monitor our service levels and standards.

Regards,

The Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

i stayed at hilton kensington in april with my 12 year old daughter for 3 nights.- it is a tired hotel, needs to be refurbished -both the lobby and the rooms are dated, as well as the breakfast area. i chose it because it is a hilton and was close to olmypia and westfeild shopping center. the westfield shopping center turned out to be very good with good restaurants and all shopping needs- this is a hotel far from the city center- we took the bus which stops in front of the hotel- 94, and it took you directly to oxford circus, but we stayed at metropole hilton, strand palace etc. before which are in the center.
hilton kensington is your choice if you want to stay immediately across westfield, but at the price we paid, much better hotels could be found close to the center.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#427 of 1,068 in London
9,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome the moment you arrive at Hilton London Kensington. We’re located in the leafy district of Holland Park, 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport, with excellent transport links into Central London and three different tube lines nearby. Spend a leisurely day at Westfield London Shopping Centre, just 5-minutes away, the largest mall in London features 265 high-end shops, over 50 restaurants, a spa and a cinema. After a busy day taking in the sights of London, retreat to one of our stylish rooms or suites. Enjoy the fresh, bright décor of a guest room, choose a deluxe room for extra amenities or upgrade to a suite for a separate living space. Executive rooms offer Executive Lounge access with free continental breakfast, afternoon refreshments and an open bar. Start the day with a hearty buffet breakfast in the chic WestEleven restaurant, serving innovative dishes prepared with the freshest ingredients. Meet with friends over cocktails in the Avenue Bar & Lounge, or enjoy a freshly brewed coffee while surfing the web. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington
Hilton London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing