We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton London Hyde Park
Ranked #497 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Rome
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This Hilton Hotel is well located right in front of Hyde Park between Marble Arch and Notting Hill. It is also very close to the tube station.
Even if it belongs to the Hilton chain is not a luxurious Hotel, it could be considered as a very good 3 stars hotel guaranteed by Hilton. The lobby is very small, the rooms are confortable, frendly staff and acceptable breakfast.
Choice this Hotel for the location, for the clean rooms but do not expect anything else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristianRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    568
    358
    154
    102
See reviews for
209
491
151
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited London this past April, and after a lot of searching around we decided to stay at the Hilton Hyde Park. We had read many reviews and they were kind of "all over the lot". First, let me say the hotel is located directly above the tube stop. That is a tremendous asset to for starters. Warning, the tube stop does not have an elevator (lift) to street level. So if you have two 50 lb. suitcases, dragging them up three flights of stairs can be a pretty good workout! The hotel is right around the corner from the tube entrance. We expect European hotels to be a little cramped and yet found our room to be adequate. A step above cramped at least. The rooms were clean very nice. We were on the second floor and had a nice view of the park looking down the entrance towards Kensington Palace. Our plan included breakfast which was wonderful. As we were out on the town the entire day, we pretty much ate our fill at the breakfast buffet and didn't eat until supper save for a snack once in a while It saved us a good deal of money on meals and it was very, very good. The staff was extremely helpfull. They gave us a lot of informaiton and local knowledge. We used them as a resource every day. If you like to walk, as we do, you can walk to a lot of great attractions: Hyde Park and Kensington Palace are literally across the street. Portobello Road is just 5 blocks away. You are very close to Notting Hill We walked to Paddington Station one day and it was no big deal. Of course Queensway is a vibrant area to walk around in also. I enjoyed our stay. I wasn't bothered by the street noise. I found the room to be fine. The breakfast and staff to be the best. I guess you figured out that I recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park. You will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is NO Hilton. The rooms are small, the furniture is cheap, the shower is barely big enough to turn around in, no shelf in the shower for shampoo, etc. The fixtures are old and many are coming apart. The lobby is dirty, small and the restaurant and bar are IN THE BASEMENT. This is advertised as a 4 star hotel, that is a complete joke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinsorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear WinsorTraveler,

I am sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations on your recent stay. Hilton London Hyde Park was built in 1905, being an old building this does bring some structural challenges, however we are proud to service this iconic location. As a historic building we do get good compliments regarding the character of the hotel though I appreciate this may not be to everyone’s taste. I understand you booked a single room which, due to the restrictions of the building, are smaller than our standard guest rooms. Had you informed one of our team members we would have been more than happy to find an alternative room you were more comfortable in. In addition, I would like highlight that our restaurant is located on the ground floor of the hotel, through the lobby entrance.

I would like to welcome you back to us so you can experience the hotel in a better light, please feel free to contact me at harun.dagli@hilton.com should you plan to return and I will ensure your next experience with us is a more positive one.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a business traveller I expect a certain level from Hilton Hotels. The experience in London Hyde Park has taught me not to expect a very high quality. The check in began with a relentless upselling by the check in clerk to a room with a view of the park instead of my standard room. When I looked at the room and decided to stay with my original rate, I was instead placed into a room at the same rate, just looking at a terrible view.

The common areas of the hotel were saturated with a noxious chemical fume (I think it was the cleaning fluid used for the carpets in the hotel) and I had to air my room out every time upon entering to try to eliminate the odour.

There was a light bulb in the toilet that would Not. Stop. Blinking and although I asked it to be looked at twice, the light was still blinking upon checkout five days later, with the insistence that maintenance had looked at it twice. Looking is not the same as fixing, and nothing screams "cheap roadside motel" than slowly blinking malfunctioning lights in the hotel room.

This all came to a head when I discovered the mischarging of my room at the higher rate upon checkout, and when I asked for the charges to be resolved, the daily room rate was indeed lowered; however the upgrade fees were instead tacked on as a separate line item, so I ended up paying the same price!

If I can ever be persuaded to stay in a Hilton again, I might consider Hilton Paddington nearby, but never again this instance of the franchise. As my colleague commented when I told my story to him, "London Hyde Park?! I only stay there when someone's trying to punish me!" Next time Radisson will be my next business trip choice for a consistent standard

Room Tip: Triple check your rate, and be aware that the rooms on the first floor that do not overlook a nosy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear daravida,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us at Hilton London Hyde Park.

I was sorry to hear that this experience did not match you expectations on this stay. I do understand that my Guest Relations Manager has been in contact with you to rectify your issues and I hope that he has been able to resolve this to your satisfaction.

We do hope that you may give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location, next to Tube station. Comfort is average, breakfast was very good. The hotel is nothing to get wild about, but OK. It was a good starting point visiting the city. Prices are rather high, but I guess it's due to London.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvanvlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear fvanvlem,

I was pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our breakfast of an excellent standard. I do agree that hotel offer a great base to explore all that London has to offer with the great transport links we have on the hotels door step.

We would welcome the chance to host you again for any future visits to London you may have.

Kind regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently spent a number of nights in this hotel for business. Overall, the hotel looks tired and badly in need of renovations. My room and bathroom were adequate, but nothing exciting. Prices are high for a hotel that feels more like a 3 star.

Internet access is extra, and after paying for one day's access, I couldn't log on due to "technical difficulties". I was assured this would be removed from the bill, but it was not, and I had to ask to have to removed when I checked out.

Another nasty surprise on checkout was an unauthorised bar bill on my account. When the slip was retrieved, I found my name and room number in someone else's handwriting, together with a fake signature. After querying this the amount was removed, but surprisingly the manager was not particularly apologetic, considering that this must have been an inside job - nobody else knew that my name went with my room number.

Overall, an experience that left a bitter taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BD8J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear BD8J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hilton London Hyde Park.

I was saddened to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay at the hotel. It is my understanding that our Guest Relations Manager has been in contact with you regarding your comments and I trust that he will assist in resolving this for you.

I do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to London and see the changes we are making at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just had a two night stay here. Our room (110) on the first floor was clean, roomy and had a good view of Hyde Park. On a previous review someone had complained about road and tube noise??!! Ummm it's on a main road! BUT the windows had a second inner window which blocks out the noise almost completely! As for the tube noises...nope and we'd have heard it for sure being on the first floor! We only ate breakfast here and not dinner. Breakfast was ok, in the main dining room tables were quite crammed in, a few inches between each table. We ate in there the first morning, then in the 'bar' the second. A bit better, but table was very small so not able to fit plates, cups, coffee/tea pots. Both mornings people were having to queue and wait for a table and were being asked if they didn't mind sharing a table with other people. For the size hotel, they definitely need a larger dining room. All in all, it was clean and if I had to stay there again I probably would, but I have stayed in better hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are nicer as you have a better view across Hyde Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeParkHotelManager, General Manager at Hilton London Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Debbie C

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed you stay with us at the hotel and in particular enjoyed the great views the hotel has to offer of the Park. I am sorry that your experience at breakfast was not as smooth as usual. We will certainly be monitoring this situation to ensure that these instances are avoided.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Harun Dagli,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Hilton London Kensington
#467 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,199 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#262 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,637 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#581 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,430 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#366 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Hyde Park

Property: Hilton London Hyde Park
Address: 129 Bayswater Road, London W2 4RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Hyde Park fully completed its multi-million pound extensive refurbishment in June 2016. The work included a full revamp of meeting space, common areas and guest rooms. The number of rooms offered by the hotel has increased and there has been extensive restaurant expansion. All 136 bedrooms offer contemporary spaces with a classic twist, keeping in line with the rich history of the Grade II listed Edwardian building to cover the needs of the modern traveller. The plan also involved adding a new room type for families to reflect the increase of guests coming to visit London for leisure, looking for more space and comfort. The four new rooms are built so they can be accessed via a private door on a floor of their own and can be hired exclusively for larger groups, giving guests the comfort, personalisation and flexibility they need. The hotel also redesigned its restaurant space and turned what used to be tanning studio and hairdresser into Aubaine Hyde Park Restaurant, offering true blend of cosmopolitan style and French cuisine. All dining options are designed with you in mind. Start the day with a hearty breakfast or nutritious light bite or relax with a cup of coffee in the Aubaine Lounge Bar. From business brunches to pre-dinner drinks and everything in between, the options at Hilton are catered especially for you. All 136 guest rooms and Coburg meeting room for up to 30 guests offer wireless internet access. New Hilton Worldwide Cancellation policies: no cancellation charges until 1 day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Hyde Park Hotel London
Hilton International London
London Hilton
Hilton London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing