We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Ranked #128 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my girlfriends birthday & we had an amazing time. The staff here are incredible. The spa treatments are out of this world.

The room service is expensive, but the food is of a good quality.

Every member of staff that we encountered were superb. Well done 4 Seasons!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidov84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPurtill, General Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Davidov84
It was so great to read your lovely review this morning. Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and it’s wonderful to know that you both enjoyed your girlfriend’s birthday celebration. I have shared your feedback with the team this morning, and you have made all of us very happy indeed!

I very much hope that you and your girlfriend will stay with us again on future occasions, and in the meantime, please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Warmest wishes
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    203
    64
    22
    9
See reviews for
181
292
40
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Unfortunately I didn't have the opportunity to experience much of the hotel - I stayed overnight after Wireless Festival so didn't check in until around midnight, and left early in the morning.
The room was fantastic - great view overlooking the Thames, clean, a complimentary shoe cleaning service (I would have used it but didn't realise until morning it was on offer!), and a generously sized bathroom with walk in shower. I loved the fact there's a piano at the reception (unfortunately it was locked so I wasn't able to play!) but shows some class!
Good stay, only a 4* rating purely because I didn't experience anything - but that's more my bad than the hotel I suppose - but I can't rate a 5* unless I experience something that really wow's me.
Hopefully next time I'm around that way, I'll check in again and have a longer stay.

Room Tip: The view from the room Thames side is great - if you can afford it, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukky_Lukman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPurtill, General Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Lukky_Lukman
Thank you for writing about us following your visit with friends earlier this month, and I hope you enjoyed the wireless Festival!

I’m glad that you enjoyed the views over the Thames – it’s very serene, especially watching all the boats and activity along the river.

It’s wonderful that you wish to plan a longer stay next time you are in the area. You are very welcome to contact me directly if I can assist with any arrangements for you.

In the meantime, I hope you will enjoy the remainder of this glorious summer!

Warmest regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The service we received was absolutely fantastic. The concierge helped us get our missing bag delivered from Heathrow, she was so helpful.
My only criticism is the fact that the pool doesn't open until 9am, not convenient for an early morning swim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadecarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPurtill, General Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear jadecarew
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in May, and I am delighted we were able to reunite you with your missing bag from Heathrow!

I appreciate your comment about the swimming pool opening time at weekends, and thank you for this feedback. We review this with the Virgin Active Club on a regular basis, and feedback such as yours will help in future decisions.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Four Seasons again soon.

Warmest wishes
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our experience of this hotel was a joy from even before our arrival, until the time we sadly had to leave. The Guest Experience Manager made contact before our arrival to enquire whether we required any specific information or guidance. When I did make enquiries, these were answered swiftly, courteously and with detailed information, and the concierge desk arranged a fabulous bouquet of flowers and champagne that was delivered to our room at the pre-arranged time, on the dot. Arriving by car was effortless as the concierge met us at the entrance, assisted with offloading baggage, and valet parked our car whilst we were treated to a welcoming drink at reception, and the receptionist could not do enough to answer our queries and assist. We had arrived earlier than the stated checkin time, but this did not phase them at all, and we were accommodated into a fantastic room with spectacular views of the Thames within a very short space of time. Departure matched the experience in every way, even down to being offered bottles of water as we got into the car. Service throughout our stay was exceptional. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrumbieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCAW, Public Relations Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear CrumbieBoys,

I am delighted to hear that the team and the service were able to deliver an experience that received such high praise.

We believe that intuitive and warm service are the hallmarks of our wonderful hotel so I was flattered to hear that you found our team to be very welcoming and attentive.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to our hotel and East London soon.

Warmest regards,

André Davis
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived at the hotel from Paris via train and so were there at 11am. However, Jay who was at the front desk (and also the hotel's asst general mgr) was good enough to make a room available and offer us a nice drink while we waited.

The hotel's location is a bit far from downtown London, but we were looking for that away from the tourist hordes that had invaded London in July. A fast and frequent river boat service connects almost from the hotel's doorstep to major points in the Thames. The Jubilee and DLR lines are accessible via a seven minute walk, or via three stops by busses that stop at the hotel's doorstep.

This seems to be primarily a business persons hotel and so the amenities (like access to the Virgin Active fitness centre and pool, where the Bond flick Skyfall was filmed) and the great bar are helpful. There is not much to do around the hotel itself with smaller kids.

The room's are nicely furnished and have good closet space. Bathrooms are up-to-date and clean. it helps that L'Occitane cosmetics are used throughout. Our deluxe river view room had a magnificent bay window that overlooked the Thames so it was a treat sitting there jn the mornings and evenings watching the boats go by.

We stayed there for four nights and were frequently surprised by little surprises that were left for us by room service (like sweets and bottled water). Lite Internet access is complimentary. The hotel also offers complimentary bottles of water at the front, which is a nice touch when it's hot and muggy outside.

The only sore point in the trip was the advice from the concierge about hiring a cab to go to Heathrow airport (which is quite far). He told us it would cost anywhere from £80-120, but we managed to order a cab online using the Carrot site and they did the job for a flat rate of £48!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eye_banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCAW, Public Relations Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Eye_Banker,

I am delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and your particular praise about the service from our team is gratefully received. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Jay and the rest of the team.

We are also pleased the our hotel’s location in Canary Wharf, right on the banks of the River Thames was an ideal home-away-from home for you and your family.

I hope I will personally have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,

André Davis
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed in lots and lots of London hotels, but our first visit here. Will not be the last. Our experience was much improved because we got upgraded to a top floor deluxe room with a view over the Thames. We were dumbstruck and could not believe our luck, the views are simply sensational. I would surmise that this is a business hotel and weekend visitors are more likely to get this treatment? We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful and I cannot say anything negative about this hotel, we loved our stay. We found this to be a super setting for a chill-out weekend in London away from the busy centre with loads of restaurants nearby. If I had to find any negatives at all it would be the ten minute walk to the nearest tube! Yes, seriously, best I can manage!

Room Tip: If your budget can take it then an upper floor river view is well worth the expenditure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCAW, Public Relations Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Hudwit,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and particularly the ones about the team.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and the upgrade to a deluxe room, which benefits from some truly amazing views of the River Thames, especially at night.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend break to London.

Warmest regards,

André Davis
Communications Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed Sat night for one night, flawless service from check in to check out, lots of little extra touches along the way! Offered bottles of water on check in, due to heat, and complimentary little Lemon Meringue tarts at 4 pm brought to room! Bed was really comfortable, great bathroom, all in all I look forward to another opportunity to stay at 4 seasons in Canary Wharf. We went for a walk on Sunday prior to check out and on return were once again offered complimentary bottled water when we arrived back. Staff all seem very friendly and efficient, which in hospitality you would think should be the norm, but as we all know, it doesn't always work out like that! So kudos to the management team, great experience and keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCAW, Public Relations Manager at Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ted D,

Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel London at Canary Wharf for your recent visit to London and for sharing your experience.

Naturally, I am delighted to hear that our team and the service delivered were “flawless”, receiving such high praise. We pride ourselves in offering warm and memorable experiences, so it is wonderful to hear that you found our team to be very intuitive with all the special touches.

I hope I will have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

André Davis
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#80 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel

Property: Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Address: Canary Wharf 46 Westferry Circus | Canary Wharf, London E14 8RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#94 Family Hotel in London
#95 Business Hotel in London
#109 Romantic Hotel in London
#111 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Canary Wharf
Four Seasons Canary Wharf
Four Seasons London
London Four Seasons
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing